We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandeur - but disappointed in the end” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lao Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Grandeur - but disappointed in the end”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I love the lobby of the Lao Plaza Hotel and the grandur it alludes to. Naturally, the shops are completely overpriced. The buffet is quite good, but also expensive. My roomrate was decent, but I was expecting more given the actual hotel. The room, as others have said, was dated and not of the caliber anticipated. Even getting internet was difficult. There was a network cord in the room, and then separate instructions for contacting business services for wifi.....really, you had to sign up for 100,000 Kip about $12 for 24 hours service, not so bad. However, before activating, the hotel had to send someone up to my room to get me to sign a chit that I would add to my bill. BUT, the staff were super friendly, and the bed was good!

Room Tip: I would try out the Presidential Suite and see if that has been renovated yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    143
    68
    14
    12
See reviews for
14
57
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

realy nice hotel , in a great location, the breakfast was very good and has everything you may want, didnt give 5 out of 5 as we were charged per day for internet access in our room, which i feel for a hotel of this standard it should be included.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed in Lao Plaza Hotel two times on business trips.
I always remember my arrival the 1st time, when I was greeted by an exquisite "sa bai di" by the beautiful receptionist. Welcome to Lao!
I loved to stay in this hotel. I was on the executive floor.
FYI this hotel is where official delegations often stay. On my 2nd stay I was asked to transfer to another room because there was a vietnamese delegation coming. I didn't mind.
The staff is super gentle.
I naturally helped them when preparing "Sommet de la Francophonie" with some translations.
One cons is the relative age of the rooms, and the noisy A/C system.
My nights were not so sweet. But the rooms are very comfortable.
The lobby is pleasant, with newspapers available.
I loved the breakfast service, a wide choice available: sausages, eggs by order, ham, cereals, viennoiseries, etc.
Like I said they welcome officials quite often.
In my time they also welcome a group of models for a fashion show in Vientiane :)
What a marvel to see beautiful, unmade-up girls, early in the morning for breakfast :)
I would love to stay again in Lao Plaza.
Plenty of nice restaurants by walking distance, I should add.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needlehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City, Philippines
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Staying in Lao Plaza Hotel is business with leisure.... rooms are clean and well kept, courteous staff and good food available.... I love the pastries and cake at the bakery at the lobby...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked 4 rooms for 2 and 3 nights in this hotel for first the location in the center and second for the swimming pool.
When we check in we see that the swimming pool was not available (under renovation but nobody work!!!)
we ask to see the manager and nobody come.During 3 days it was impossible to see one person who was in charge of the hotel.
At the check out we request again to see the manager,,, no way....
I will not recommend this hotel for also the very old equipment of the room.and ...the restaurant staff was also very lazy, we request an expresso at the breakfast and they say you have to pay extra,,,after complaining again they cancel the charge of our expresso.

Many new hotels in Vientiane are offering now better rates and better services.....

Room Tip: better stay In Green Park hotel ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriahoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

A large international style hotel with all amenities ( except pool temporarily out of action) but rather soul less. Staff not as friendly and helpfull as others. Well located, free wi fi, expensive coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Lao Plaza Hotel, officially a 5-star establishment, leaves you with a mixture of emotions and opinions.

The rooms are nothing special, a fair size with a large bed. The room air-conditioning only seems to have two settings, 'freezing' and off. The TV is old style and functional but the selection of channels is disappointing unless you are a linguist and speak a handful of languages. They seem to have one channel from most countries but strangely there is little 'to watch'...so for me it was back to CNN and the good old 'Beeb'.

The all-day dining room is very pleasant and surprising with its more traditional decor but it is somewhat let down by the staff. Never there when you needed them...and getting a coffee refill at breakfast, more often than not, was a pain.

Maybe it is because it is a fairy large hotel by Lao standards but there did appear to be a shortage of staff in the public areas. Only once did I find the Business Centre attended and the 'Transport' Desk always seemed to be unmanned. Fortunately there appeared to be a ready supply of taxis outside the hotel gates.

Take note that the pool is currently under renovation and closed; the airport transfers are relatively expensive as is the internet connection charge if it is not already in your room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 km away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.3 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 km away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#9 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Plaza Hotel

Property: Lao Plaza Hotel
Address: 63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lao Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel located in heart of business district, close to shopping area & 10 km from Wattay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lao Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Plaza Vientiane
Hotel Lao Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing