We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean cottages in a lush garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Ranked #3 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Clean cottages in a lush garden”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a very enjoyable 2-night stay in one of Sala Inpeng's economic cottages. The cottage was equipped with AC, a comfy bed and even a mini-fridge. There was also a mosquito-net, but we did not need it as the cottage was pretty much insect free, especially with the AC on. There was enough storage space and a simple yet clean bathroom with a well-functioning shower.

Breakfast was included and served promptly on our private terrace as soon as we opened our door in the morning. Portions weren't too abundant but big enough, including coffee, a huge croissant, a small piece of bread with b&j, and a small fruit platter.

WiFi worked well, even inside our room (which was in front of the reception area).

The staff were always friendly and helpful. We were given a map and provided useful information. They also let us store our bags during the day of our check-out, and would even let us use the bathroom when we picked up our bags.

We had made our reservation a few days prior our arrival by email and there were no confusions at all (unlike what some other reviews here suggest).

The hotel is very centrally located close to Vientiane's riverfront, yet it feels like the cottages were out in the green.

All in all an excellent experience and great value!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick-Katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    90
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
117
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cremlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Sala Inpeng was our first Hotel after arrival in beautiful Laos and we had two wonderful days. The Hotel is perfectly located in a small street only a few breaths away from beautiful Mekong Riverside, Nightmarket and wonderful restaurants. The Garden is beautifully arranged and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I was traveling with my 5year old boy and very reliefed that he was so nicely welcomed by the staff. Breakfast is served miracoulously quick on the veranda as soon as you open your eyes, ready for a good coffee.... We will definitely come back.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My only regret about Auberge Sala Inpeng – I wish I had stayed here longer!! The reception was warm, despite the language barrier, and by the time I finished filling in my details at the front desk, my bags were already taken to the room. How impressive is that? The room was a bit tight for 2 persons, but the bed was heavenly and we had a cool little verandah (as with other rooms) to sit and have our breakfast. It’s located within a residential area but close enough (5-10 minutes walk) to the riverfront where the night market is, as well as restaurants, cafes and convenience stores. There’s also ‘Nazim Restaurant’ in the form of a mobile stall nearby for those looking for Halal food.
The setting is really clever, with pebbled paths and lots of greenery, that you almost feel that you’re in a secluded island village, until you hear the karaoke going on at the restaurant nearby. And yet, there’s still something really endearing about this place and I hope to return some day soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, breakfast was served outside on the little porch of the bungalow. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Sala Inpeng, first two nights in a superior room (bungalow with two rooms), last night in a standard room.

The standard room is a bit small, but was very clean, same as the superior room. The wooden bungalows are very nice, thin walls, breakfast was good at the superior room. It was served outside on the veranda.

Lots of mosquito's, staff sprayed the room, but the next day it was full of it again. The English of the staf was not that good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Excellent place to stay, lovely little bungalows with breakfast on your own balcony set in a small garden. Quite simple but good facilities and spotlessly clean. Central, so easy to walk places and good for local restaurants. Wonderful staff, not much English but who cares? The best place we stayed on Laos for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYorkshireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in an economy cottage and 1 night in a superior cottage. When we booked they told us they didn't have the economy for all four nights, so they offered us superior for the last night at $30 US (a decent discount).

Both cottages were very nice. Both had working A/C, hot showers, and TV. The superior cottage had a bigger shower, and a bigger room with a nice cabinet and vanity desk. The superior cottage also had very high ceilings which made it feel spacier.

I would however recommend the economy cottage over superior. There were some mosquitos in the cottages from the cleaning staff leaving the door open while they clean. In the economy, we took 10 minutes to kill them all before going to sleep, so no problem. In the superior, because of the high ceilings, you can't possibly get them, and it felt like there were hundreds in there. For me this totally ruined the nice atmosphere they tried to create with the bigger room, and nicer furniture. They do give you a mosquito net, but I find they are uncomfortable to sleep with, and there's always at least one mosquito who somehow gets under the net and has a feast on you overnight.

The location was great. Five minutes to the river, night market and attractions in town.

I would stay here again, but in the economy cottage.

Room Tip: Superior rooms FULL of mosquitos which you can't catch due to high ceilings, but they do give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LithiumPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
901 reviews
0.2 km away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
445 reviews
1.8 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
385 reviews
1.1 km away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Property: Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Address: 063 Unit 06, Inpeng Street (Mekong Riverside Road) | Ban Wat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing