We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Half Day City Tour of Colombo
12

Book in advance
from
C$41.45
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Viharamahadevi Park
from C$41.45
More Info
from C$107.82
More Info
from C$96.72
More Info
from C$82.90
More Info
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
258
347
92
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
347
92
13
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 713 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2019

Whilst driving around the wonderful picturesque streets of Colombo, we saw many interesting sites, whilst cruising by this lush green parkland, We noticed this quite large golden Buddha, (hard to miss), over our recent travels in asia, we have become, lovers of all things Buddha, seeing him gives us a sense of tranquility, as he is always in beautiful surroundings.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

The Park is easy to walk to from he Lake and has many path. At one end is a large Buddha statue and at the other end is a monument to the soldiers. Nice to walk thru to see the local people

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

I was in Colombo for 3 days. I stayed at a hostel along Vauxhall Street at Slave Island and on a late afternoon I decided to walk my way to Gangaramaya Temple. From the temple, I walked across a busy road and coincidentally bumped into this green park.

The park was located opposite the Municipal Town Hall. On my way, I visited the Town Hall and was lucky to be given a free map of Colombo city. I roamed around the park and found the environment calm and serene. There was a children playground, a restaurant, a magnificent Buddhist statue and few sculptures near the front entrance. It was also called Victoria Park in her early days.

Compared to the Botanical Garden in Singapore, this park is not very big but it is the largest park in Colombo city. Heavy traffic jammed the roads and emitted irritating pollutants and the weather was intensely hot when I visit Colombo. I was glad to see this green oasis right in the middle of this bustling city. While there is nothing much to appreciate in the park other than the statues and children playgrounds, the park provides a short respite for travelers in a calm and serene setting.

One side of the park faces the public library and the National Museum while at another corner was the street gallery exhibiting artwork. I was impressed with the colorful and bold art pieces on display.

Further down from the park is the Independence Square. But I missed it because my legs were too tired to walk.

It is an ordinarily park and is free. The Buddha statue is unique but the children play ground and the park itself are just ordinary.

Date of experience: March 2019
8  Thank ah tee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

This large park forms a green oasis in the middle of the City of Colombo. Right next to the Town Hall. There's a Children 's park as well as many paths for cycling or walking. Fantastic way to exercise early morning or in the evening!
Viharamahadevi was a Princess who was put on a ship by her father King Kelanitissa to protect the people from a big flood..It is believed to have been a tsunami.
She sailed down the South coast and married the King of Ruhuna. Their son Dutugemunu was one of the m I St powerful kings of Sri Lanka who brought the entire island under his control.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Rani525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Well thought and laid out walking paths.
Clean and tidy. Good for walks in the late evenings.
But closer to traffic.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank rudrakumar2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews