We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect choice for us and highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Mount Lavinia Beach-2 Mins walk from the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mount Lavinia Beach-2 Mins walk from the property
Master Bed Room with Four Poster King Size Bed Mount Lavinia Beach-very clean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Mount Lavinia Beach-2 Mins walk from the property
Master Bed Room with Four Poster King Size Bed
Mount Lavinia Beach-very clean
Golden Sandy Beach
Mount Lavinia Hotel -2 min walk from the property
Traditional fishing Boat
Location Details
Lay out of the 3 Bed Property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
jaycie50
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice for us and highly recommended”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was clean and very spacious and ideally located in Mount Lavinia just a short stroll to the beach. The best thing about anyone wishing to stay here is Tharinda the owner. He was always on hand either by phone or in person to answer any questions and genuinely wanted to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. He put us in touch with our van driver 'Uncle' who took us on a three day adventure (absolutely amazing). Thanks Tharinda wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The personal touch from the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Hi
Glad both of you enjoyed your stay !! Looking forward to seeing you back again in Sri Lanka.Wish you both the very best!!
Tc
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sham1991
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
“Exactly what is mentioned is offered”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Tharinda is an exellent host, exactly what he has mentioned is offered. the rooms are clean and big. we felt at home as Tharinda was very helpful in everyway. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy this is the place to be. The caretaker was very helpful aswel and cleaned the place aswell.
thankyou tharinda for giving us a home away from home. we will be back for sure.
sham and family

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Thanks for the kind words, it was nice to have met you and your family, looking forward to seeing you back next year as well, till then stay safe and take care of your selves .Happy Holidays ??

Br
Tharinda and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjørn Sti...
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This place is great . It is clean, the owner is helpful, the wifi and aircondition is working, and everything else you would need is either a close walk or a cheap tuktuk drive away. The area feels safe and we never experienced anything unpleasant. In fact, everyone is helpful and smiling.

We travelled with two children, age 2 and 5 and spent most of our days at the beach (short walk away) with swimming in the sea, eating at the friendly restaurants and enjoying the beach life. The Berjaya Hotel is practically next door and has a swimming pool where you can pay an entry fee if you prefer a pooll. Grocery stores, supermarkets and fashion shops on the busy Galle Road is a short tuktuk drive from the apartment.

The apartment itself has all you need and the host is very helpful. We had most our meals outside the house but the kitchen is suitable for cooking if you prefer this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Dear Bjorn and Family,
Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure to have hosted you. Hope to see you again. wish you all the very best

Br
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punch K
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Extremely pleasant experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this apartment for nearly two weeks with three children and I can only agree with what other guests have said in their reviews: it is an affordable, nice & simple little apartment in a great location - within walking distance to the beautiful Mount Lavinia Beach, and also restaurants, swimming pools and shops are all nearby.

Thanks to Tharinda. You have made this trip very special to me. wife and my kids loved it.
Keep in touch.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hi
Wish you all the very best ,Tc
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena B
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Excellent apartment close to the beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this apartment for nearly two weeks with two children and I can only agree with what other guests have said in their reviews: it is an affordable, nice & simple little apartment in a great location - within walking distance to the beautiful Mount Lavinia Beach, and also restaurants, swimming pools and shops are all nearby. The landlord is extremely friendly, helpful and hospitable. It is a great base from which to explore the city and its surroundings.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hi Milena,Greg and Family,
It was a pleasure to have met you all , Hope to see you all again!!

Br
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen112...
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay and great help even after we left”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed our first nights in Sri Lanka with another couple at Tharinda's place. It's a nice place at the beach a short cheap train ride away from the busy city center of Colombo. Perfect after a long flight and to escape the hectic Colombo. Everything you need is there. From a fridge to a washing machine to airconditioning.
The greatest asset to this accomodation is the owner himself. Tharinda is a great host who showed us around, helped us to plan our trip, and was available even after our stay to provide us with information or to help us with any problem. We could call him anytime.
We would definitely recommend this place!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hi
Thank you for choosing to stay at my apartment, Wish you both the very best for your future !!
Hope you will visit sunny Sri Lanka again !!
Br
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just want to say thank Tharinda and his family are very hospitable”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just want to say thank Tharinda and his family are very hospitable. Gave us advices on how best to get there, met and gave thee drink delicious tea. To begin with, when you go to Sri Lanka, you go to a completely different culture, and we must understand that they live in a different way. This is not Europe and not cluttered with furniture apartments, like we have. You will not find carpet in the apartment, walls are just painted, and the bathroom is likely to be made of concrete. We really liked the apartment! All clean and tidy, each bedroom is air-conditioned, two bathrooms and hot water. Internet worked fine too. About the bathroom of concrete. Incredibly comfortable, and for my taste very cool look. We really liked the shower. Little nice pluses - daylight and pebbles (looks very nice). Separate big plus - the location. The excellent beach is just a 3-minute walk . Tharinda and his family helped us in everything: in the first place - tips (what to see, where that is), helped to call a taxi and even dragged the sofa in the living room (which by the way is very convenient), changed bedclothes and do wet cleaning. The location is great for a family or just for friends in one room king size bed, the second twin. Refrigerator, microwave, kettle, ovens, stove - everything worked fine. Even an umbrella for the beach was.There ware not mosquitoes at all (a couple of pieces in 10 days is not considered) In general, only positive impressions. For what we thank you all! Feel free to write Tharinda right now and book. He is a great person who will help you in everything and will do his best to ensure that all would be comfortable and convenient. All you need: to ask.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hi Kate
Thank you for all your generous thoughts, So happy to have met you !! Looking forward to meeting you again ,till then stay safe!!
Tc
Tharinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing