We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoloutely Stunning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absoloutely Stunning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at Casa Columbo for a first night in Sri-Lanka, and our only regret was that we didnt book our last night here too, but we still went back to eat in the amazing restaraunt.

Casa Columbo has been designed so wonderfully, and with no expense spared, the bedrooms really are stunning, with the most amazing showers and bathrooms, great toiletries, dressing gowns, lovely furnishings, music and satellite television, and huge comfortable beds, you really couldnt ask for anymore. It was amazing to stay here after such a long flight, in such comfort and luxury.
We were collected from the airport by a lovely driver who was very informative about Sri-lanka and enjoyed giving us any information we wanted with it being our first trip. The staff greet you on arrival to the hotel with a much needed cold drink and many smiles, and take your luggage to the room, Our personal butler Arrun was there to show us around and help with anything we needed and helped us to plan the first part of our sri-lankan adventure.

The hotel itself is just fascinating to look around, it has amazing features, furniture and art at every turn, and is by far the loveliest place we have ever stayed, and definitely the most unique, this is boutique at its best.
As for the restaurant, the food is simply amazing, and very well priced especially when you see and taste the quality, it really is fantastically made and the rice and curry is really something, some of the best food we had in sri-lanka, and the restaurant staff are very friendly and professional, but happy to talk and share information regarding anything you want to know, Ahmed helped lots with teaching me about sri-lankan food and cooking, it was such a pleasure to meet everyone, and to be greeted with kindness and smiles any time of day. And the ambience of the restaurant is truly wonderful, with the most beautiful artwork and design.

The outside looks amazing night or day, and its a delight to sit outside by the pool in the evening with a drink, and the new bar will be a great addition outside the front of the buliding too.
We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone, and we cant wait to return next year, the Casa Columbo really does leave a wonderful lasting impression that you cant just enjoy once!

The Casa Columbo and its staff are really special, and we cant wait to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
What can we really say to a review such as yours? We do not have the words to express our thanks to you for your wonderful comments about CASA Colombo. The fact that we have been able to make such a great impression on you in such a short time makes us real proud.

It has been a real pleasure on our part to have served you, and to make sure you were pampered and looked after throughout your stay with us. It being your first trip to Sri Lanka we were only too happy to teach you about the various local specialties and food unique to Sri Lanka.

We hope you had a great adventure in sunny Sri Lanka, and we are glad that your adventure started right here with us at CASA Colombo.

We hope your next visit comes real soon, because we can’t wait to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    237
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
102
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

It's all been said already - a fantastic boutique hotel with amazing rooms! The rooms are beautifully decorated with every mod con possible. Wasn't going to stay in Colombo but it was worth staying for one night in this hotel. Very relaxing in the midst of a busy city.
Didn't eat at the hotel as we ate at Paradise Road on Aruns recommendation and it was really good and left early for the airport the next day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
The fact that you have taken time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovely review on CASA Colombo, could only mean that we have been able to give you the best possible experience at CASA Colombo. Thank you for your very nice comments, we greatly appreciate it.

Whether you stay with us for a few hours or few days, we endeavour to make every minute of your stay relaxing and comfortable for you. This is what we strive for with great enthusiasm at CASA Colombo.

We are only sad that you did not get the opportunity to sample the delicious food that our Chef is famous for, but we hope that on your next stay with us we can take you on an unforgettable gastronomic journey that is signature at CASA Colombo. Please come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of Sri Lanka tour. It was a major splurge and well worth every penny. When we checked in we were offered cool drinks, which were so refreshing. Our personal butler Arrun took care of us by giving us a thorough tour of our room and setting us up with whatever we required. The room was enormous and beautifully designed. Definitely one of the nicest places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The nights we stayed were the best sleeps I had during my whole trip.

We took advantage of the swimming pool after dark and enjoyed how quiet it was out there. The restaurant was lovely and the menu offered delicious dishes. The staff were extremely personable, cheerful, and helpful. We had an early morning flight and had to leave the hotel at 3:30am, Arrun came out to send us off... which I thought was really sweet, but I guess he was just doing his job. Excellent hotel, we'd stay there again if the opportunity to return to Sri Lanka presented itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikodeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Taking care of your every need, even if it means being up at 3.30 a.m. to see that your check out goes smoothly, is what we strive for always at CASA Colombo. Thank you for your very nice review. We greatly appreciate your kind comments.

One of our greatest strengths at CASA Colombo, is the service we offer you, and that too with a smile on our faces, because it is something we really enjoy doing….. this is true for each and every member of our staff…. We take great pride in our work and in CASA Colombo.

We do hope you will have a chance of visiting us again…. we are certainly waiting to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is as good as it gets in Colombo. I had an amazing experience from check-in to check-out. The staff is fantastic--as good as any I have encountered in 45 countries. They can make arrangements for virtually any request, whether business or personal. The rooms are incredible as well as the amenities. The food on-site is also outstanding. You'll never want to go back to a big chain hotel after staying here. Ask the hotel for good directions from the airport to provide to your taxi. Not all drivers are familiar with this hotel and it is well-hidden from the main road (which is great!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
We are glad that we have been able to “WOW” you with your experience at CASA Colombo…… but it is a whole new experience for us to have been “WOW”ed by your wonderful review! Thank you very much for your kind words, which have both pleased and encouraged us…..

Providing for all your needs, while you are at CASA Colombo, is just our way of ensuring that your stay with us is perfect in every way, and it also helps you to relax and enjoy yourself more.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel-Benken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel was a very special experience. Ancient and modern united together . The food is excellent and the staff all are very friendly. We had a very nice stay and would like to thank you very much again for the free upgrade to Business Suite. This Suite was great and had direct access to the pool. The food was also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walmas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We at CASA Colombo never get enough of reading wonderful reviews such as yours…. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we have been successful in giving you the best possible stay ever!

We hope you had time to look at the way CASA Colombo was born, out of a 200 year old mansion, which was full refurbished and recreated to what it is today, with a lot of love and care. To add to this, we also have the best possible team together, so that every aspect of your stay with us is guaranteed to be to your liking and comfort.

We are already awaiting your next visit with us….. so please come back soon!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I often go to Colombo on business trips but this was my first at CASA Colombo and I wished I knew this property before!! It truly deserves all the reviews, the awards and the TripAdvisor Choice 2012. I stayed for two nights and got upgraded upon check-in, nice touch but wait until I first enter the room...it was just WOW. The design was sexy yet classic, modern but with that feeling of colonial house. Great sense of space in the room and loved the bath tub!
Service was so caring without being oppressive, great chat with Kumara - you are a real asset to CASA and they are very lucky to have you in the team. Will certainly return on my next trip to Colombo!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Making you WOW! at CASA Colombo is our greatest endeavour, and it takes that special person to notice the difference in us.

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding CASA Colombo….. we too are very proud of our achievements, but our biggest achievement is in having a satisfied guest such as yourself.

It was an honor to be at your service and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We can’t wait to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have been meaning to drop a line and delight in sharing the wonders of Casa!! I took awhile as I stayed at Casa twice in 2011. Sorry so late guys! Loved every bit about it. The unique boutique rooms of course were special and I loved the photos/artwork upsstairs which depicts the hotels reconstruction and renovation. Breakfast and the restaurant for tea were a treat! Thanks for your true hospitality Kumara and co. Hope to see you again later this year. Cheers Tony

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We are so very happy that you enjoyed you stay at CASA Colombo…. not once but twice!! It is simply great reading reviews such as yours, and so very encouraging to our entire Team, who work very hard to give you the best possible experience whilst at CASA Colombo.

We too love looking back at when CASA Colombo was being constructed…. and it is amazing to see what we have achieved and become today. You may be happy to note that CASA Colombo is the proud recipient of two more awards, namely the Bloomberg Award for Best Hotel Interior (once again!!) and also the Best Small Hotel. We are indeed very proud.

We are certainly looking forward to seeing you at the end of this year, once again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.7 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
4.6 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.0 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.7 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
3.2 km away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing