We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
45
22
20
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
22
20
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal palace location is excellent enjoyed my stay balcony riverside usd
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

When arriving at the guesthouse the Manager/owner said it was full even though we pre booked and we were promptly moved to their 'sister' hotel.

This was Tonle Khmer on the riverside, the room was easily the the most depressing and awful budget accommodation I have ever stayed in. We were taken to a room of ok size on the top floor, the room itself yes had a window with another building about arms length outside the window. There was mosquitos in the room, a spring sticking out the side of the mattress. To make matters worse we had to ask for the sheets to be changed for what looked like blood stains next to the spring and request towels.

The shower was ok but the bathroom was so dirty I felt worse after being in there. We did all we could to make sure we spent minimal time in the room.

Please avoid, we live in Phnom Penh and there is a lot more higher quality budget accommodation than this.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophya S, Owner at Sovanphum Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

We are very sorry for the problems mentioned, we had an issue with our booking systems not communicating and accidentally overbooked. Our other location really isn't so bad, but we do hope that now that things have been sorted out you might give us another chance at our main location. Again, very sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Good value for money, location is excellent. Walking around is easy from here, and in general a central location. Riverside is really close to take in an evening stroll and lots of cheap eats right outside the door.
I'm not sure about the other reviews, but I enjoyed my stay here, as much as the last time.
Pleasant and comfortable is how I would describe the rooms.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank shazzeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Had prebooked a room for 2 nights for 46$ Australian with a town view.

Arrive and hike to 5th floor. Where a little make shift room with sliding door, no window, small 16sqm and stuffy greets us.
Nothing like the pictures presented on the page i booker on. Not okay.

I tell the Owner that this room is Nothing like What i have booked and paid for and i need a window, she arranges for a room at her other guest house, 5 min walk away.

The new room, in a completely different guesthouse on the river front has a window but that's about all the improvement We get. The window was facing a back alley wall 2 meters away lot of noice from near by construction, the mattress was old and worn out wires sticking out. The bedding was old as well. The shower was decent beside the drain was stinking.
Managed to get cut by the madness several times.

Sorry to be this negative but really nothing good to say about this place.

Best to be avoided.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophya S, Owner at Sovanphum Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

We are sorry that you were confused about the room you booked. We tried to accommodate you by upgrading you to our other property but you didn't accept the conditions even though it was very nice there. Stairs are normal in this area of Phnom Penh, most buildings have them, we are sorry it was so high. P,ease do not tell falsehoods like our mattresses have wires sticking out, this is the furthest thing from the truth. Why if you get your foot cut on the drain which is by the corner of the shower, did you step back on it several times? This review is completely false.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Great location, close to everything, clean, big room, my problem was climbing the stairs to the 5th floor...., Sophya - the owner- is so friendly !
There is a guesthouse under construction pretty close, so it was noisy at daytime...I sleep at daytime, party at night time :)
Very good place for Cambodia !

Room Tip: ask for lower floor
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorinaelrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

First room we had was large, had a balcony however at night the noise was unbearable from the bars nearby as it's not double glazed. Only gave one bottle of water sn didn't replace it daily which is unlike every other place we've been to on our three month trip. We asked to move and we went into another room which was windowless. Rooms were not clean. Full of dirt especially on floors. Not good. Only upsides are owner was pleasant and location.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 525vitesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophya S, Owner at Sovanphum Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

The room we gave you after the first did in fact have a window. Water can be replaced if requested, and if we leave it in the room it will not be cold as you requested. No windows in Cambodia are 'double glazed', and the advantages of staying on Riverside far outweigh the noise. This should have been taken into consideration before or when you got here. At 11 pm, all the bars close. Our rooms are clean and at a higher standard than most other places in Cambodia. We sweep and dust every day. You can see from our other reviews that others who are used to traveling in this country are pleasantly surprised to find how nice of a place we have. Thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews