We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place in city”
Review of Ranjit's Ambalama

Ranjit's Ambalama
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranjit's Ambalama
Ranked #81 of 162 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The place is really quiet, after two weeks of journey through Sri Lanka it was pleasant to take rest in a place as this one. The immense garden gives the sensation to be right in the middle of the jungle while the guesthouse is situated in full Colombo.
The owner is pleasant and nice. He gave us indications to visit the city and addresses of good restaurants.
We had a room with the common bathroom. The room was big, clean and provided with a mosquito net.
If I had only a reproach to be made it is maybe on the price of the breakfast. A bit expensive but on the other hand excellent, especially if you like the Sri Lankan food. The Egghoppers was a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Could you imagine a country house, with a huge garden, tables and sits under a porch, and an spacious living room? This is Ranjit's Ambalama, a pleasant guesthouse located in one of Colombo's best neighborhoods, Cinnamon Gardens.
Rooms are upstairs, and we had a big one, very clean and bright, with windows under the tree.
The owner, Ranjit, lives just beside the guesthouse. He was kind, helpful and very welcoming (as it was his dog!), and he gave us good suggestions
Be careful not to lose getting there, because Ranjit's place is kind of hidden and there is no sign. Any tuk tuk driver should know where it is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxxav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

wish I had done more research and read the reviews here on tripadvisor. The property was nice enough and with a little work it could be really nice. The door to our room was really dodgy and didn't shut well, there was a huge gap in the bathroom door that would leave little to the imagination of anyone that should chance by, (thankfully we were alone in that part of the house),
The price we found on the internet was not honored and in face about quadruple the price. Since we were only going to be there for one night and arrived after dark, we decided to just stay. The owner was pleasant enough I guess, but the bottom line was always money. 600 rupees for wifi???? Outrageous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhiannoncwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This place is not that bad actually. It's clean. Beds are comfortable, rooms are airy. Also garden is fantastic. But the owner is amazing. I think he always wanted to be an army officer. But some how he is a guest house owner now. He has strict rules. And in irrational situations he is still trying to use that rules.

He is not exactly bad guy. Only he is not kind. He is rude. He is not smart enough. But he thinks he is smart and kind :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank MetinSolmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The position is in a nice and quiet area of the town. The owner is helpful and arranged some things for us. But he is very business-orientated. You pay for everything even the WiFi extra. One bath for 3 rooms is not enough, especially when children were staying in it. The entrance-gate is very loud. For the key you have to pay a refund. It is a good, perhaps not the best option. Forgot to wake us as promised.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluesboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

A pleasant little sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle. Ranjit and his wife are charming and will no doubt will look after you in what is, essentially, their house. The rooms are simple but clean. You'd be mad not to pay a little extra for their breakfast of prepared fruit, hoppers with egg, Dahl and onion sambal, washed down with melon juice and, of course, tea.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I have just spent three weeks staying Ranjit's rest house, arriving here initially out of desperation because of budget concerns and having to ignore all the bad reviews. I can say with clarity that I loved this place. After my initial one night stay with the intention of finding something better, I happily eased into a long stay here instead. Ranjit was always very honest and up front with me and with money. Yes, he asks you to pay soon after you arrive, but this is because too many people in the past have left without paying - so it is only a formality and you have to pay eventually so why not get it out of the way from the start? Ranjit went out of his way to customise my needs and he was also very helpful and kind, he is well connected and can advise you on great doctors, dentists and other people and place you might need to visit. The guest house has three inside rooms, one with a separate bathroom and the other two share a bathroom. The rooms are basic but clean. It also has two private bungalows out the back. The shared bathroom looks a bit long in the tooth, but that is just the age, stains in the bathtub are non-removable stains but it is actually very clean. The price for rooms here are higher than other parts of Sri Lanka for similar standards but actually this place is still one of the cheapest in Colombo city - I don't think people realise just how expensive Colombo is. Therefore, this place is great value. There is a big lounge area downstairs and both a back Winter garden area and garden itself - all these places are relaxing hideouts to read Hemingway, sip tea or contemplate life over a wine. The place has a slightly 'artzy Gauguin meets the 60's feel' with woodzy flooring and lush tropical palms and plants in view. There is a beautiful quiet dog called lucky who is very shy but warms to you if you are kind to her and a sleepy ginger cat called Lily or Lilac or something (I settled on calling him Kermit) - Both these animals add to the charm of the place. The location is near perfect - set back in a very quiet street and very safe (I left my valuables in the room all the time without fear) - Ranjit's is near all the embassies and a 5 min tuk tuk ride to town, or you could even walk to ritzy Colombo 7 area about 15 minutes. There is a mosque nearby and you do hear background praying chanting from time to time - but that added a sense of travelling adventure and a quality to my experience - I 'went with it'. So so so - many people have complained about this place but there are always two sides to every story - Yes, if you want to make calls on the phone here or do clothes washing, have AC, or order a cab or use the internet - you will be asked to pay extra - but so what? The rooms are great value and if to keep these costs down Ranjit has to pay all these other costs so it seems really fair to me. Internet by the way at the time of writing is 600rupees whether you stay one night or 10 nights - so at one night it is o.k - but at 10 nights it is a bargain. I would recommend this place to people on a budget, but that have an open mind to see the grace, charm and ambiance through any minor short comings. Forget noisy parties here it is not a back packer haven and if you want a mini bar and an ocean view then you had better book a room at the Galle Face Hotel instead. No it isn't luxury, but it's quaint, quiet and auspiciously charming.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom then either take the room with the private bathroom (it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
4 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
3.5 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.1 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,165 reviews
3.7 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
2,340 reviews
4.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 55 in Colombo
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's Ambalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's Ambalama

Address: 53/19 Torrington Avenue, Colombo 00700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit’s Ambalama in cinnamon gardens provides comfortable rooms in an eco friendly setting with a leafy courtyard, verandas and large garden with thick vegetation. A peaceful hideaway in a homey atmosphere with personalized service unique in the city of Colombo. It is very centrally situated in close proximity to all embassies, visa offices, shops and other places of interest in the city of Colombo with easy access to transport. Swimming pool nearby is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ranjit`s Ambalama Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing