We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely start to our holiday”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion for two nights at the start of our holiday and were made really welcome by the friendly staff. Our room in the colonial villa was very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the pool area and the shady garden which helped us to get adjusted to the heat of Phnom Penh. The hotel is excellently placed for visiting the royal palace, exploring the local street activities, finding convenient restaurants and, in the evening, sharing the riverfront with the locals. The breakfast was great, served outside by the pool and cooked to order. Of particular note was the friendliness of the staff who were always helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,508)
There are newer reviews for The Pavilion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I am @ this hotel right now, and I have come back after having been here in 2009, and they did not fail me - the staff is better than ever, the facilities have improved greatly with every room with its own PC, as well as its own iPod/iPhone player, wifi free across the hotel (I believe they only have 20 rooms) and best of all there are a couple of rooms with their own private pool!!!

Breakfast is served by the main pool, what can I say? It is located basically behind the Royal Palace, so walking distance to the artist street as well to the riverside, a great little hotel in an old colonial house, small enough to know the staff by name (and they know you!) but with facilities soo good that the 5***** glamour is really not needed...

Love it!

Room Tip: If you wish to have one of the few rooms with the private pool ask well in advance!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked 2 nights at this hotel and arranged for airport pick up. No one at the airport when we landed in Phnom Penh and has no record of our arrangement when I called the hotel. We took a Tuktuk to get to the hotel, and upon arrival was met by the Hotel Manager who was very apologetic and confessed he messed up. That's a nice start, humble enough to admit your fault then to make up, he offerred to upgrade our half hour massage to one hour full body aromatherapy.

From the outside, hotel is very unimpressive with only a small gate to enter the property, but onced inside it's like walking into a tropical oasis...lots of tropical plants, gorgeous swimming pool, pleany of lounging & cabanas around the pool. Our room is very nice in typical Cambodia decor and a spacious bathroom. They provide 2 bottles of water daily, hot kettle for making coffee or tea and a tray of fruits. Upon arrival, we were given cold drinks, wet towels and snack. Breakfast is served by the pool; passion fruit juice, coffee, slices of variety of breads and cook to order eggs ( you can also order omelletewith ham or bacon) and sliced of mixed fresh fruits. Staff very warm and friendly. Our massage is great and highly recommend.

Only complaint I have is the low water pressure if you shower while the gardener is watering plants, best to avoid taking shower at the same time. Will stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Many thanks for this kind review! I am very sorry about the missed pickup at the airport, the front desk did not put it in the driver's schedule. We have installed a pressure booster now, so i hope there will no more be shower pressure issues. Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion for one night only... what a mistake. Wished we had stayed longer.
This was a great place to stay right in the best part of this wonderful city. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The brekkie was great and right next to the relacing pool. The rooms were wonderful with all amenities provided and lots of free water and a free 25 min massage on arrival. Great beds, fans and AC. Even had our own private couryard.
The location is brilliant so close to fantastic restaurants and attractions. most within walking distance or only a short ride by tuk tuk.
I would not stay anywhere else if I was coming to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great with couryards.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

but this place is just so wonderful that it deserves to be shared! I have spent a lot of time in PP and can find the city a bit relentless after a while. On this trip I decided on something luxurious rather than the usual clean and comfortable guesthouse. What a gem! This old French colonial villa is a little paradise away from the madness of it all. Set back from the popular st 240 and next to the palace as well as a short walk to the riverfront, the location is central enough when you want to venture out but peaceful when you've had enough of it all. We stayed in a twin room in the original building, it was bright and airy with exotic touches like silk soft furnishings. The room had a/c, a fan and tv (although we never even contemplated turning it on). The staff were extremely helpful yet not intrusive. The free massage was wonderful and the food was great, best eggs in Cambodia! A must is the passion fruit juice - it was just delicious and to sip it by THAT pool... what a wonderful place.

I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandcAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Pavilion a great 2-3 night stay in the heart of Phnom Penh. Location is just right with the Royal Palace within walking distance as are local co-operative shops, the "Shop" patisserie, Frizz restaurant and other bars and restaurants on 240 street. A short $2 tuck tuck ride to almost everywhere else......... The hotel is centred on a small pool with cabanas in the shade resulting in a calm oasis in the middle of this hectic, noisy and dusty city. We booked a room with its own plunge pool which was great to cool off after a day seeing the sights and shopping. The room and bathroom were small but perfectly adequate and the private outside space made up for this. To some the rooms may appear a little dated but this is a mid-range hotel not a 5 star, so aligning expectations this is a great choice and good value for money. In addition to the complimentary massage on arrival we also booked additional massage each day - very good, definitely recommended. As other reviewers have noted the staff really go out of their way to deliver great service and want to please, nothing is too much trouble. The only negative for us was the breakfast which again was adequate but limited. If staying for more than one night you may want to pop out for breakfast - lots of choice in Phnom Penh at around $4.

Room Tip: Choose a Pool Room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avatarsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This gem sits in the heart of the city and is an oasis of calm. two French villa's plants and a pool with bar.
We have stayed in many cities but never found a lovelier place then this. I cannot recommend hi enough. ENJOY,ENJOY

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
0.5 km away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
825 reviews
1.2 km away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
208 reviews
0.7 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $65 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing