We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
6
8
4
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
8
4
11
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We really loved our stay at Ranjits Ambalama.
Ranjit, the owner is a very nice and interesting man. The rooms were spacious and clean, and wifi was good.
We will definitely recommend this guesthouse to others.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2015

The beds have been improved and the green and lush garden is still growing which makes for waking to the sound of birdsongs in the morning a delight.
The cost of the meals is worthwhile as eating at the guest house is not only tasty but the serving large and the setting is relaxed.It is eating at a home so you can make adjustments that otherwise would not happened if meals where taken out so the home meals make for comfort and ease.
It is homey and the host is charming and relaxed the location is central and many sites and places of interest can be reached from Ranjit's Ambalama.
Come stay here is you are at home in a garden, if you want to relax if you want to be connected to nature while being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2015

Despite the barking dogs as a late arrival welcome, our children grew fond of the three dogs, but we didn't, as one started snarling at our son who was grabbing a bite. Ranjit is friendly enough, but the beds are literally falling apart and have been needing a good wash for several years now. Tea came at a very expensive price and nothing was done to help a family with two kids deal with basic needs. We stayed as planned for two nights, but won't come back or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Ranjit is a nice guy and was helpful to us but we did not greatly enjoy our time at his guest house. As pointed out by others - although it provides basic level accommodation, there are some costly extras such as 850 Rs for breakfast (way too much!) and 1750 Rs per room for 12 hours of air con. This was outlandish, considering that although we arrived at 1am the rooms were stinking hot and it was inconceivable to sleep without aircon.

But apart from the that, the dogs barking madly at us every time we came downstairs really put us off. After expressing our concerns to Ranjit the following day, one of the dogs bailed up our 9 year old against the wall, snarling and snapping at her - not something you want to have happen

Having said that - if these issues could be dealt with (ie reducing the price of the extras and getting rid of the dogs), it could be a reasonable place to stay for a short time in Colombo.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jakki_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2014

At this guesthouse, everything has a price :
- 6000 rps for an ok room (spacious, but bathroom in poor condition)
- a steep 850 rps for breakfast
- an even steeper 1750 rps for the AC
And you have to pay upfront for each and every service that you ask for. We switched on the AC, but as soon as we stepped out of the guesthouse, the owner switched it off... permanently. When we asked for it and rang the bell of his house, he would not answer for a very long time. When he finally did, all he asked for was an upfront payment... again.

Even if the neighbourhood is safe and remote from the hustle and bustle of the city, this guesthouse seems to be an unjustified cash machine. Would we recommend it to a friend ? Certainly not.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Will_75_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews