We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st taste of mongolian food”
Review of Modern Nomads

Modern Nomads
Ranked #13 of 349 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mongolian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

An introduction of mongolian food that made me crave more specially their soup and dumplings. Although for me their serving is much more to fill in my hungry tummy i still did finish everything they served me

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mila Agacid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2018

We had dinner and the food was good, made of pastry filled with cabbage and carrots and other one filled with beef. The side appetizers were also good:)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Found this resto from Tripadvisor suggestions. We were here for an early dinner on a weekday and there weren't that many people yet. Service is okay, they have english menus and some of the staff can speak in english.

We had the lamb head, a mixed dumpling platter, and the barley soup. The sheep was okay. Very similar to any roast meat with a game-y aroma. The dumplings are a safe bet for anyone that isn't too adventurous. Some dumplings are stuffed with vegetables, others with minced meat. (mutton, beef, etc) The barley offal soup is not for the fainthearted. There's a very strong earthy/intestine smell. Nice presentation for all dishes though and a decent price for a restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

It is the first time in UB (Ulan Bator) and it is introduced by the local. Atmosphere and decorations are good.
It is a late lunch. They are still serving a-la-carte or build-your-own-dish buffet. They have an opened cooking place for us to view how they prepare your dish. Be prepared to see them and action and FIRE!
However the meat is always overcooked and dried.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 18derekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

The atmosphere was great, the service was nice, and the staffs were friendly. I loved the drinks, side dishes, main dishes, the traditional ambiance, etc. However I couldn't stand the strong smell of the meat, so I didn't really enjoy them. Perfect place for office gathering and getting to know Mongolian cuisine better.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helenanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modern Nomads also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Modern Nomads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing