We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gorgeous five star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel President
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Ashgabat
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous five star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Hotel President where I stayed with my friend for three days is a gorgeous hotel with while marbles, huge chandeliers, colorful fountains, swimming pool, garden, etc. The rooms are spacious, clean and luxurious, with a balcony providing a nice view of the mountains. The bathroom is nice too. You get good room service here. The staffs are good too. The food, especially the dinner is good. The fitness centre here is good too. The facilities you get at this hotel are great as expected from a five star hotel. We would certainly stay at Hotel President again. We highly recommend it to others too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skygarden380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The President Hotel is a good place to stay while you are at Ashgabat. It is nearby the airport, just a 30 mins drive. It is richly adorned with white marbles, huge chandeliers, golden and glitz fountains, etc. There is a large garden and a nice pool too. I and my friend stayed here for two days. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. You get a vivid view of the mountains from there. The room service was good. The laundry service was also impressive. The food was also good. Although a bit expensive, the services are good. I would not regret having to stay at this place again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olly_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Ashgabat is a weird place - there's no other way to describe it. But if your travels take you there, the President Hotel is as good a place to stay as any. The capital city is the showcase of a country anxious to impress, and the President Hotel has the same lofty ambitions. Lots of white marble, enormous chandeliers, lots of gold and glitz and fountains... But then they can't get the little things quite right. The rooms don't have some of the little basics you've come to expect - things like slippers (which we could have used after a long day of walking), or pens... We requested a wake-up call which never came, and our friends in the room next door received about five... The pool area seemed oddly understaffed and not quite finished... None of these complaints are serious; all in all it was very good. But, like much of Ashgabat, there's a strange gap between what they aspire to and what they actually deliver.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank frequent_flier_0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

The hotel driver was still waiting for me at 4.30 am after 2 hours delay in baggage reclaim (what a crazy system they have at the airport). I advise you to get a visa before arriving rather than just turn up with a letter of invitation as there was a huge queue at the visa counter - though I guess it would have saved the melee of the baggage hall! You then need to pay a $12 fee at another counter and then go on to immigration.

The hotel is one of the new white marble edifices in new Ashgabat and set on an impressive road.

The hotel rooms are big and well appointed in a sort of gilded Russian style but have a balcony and great views of the city of mountains. They were clean and room service and laundry worked well. My safe broke on the first day but a man came (eventually) and unlocked it to free my laptop but it never got repaired in my 7 day stay. Breakfast was pretty grim - only had it once. Fortunately I took some cereal bars with me from the UK and herbal tea bags.

Dinner not too bad - lots of grilled meat, salads etc.

No internet in the rooms – despite being advertised. There was a business centre but only using their PC’s and no printer so useless for boarding cards. I used my smart phone to tether and get e-mails – an expensive game my bill for the week came in at £350 gbp!! But I needed to be able to send and receive –emails and attach files and it was the only way

Big swimming pool and small garden.

All in all better than I was expecting - but not cheap at $180 a night PLUS 5% surcharge for paying by credit card. You could pay in US$ - but my bill was over $1,500 so I didn't have enough cash left.

Only drawback is that it's well out of town so you need a driver if you want to see anything. It's about 30 minutes from the airport and most flights leave in the middle of the night. Oh yes - and there's no business lounge at the airport for anyone other than Turkmen Airlines passengers which seem bonkers as it was empty when I went in and was quickly ejected for flying Turkish!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodgerDogSproxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Turkmenistan has the reputation of being one of the weirdest countries, even for Central Asian standards, so here we wanted to be on the safe side and asked the local travel Agent (that you need in order to get an invitation letter for the visa) to make a booking in the best hotel in town (125 EUR per night), so we ended up there. Our local guide also confirmed that this is the best hotel in Turkmenistan.

At the reception area you see with a blow-up picture of the new president Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedowand, who supposedly he owns this hotel, which explains the naming. Receptions spoke well English and were efficient and polite.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable beds, plus we had a small balcony. The big outside Pool is a great asset, especially when it gets above 40 degress celsius outside. Marble and palace-style decor, but you could see that the used materials were not the highest quality.

Major drawback is that it is not located centrally, and it takes 15 minutes cab drive to get downtown. There is no restaurant within walking distance, the ones we went to were disappointing (except for the Turkish restaurant Nurana). As there are no offical taxis, so it may become difficult to get a car back to the hotel during nighttime and considering that after 11PM you are not allowed to be on the streets.

The cheap, russian-style breakfast is disappointing.

The bar on the roof was filled with single ladies during night time looking for lonely oil-expats, so you don't really want to take your girlfried there to take a last drink.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed three nights in the President, located somewhat off centre in the south of the city with good views.

Physically, the hotel has a five star ambience and most of the facilities that come with that rating. The public areas, our room and its bathroom were spacious with faux Louis XV decor. Beds were the most comfortable we found in the region. The front desk staff speak English well and are helpful. The basement restaurant serves good Italian food and wine at reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet is adequate but not five star standard.

However, there were several irritants. Internet access was possible through only two painfully slow public computers at the extortionate rate of $7 per hour. Phone calls to Europe were $10 per minute (when circuits were available). In-room supplies were meagre and three star standard, towels were worn and there was a charge for the (essential) bottled water. Our keycards had to be revalidated several times. There was no turn down service.

Overall, the President is about as good as it gets in Turkmenistan - and the region - but there is room for improvement and it would have competitive problems in a ‘western’ city, where it would be rated four star.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
374 reviews
358 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

I really enjoyed visiting Ashgabat. A mixture of Pyongyang, Dubai and Las Vegas. The President is undoubtedly the best address in town and exudes an unexpected grandezza in a surprising town. The food and service in the main Italian restaurant wer very good. The breakfast on the top-floor could be better - and why don't they open the curtains to allow foir the fantastic view? Rooms are nice and have a little balcony. The pool and fitness areas are good enough, not luxurious (plastic benches) but very large and efficient. Service can be varying but it is not too bad considering we are in the ex-Soviet Union. The only big downside of the President is the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: 54 Archabil Shayoly str., Ashgabat 744000, Turkmenistan
Region: Turkmenistan > Ahal Province > Ashgabat
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Ashgabat
Number of rooms: 142
Also Known As:
President Hotel Ashgabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing