We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best location but best in UB.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not the best location but best in UB.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Second stay at the Kempinski in UB, and I was glad I could get a room there as all my other hotel experiences in UB have been pretty dire.
The Junior Suite is definitely big and convenient. Internet speed is way too slow for anything other than mails. Service is quite competent and willing to help.
Can't wait to the opening of the Shangri La (next year) and the hotel in the Blue Sky Tower (March 2012...supposedly) though!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GGDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear GGDD
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kempinski Khan Palace Hotel. How pleased we were to receive your valued feedback on our hotel services.
Regarding the slow internet speed I would like to inform that we already made changes to double the internet speed in the rooms and ensure that the network is stable.

GGDD we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and please contact my office directly to make your reservation as we would be pleased to handle this personally.

Warm regards
Jens Wycisk – General Manager & the team at the Kempinski Khan Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    138
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
85
52
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is a good business hotel. Clean, good restaurants, very good staff. The gym is a little lacking, but they have treadmills, a bike and an elliptical trainer. The location is a bit far from the centre.

The network is poor at the hotel. The speed is acceptable, but the connection keeps being reset making skype calls difficult.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homelesscanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Not what you expect from kempinski after seeing dead sea property, but, this is a good hotel. Don't open your window if you here in winter the pollution is awful and impregnates your bedding. Leave the windows alone! It's clean, has wifi, is safe, has good quality food and provides a great night sleep in a big comfortable bed.What else do you need ...here

Room Tip: Was advised to book non smoking but not sure it makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

On our way out to the Terelj National Park, we flew into UB late at night and needed somewhere to stay for a night. We opted for the Khan Palace (not your usual Kempinski hotel) but it was not bad at all.
The hotel (although pretty dated) was clean and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a decent sized room and both slept pretty well. Was fairly cool in UB at that time but we never noticed it in the hotel. The food was good and we had plenty to eat in the morning prior to our journey out into the city to see some of the sites.
Whilst we were not here for very long, I'd certainly recommend this hotel for someone needing a clean and decent place to stay in UB.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddicts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Found the service to be very good indeed and great value given the brand. Certainly they miss a proper lobby bar and a good spa but I can highly recommend the Japaness teppanyaki restaurant on second floor,

Front desk are very helpful and can arrange affordable and reliable taxis to get you around the city to conduct your business and to enjoy the many great restaurants on offer in this vibrant city.

It is a bit off the main square but is not really a problem in my view.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djenk_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Kempinski is a well-managed, comfortable hotel that is comparable to most international 4-star hotels. It's located a 15-minute walk into downtown (pleasant in the summer, impossible in the winter), which is considered pretty far by UB standards. There's not much of interest nearby and taxis are hard to find in UB, so if you plan to go around town, make sure you book a car in advance. Some reviews talked about taking 1 hour to get downtown, but I'm not sure how that's possible. It often may be faster to walk than take a car, but it never took me more than 20 minutes to get into the city center by car (mainly due to the layout of the streets). Getting back to the Kempinski from the city was much faster.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are very large and even the Standard Room has a separate shower and bathtub. The bathrobes are nicer in the Deluxe Room but that's probably being a bit picky in Mongolia! The Soviet-print carpet is a bit unexpected, but gives local character that many hotels lack.

Bottled water, tea, coffee and a water kettle are available in the room. The TV isn't a LCD, but a decent size and with a number of international channels.

There's decently fast wired and wireless Internet in the rooms (included in my rate). The desk was an appropriate size with a comfortable chair, although they could have provided a few more power outlets.

The local staff are pretty helpful, although their English isn't excellent, so you have to speak slower and confirm that they have understood your request. There are a number of European staff as well, although I saw them irregularly. At worst, if the local staff really aren't understanding you can track one of them down.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and very good by Mongolian standards and decent by international standards with made-to-order omelettes, decent coffee, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, french toast, cereals and a few Mongolian dishes for the adventurous. There were even fruits such as kiwis and mangos (extremely exotic for land-locked Mongolia). There's a Japanese restaurant and a Teppanyaki place for those of you on expense accounts or a desire to eat something non-Mongolian.

The gym is very basic, with only 2 treadmills and a rack of free weights so don't expect to get much marathon training done.

It's not a cheap hotel but there aren't many decent choices in UB and this is probably the best out of them for now. Just factor in 15-20min travel time and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank answerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here after a horrendous 48 hour non-stop journey from Khovd in a Russian minibus.

We turned up at the reception (5 of us) tired and stinking, but no-one batted an eye lid. Reception was staffed by Japanese staff and obviously catered for a largely Japanese client group. Quickly sorted the rooms out - I got a superior single. Wasn't cheap, but didn't feel ripped off.

Room was huge - separate seating area, big TV, minibar. Really nicely furnished, everything clean and comfortable and the bed was a huge kingsize. The bathroom was amazing - one of the best I've ever seen in a hotel. Loads of free shower gels / shampoos etc to wash that Gobi smell off! Free wifi was a bit patchy, but was fast when it worked.

Dined in the restaurant with my team. Extremely cheap by western standards - worked out at £20 each for 3 courses and beers in the Mongolian restaurant. There were 3 restaurants in all, 2 japanese and 1 mongolian. Food was very tasty overall. Slightly odd processed meat starter, but to be honest, we were all starving at this point. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - plenty of choice. The freshly prepared omlettes were great.

Took up the offer of airport transfers the next day - worked out at around £80 between us all for two cars. All very efficiently done.

Mongolia felt like such an extreme country in so many ways, and the Kempinski gave a valuable time out at the end, and a chance to catch our breath and clean up. Very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.9 km away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#4 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.1 km away
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 km away
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
#15 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Property: Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Address: East Cross Road, Peace Avenue | Bayanzurkh District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Spa Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Business Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, Ulaanbaatar combines European standard and attention to detail with Mongolian hospitality. This luxury hotel, with 99 rooms and suites, is located in the heart of the city's metropolis District. The hotel offers direct access to the Chinggis Khaan Square at city center and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are attending to important business trip or on a well-deserved vacation; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference. Rooms & Suites includes all the modern amnesties required for the travelling guest well as unique amnesties namely; Latest Air purifier & humidifier, individually adjustable climate controller, free mobile phone, I pad rental, Large working desk with ergonomic chair. Also Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, buffet breakfast is rated has the best in the town by the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing