We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
6
8
4
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
8
4
11
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 42 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Could you imagine a country house, with a huge garden, tables and sits under a porch, and an spacious living room? This is Ranjit's Ambalama, a pleasant guesthouse located in one of Colombo's best neighborhoods, Cinnamon Gardens.
Rooms are upstairs, and we had a big one, very clean and bright, with windows under the tree.
The owner, Ranjit, lives just beside the guesthouse. He was kind, helpful and very welcoming (as it was his dog!), and he gave us good suggestions
Be careful not to lose getting there, because Ranjit's place is kind of hidden and there is no sign. Any tuk tuk driver should know where it is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxxav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2013

wish I had done more research and read the reviews here on tripadvisor. The property was nice enough and with a little work it could be really nice. The door to our room was really dodgy and didn't shut well, there was a huge gap in the bathroom door that would leave little to the imagination of anyone that should chance by, (thankfully we were alone in that part of the house),
The price we found on the internet was not honored and in face about quadruple the price. Since we were only going to be there for one night and arrived after dark, we decided to just stay. The owner was pleasant enough I guess, but the bottom line was always money. 600 rupees for wifi???? Outrageous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhiannoncwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is not that bad actually. It's clean. Beds are comfortable, rooms are airy. Also garden is fantastic. But the owner is amazing. I think he always wanted to be an army officer. But some how he is a guest house owner now. He has strict rules. And in irrational situations he is still trying to use that rules.

He is not exactly bad guy. Only he is not kind. He is rude. He is not smart enough. But he thinks he is smart and kind :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank MetinSolmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The position is in a nice and quiet area of the town. The owner is helpful and arranged some things for us. But he is very business-orientated. You pay for everything even the WiFi extra. One bath for 3 rooms is not enough, especially when children were staying in it. The entrance-gate is very loud. For the key you have to pay a refund. It is a good, perhaps not the best option. Forgot to wake us as promised.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluesboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A pleasant little sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle. Ranjit and his wife are charming and will no doubt will look after you in what is, essentially, their house. The rooms are simple but clean. You'd be mad not to pay a little extra for their breakfast of prepared fruit, hoppers with egg, Dahl and onion sambal, washed down with melon juice and, of course, tea.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews