We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sneaky Owner”
Review of Ranjit's Ambalama

Ranjit's Ambalama
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranjit's Ambalama
Ranked #81 of 163 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2015

First of all that romantic picture that is given above is not showing the place. The "Ambalama" is simply one half of a double house built in the 60ies, Mr Ranjit just lives next door. Very Basic, shabby furniture. worn out beds, No cleaniness in the shared bathroom/toilet. A very sneaky house owner will walk in your room at any time he pleases by using his general key. We had his visit twice while we were in bed and also had our luggages examined while our absence. If you really want to stay there, then INSIST on immediate hand over of a receipt when you pay and make sure it is filled in correctly, dated and signed, beause Mr Ranjit will never hesitate to take advantage of credulous customers. Also be careful about to agree with Mr Ranjit about using the antique AC (loud like an airplane motor) in the first place, otherwise you will be charged with a hefty extra. We were invited for a drink to Mr Ranjits private living room, where, after a while, he expressed his sexual interest in both of us. Also we had to refuse politely his offer to move in with him in the private half of this house... The drinks were on the bill later on...

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JamesKlausner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2015

We really loved our stay at Ranjits Ambalama.
Ranjit, the owner is a very nice and interesting man. The rooms were spacious and clean, and wifi was good.
We will definitely recommend this guesthouse to others.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The beds have been improved and the green and lush garden is still growing which makes for waking to the sound of birdsongs in the morning a delight.
The cost of the meals is worthwhile as eating at the guest house is not only tasty but the serving large and the setting is relaxed.It is eating at a home so you can make adjustments that otherwise would not happened if meals where taken out so the home meals make for comfort and ease.
It is homey and the host is charming and relaxed the location is central and many sites and places of interest can be reached from Ranjit's Ambalama.
Come stay here is you are at home in a garden, if you want to relax if you want to be connected to nature while being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Despite the barking dogs as a late arrival welcome, our children grew fond of the three dogs, but we didn't, as one started snarling at our son who was grabbing a bite. Ranjit is friendly enough, but the beds are literally falling apart and have been needing a good wash for several years now. Tea came at a very expensive price and nothing was done to help a family with two kids deal with basic needs. We stayed as planned for two nights, but won't come back or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Ranjit is a nice guy and was helpful to us but we did not greatly enjoy our time at his guest house. As pointed out by others - although it provides basic level accommodation, there are some costly extras such as 850 Rs for breakfast (way too much!) and 1750 Rs per room for 12 hours of air con. This was outlandish, considering that although we arrived at 1am the rooms were stinking hot and it was inconceivable to sleep without aircon.

But apart from the that, the dogs barking madly at us every time we came downstairs really put us off. After expressing our concerns to Ranjit the following day, one of the dogs bailed up our 9 year old against the wall, snarling and snapping at her - not something you want to have happen

Having said that - if these issues could be dealt with (ie reducing the price of the extras and getting rid of the dogs), it could be a reasonable place to stay for a short time in Colombo.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jakki_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

At this guesthouse, everything has a price :
- 6000 rps for an ok room (spacious, but bathroom in poor condition)
- a steep 850 rps for breakfast
- an even steeper 1750 rps for the AC
And you have to pay upfront for each and every service that you ask for. We switched on the AC, but as soon as we stepped out of the guesthouse, the owner switched it off... permanently. When we asked for it and rang the bell of his house, he would not answer for a very long time. When he finally did, all he asked for was an upfront payment... again.

Even if the neighbourhood is safe and remote from the hustle and bustle of the city, this guesthouse seems to be an unjustified cash machine. Would we recommend it to a friend ? Certainly not.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Will_75_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a very basic place and as such, considering the room rates, this may very well work for some, especially if you are traveling on a budget. However, no matter how affordable, this does not mean lack of cleanliness and poor maintenance are okay. My room was spacious with a large bed (at least for one person), an okay mattress (somewhat thin but not bad), and a hammock (perfect). However the sheets were not particularly clean and I found black pieces of something (dirt, ash, or perhaps something of a tree?) and sand in my bed. The bathroom is shared which was not a problem (nobody else staying in the room opposite so had it for myself). It was somewhat clean but very spartan though the shower is quite good. One of the windows in my room had a curtain missing because of which there was not much privacy. The owner apologized for this but apologies are just that right? There simply should be curtains and if they are not there you would expect to be offered a different room or the promise that it will be fixed asap. I moved out after one day as this was simply not a place I was comfortable in but like I said, it may certainly work for some. The place is indeed pleasantly secluded with a a nice garden and it is certainly away from busy traffic. If that's what you are looking for and you are not too bothered by the spartanness of the place or the somewhat lack of cleanliness and maintenance it is definitely an affordable place which oddly in a city like Colombo is actually somewhat difficult to find.

Room Tip: The garden-facing rooms are pleasant and get decent ventilation. Keep in mind though that the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
4 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
3.1 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
3.5 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 56 in Colombo
2,171 reviews
3.7 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 56 in Colombo
2,349 reviews
4.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 56 in Colombo
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's Ambalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's Ambalama

Address: 53/19 Torrington Avenue, Colombo 00700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit’s Ambalama in cinnamon gardens provides comfortable rooms in an eco friendly setting with a leafy courtyard, verandas and large garden with thick vegetation. A peaceful hideaway in a homey atmosphere with personalized service unique in the city of Colombo. It is very centrally situated in close proximity to all embassies, visa offices, shops and other places of interest in the city of Colombo with easy access to transport. Swimming pool nearby is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ranjit`s Ambalama Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing