We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
53
129
74
21
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
129
74
21
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine driverailway tracktrain passessri lankabusy roadtrain noisebeautiful view of the seainfinity poolnice hotelinternational buffetindian oceanbuffet dinnerlate checkshort stayrooms are spaciousstopover
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 305 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, our first night. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our family room was massive. Large comfortable beds, 2 x a/c units, tea/coffee making facilities, tv with good choice of western channels, sofa seating and dressing table, large bathroom with good selection of toiletries. Good swimming pool over looking the sea, comfortable seating area around the pool. We did have to wait about 45 mins for our meal, but worth the wait; delicious. Lovely bar area inside and outside seating - outside over looking the sea. Buffet style breakfast with good selection. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank LisaA196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald P, General Manager at Mirage Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Ms.Lisa,
Thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to Welcome you again at Mirage Colombo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Waited almost an hour to get the food. Food was not good at all. Thai style fish curry tasted like the leftover curry at your local koththu joint. The hot battered cuttlefish was to be accompanied with 'butter' rice but it was evident that there was no butter in the kitchen that day. Terrible experince!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Punsara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald P, General Manager at Mirage Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your feed back, please visit us again, we will ensure that you will
have a pleasant evening at Mirage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

So we stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning and end of our trip and were relatively happy with our stay. There were some good and bad points that you should be aware of.

The staff are fantastic and very helpful. The WIFI is great, The TV had some good channels for westerners and the bar is good with reasonably priced drinks.

The down side was our room stank of cigarettes, the shower was cold for our entire stay in both the rooms we stayed in and we tried multiple times throughout the day/night for a hot shower. I believe this is due to the hotel using solar power, which is a great idea if it works.

The breakfasts were the best meals and we had a buffet dinner which was ok, however we felt it was overpriced.

To finish on a positive, they did have a live band playing at dinner which was nice and on both occasions our room was on the 8th floor which gave us a great view of the ocean. The manager was also kind enough to give us free room upgrades on both occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald P, General Manager at Mirage Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Garth,
Thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you again at Mirage Hotel on your next vacation,
where the hot water is concerned you have to keep the water running for few minutes until you get the warm water,
it doesn't run on solar all the time, we run on electricity in the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Booked for 2 nights via booking.com arrived at 3am to the hotel due to flight delay. Got a deluxe room 8/F with Ocean view and I have to say it was the best view I have ever seen close up . Room was massive with a sofa area to watch the ocean by the window. Comfortable bed . All was just perfect in this room had the best sleep .
The Beach is right across the rail tracks and can watch the sun set. Many restaurants near by and very convenient and safe location. Will definitely stay again. Friendly staff as well. Did not go into any restaurants in the premises as we had friends who invited us for breakfast to dinner so unable to review the F&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor Ocean View it's worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald P, General Manager at Mirage Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Cada,
Many thanks for your lovely comments and please do visit our
hotel on your next vacation.Thanks again for your encouraging feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Stayed here for 2 days over New Years Eve and we were extremely impressed. Staff were excellent and very helpful especially the reception area. Room was spacey and very clean and lovely partial sea view from room.

Nice swimming pool but very cold, only thing we felt let us down was the New Years Eve Gala dinner which started at 19:30 HOWEVER the food wasnt opened till 21:30 which is extremely hard and inconvenient with two small children hungry waiting for 2 hours, also the Gala room was extremely cold. Anyway, that was one single incident and I dont want to take anything away from this hotel.

Highly recommended and 10/10.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald P, General Manager at Mirage Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear Mr.Daniel,

Thanks for your encouraging comments which made us to improve our standards further,
we hope to welcome you and your family at Mirage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews