We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed in PP”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #29 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would compare my stay to an old colonial hotel in Key West Florida. The veranda was the ideal setting for an afternoon drink with peanuts. The morning coffee and breakfast was such a start to each day there was never a problem to be sitting down for 6 AM. There was always an excellent choice in their restaurant for lunch or supper if you were too tired to go out. The staff was always there to greet you with a warm smile and a friendly personal face.
Our room 203 was exceptionally clean, bright and big enough with a balcony overlooking the street corner.
The location was away from the busy waterfront area of town but close enough that a short Tuk Tuk ride in to town was always accessible. The prices for food and drink were half that of the waterfront area. There was a very good Indian restaurant next door and many others to choose from also in the area.
My wife and I are avid walkers and this area provided a safe and picturesque walk in any direction.
I will return to PP and would have no reason to look elsewhere for accommodations.

Room Tip: 203 was a good room for us, I would not go to the 3rd floor rooms due to the lack of an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 346Neil_G_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Main part of hotel is in an older building. The annex is across the street. The rooms there have a kitchenette and are larger and nicer. There are several choices for the included breakfast, which is delicious. The staff are all friendly and helpful. There is a complimentary computer with internet access in the lobby. On site restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is good. The location is excellent. Several good massage places nearby.

Room Tip: Choose the annex, but the stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doyicej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Anise & we would never bother looking anywhere else for accomodation. It was 2 1/2 yrs since our last visit, but we weren't disappointed - everything was as good as before or in many cases better.
Anise is a culturally boutique hotel, with quality service, well trained, attentive staff, excellent food, comfortable rooms, great atmosphere - all with a budget price! (and many things included). You can trust what you are told by the staff, they value honesty and fairness highly.

There is a computer & printer for guests use, the complimentary 5 items of washing ( a day) is fantastic - you know how much hassle washing is when you are on the move)

Anise is a great location for travel anywhere. It's pretty much in the middle of the Russian Market, Central Market, embassies, sightseeing & historic locations. Within 2 minutes walk you will pass little art galleries, massage & health centres, and 20 restaurants. There are 3 ATMs within 50 metres. Its 25 metres up to Sihanouk Blvd - you'll see a good chemist across the road, turn left and less than 5 min walk to the Lucky Supermarket (ATM inside). You will have passed a couple more ATMs on the way.

Tuk tuks abound at every exit - $2 - $3 USD one way to most places in the city. $20 if you want one for the whole day (Killing Fields, Genocide Museum, sightseeing, shopping - anywhere & includes waiting). We always use tuk tuks - seats 4 comfortably - generally much quicker than cars around city). About $3 - $4 from airport to Anise.

If you haven't been to Cambodia before you need to have a passport size photo & $20 USD cash for yr visa when you arrive (30 days). It only takes a few minutes, and there is an ATM in the arrival area if you need to withdraw cash,

Beware - Cambodia can be a bit overwhelming & confronting if you are new to S E Asia, and allow yourself some space to process the effect of the Killing Fields & Genocide Museum on your emotions.

Peter & Helen
Tasmania

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gettalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Anise Hotel in Phnom Penh is our second home and is our base for all our movements whether south or North. On this occasion we stayed for 6 nights. We have stayed here previously so this report may be a little biased as the more you stay here, the staff become your friends.
Ma, Frank and their daughter Tina run this hotel Sure it is not a 5 star hotel but a very good 3 to 4 star hotel. Facilities are clean and tidy. Rooms are attended to daily. Beds very comfortable. It is a hotel with 4 floors, stairs only between floors. It is situated in a good part of Phnom Penh with many eating places available in the street outside the hotel, if you don't wish to eat in the terrace eating area which is enclosed by tropical vegetation from the immediate bustle of the traffic along the street. Breakfast is served here and is included in the price. You have a choice of at least 8 different choices.
Staff greet you at all times whether you are passing through the front entrance, having a meal or happy hour drink (with excellent prices on beer and cocktails) or handing your key in at the desk. This is run by a great crew headed by Sophal and Sokheng.
As highlighted by the title this hotel is a Happy Home Coming for us as we have stayed here previously. When you get to know the staff and owners it is a family atmosphere that makes it real special. You will want to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My second trip to Anise and I will be back again. Mr Sokheng in front desk is very helpful and will do anything to help you enjoy your stay. Well located with good restaurants around the hotel. free wi-fi and laundry add to the overall enjoyable experience. Taxi sevice to and from the airport for $10 is also recommended.Hope to be back again soon. Martin (Room 107)

Room Tip: No lift so if that is important then book a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disc0stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a room in the 2nd building on the 3rd floor,rooms are clean and comfortable and have a bathroom.There was a lovely balcony where we can see Independence Monument in the distance. The location is good, not a very busy street, but convenient,non touristy area of the city.close to good shops and restaurants and offers something very different from the usual hotel.The reception staff are helpful.Looking forward to another stay at the Anise Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutas109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Room are ok as the service. Breakfast could be improved. What we did not like is the location right in the middle of night life. Too busy and a bit overpriced. But for those who are night owls is fine. We are not...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
1.9 km away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#21 of 274 in Phnom Penh
471 reviews
0.1 km away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
750 reviews
0.1 km away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#47 of 274 in Phnom Penh
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#19 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $43 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing