We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice setting, small standard rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice setting, small standard rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The location and the setting are very very nice. Located very central, very nice garden and swimming pool. Service is very good, friendly and helpfull people. Restaurant is decent, has a very nice club-sandwich and very nice breakfast. We thought the standard room was very small for the price though. All in all we really enjoyed our stay, but would book a larger room next time,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olafmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    257
    72
    14
    14
See reviews for
309
247
44
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel made us feel welcome immediately upon arrival. They helped us to arrange our activities for the next day before we'd even headed to our rooms, such was the enthusiasm and efficiency shown by the staff. The rooms were great - the only comment I would make is that the twin beds, while made up as twin beds, are very very close together!

One of the hotel's best features is it's swimming pool - in the heat of Phnom Penh it was great to pop back to the hotel during the afternoon for a quick cooling swim.

The location of the hotel is great for the main city sites (we walked to the Royal Palace), and the hotel staff are able to arrange a private car (if you wish) to take you out to the Killing Fields, the Russian market and the prison. Clearly, you could see these sites by other transport, but we were under time pressure and the car was a great option for us (and there were three of us to split the costs). The other great feature of the hotel is that it is located on a street that is covered by security and is barricaded - nothing scary, just that it's near some sensitive buildings, but it does mean that the road outside the hotel is nice and quiet (in contrast to most roads in Phnom Penh!).

The hotel staff also gave us a really good dinner recommendation.

All in all, a fabulous hotel - I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

Most welcome peaceful oasis the a very hot PP! We found it are to leave the hotel! Great front sitting area outside room which was great when our 5 year old daughter went to sleep. She LOVED the bunk beds!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lslng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed one night at the Kabiki when our booking at another hotel was not honoured, they took us in at short notice and we were made soooo welcome. We would have stayed the whole time with them but they were fully booked for the next night.
Not knowing anything about this hotel we were so surprised at how beautiful the grounds were and how lovely and private our room was, we even had a cute little courtyard.Breakfast was very good, the shower was nice and hot and I loved all the little personal touches, like handmade soaps and a personal welcome letter.
The staff even helped us secure a reservation at another hotel for the rest of our stay in Phnom Penh. We would definately stay here again next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenamyGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

the rooms were amazing because i am travelling with family and its not often that you get your own bed! the pool was nice to cool down in when it was hot outside (thats why i called it hot and cold) theres really not much else to say other than my whole family reccomends it.

Room Tip: the pool is open to the public on weekdays you aren't allowed to take a car within 20 ft of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiangurl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is located 5 min walk from the Royal Palace, in a quiet street. It is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden and each room has its own private garden. There is a swimming pool and a paddling pool, very convenient for small children. The pool area is quite lively, not the best place to have a rest. The kabiki is a family hotel, if you are not a family, I advise you to stay in one of its sister hotels.
A hearty breakfast is served by the pool. Free internet access is available in the lobby.
The receptionists were welcoming and helpful. French is spoken. The room was quite small, decoration was simple but pleasant. The rooms are made up twice a day, the beds are decorated with fresh flowers, a candle illuminates your private garden. These little details create a cosy atmosphere.
The weak points : the TV set was out of order. Soundproofing is very bad. I could hear my neighbours as if they were in my room, their baby cried several times during the night. And the phone battery rang in the middle of the night...bad luck. The bathroom was the very weak point. The toilet seat was loose, the shower door didn't close. It was small and in poor shape.
However I recommend this hotel, especially for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Every hotel we stayed in in Cambodia was wonderful, clean, good location, quiet, delicious food, but the Kabiki stood out for its child friendly atmosphere. We were travelling with a one year old, so clean floors, hot showers, quiet rooms and food cooked to our specifications were very important to us.

The Kabiki has amazing rooms for families, with a little walled garden in front of each room, so the child(ren) can play, while the parents relax on lounge chairs. The bowl of fruit greeting us on arrival was also put to very good use and caused lots of baby enjoyment. There are two pools, one of which is a shaded kiddie pool. The area is in the middle of Phnom Penh but in a suprisingly quiet area. Our daughter was fascinated by the cats running around and could hardly be torn away from the hotel to visit the city!

The rooms were lovely, the breakfast very nice and very good, the staff very discreet, it was all clean, there was hot water, we slept deeply and soundly in the quiet hush, a wonderful hotel in all.

If travelling with a child to Cambodia, I would recommend checking with the hotel whether or not they allow children younger than 12 years old - not all of them do!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatje53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#12 of 267 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.6 km away
The Plantation
The Plantation
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.6 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
2.1 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing