We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient Place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Hotel
Ranked #558 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A convenient Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I miss this place so much, Sultanahmet and of course Lamp Guesthouse. Me and my family stayed here for one week and we find this place is so comfortable,convenient and reasonable price too. Beautiful view of Hagia Sophia on the top of the hotel, make you feel so fresh while having a delightful breakfast prepared by the Lamp guesthouse staff. The accommodation such an easy internet access, dozen of restaurants and groceries around the hotel make u comfortable to stay and make u feel like at home. I would love to come and stay here on my next vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynna_des02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    50
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
84
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Lamp Guesthouse for two nights in April 2012. It is conveniently located for tourist hotspots around Sultanahmet - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace etc – and a 5 or so minute walk away from the Sultanahmet tram station (which runs towards the airport and across Galata bridge to the other side of Istanbul). There are dozens of restaurants all on one street around the corner from the hotel. They seemed more expensive than some of the ones we went to, but being in Sultanahmet you tend to pay slightly more.

We stayed in a double room on the first floor, overlooking the Blue Mosque. The view was lovely, especially at night, although being on the first floor meant we were looking up at the Blue Mosque through the back garden. The room was on the small side, but well appointed and very clean. It felt like we were staying at a friend’s house rather than a hotel. The bathroom was small but clean and the shower was good. As far as we could tell the room wasn’t made up between nights – not a big deal personally, but for some people this might be more of an issue.

The staff were friendly and helpful, offering us tea while we checked in. Unusually, the hotel asks for your room key back each time you leave. Initially I was a little concerned about my valuables but we had no issues while we were there.

Breakfast was fairly standard but nice and plentiful – fresh bread, spreads, cheese, tomato, cold meats etc. The hotel has been redecorated and is much newer and nicer than the photos online - unfortunately we didn't take any pictures but the reception area is bright and uncluttered and the lamps hanging from the ceiling have gone.

One thing to note is that there is no lift in the hotel, so if you have extra large / heavy bags or aren't able to negotiate stairs well then this might not be the best place for you. The hotel isn't that big so there aren't a huge number of stairs, so it's more a little pre-warning than anything else.

Overall we found the Lamp Guesthouse to be good value for money, and was everything we needed for our trip. It's not a 5 star hotel, but if you aren't expecting 5 star quality then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas_and_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place is really great , very cosy, very clean and located in middle of the most visited touristic places in Istanbul ! ( Sultan Ahmet Blue mosque, Hagia Sofia, Top Kapi Museum)
The rooms are very clean and newly renovated . The staff is extremely friendly, always smiling and willing to help . My Husband and i are looking forward to our next trip to Istanbul and to going back for sure to the Lamp Guest house hotel . I totally recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YasminaDzenan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This place is really wonderful, cosy, located 10 min to Hagia Sophia. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean, breakfast is as it should be, healty food, good service. Home away from home. I look forward to coming again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmyBirlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

mehmet and moshen were very nice and treated us very special. they called us by name and were always wanting to know if we were ok. the rooms are very clean and the bathrooms the same. i will recommend this place anytime

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The best part of the Lamp Guesthouse was location. The best of Sultanahmet was within easy walking distance - less than 15 minutes to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, and many other sites. The tram was easily accessible too. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They helped us book our Bosphorus cruise and airport transportation. We did have a few misunderstandings because of language differences, but they were easily resolved. The room itself was the only drawback. The mattresses, though new, were somewhat hard and uncomfortable. At night, the room was damp and made sleep difficult. Overall, though, I would recommend the Lamp Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Lamp Guesthouse is just a few minutes walk from Blue Mosque; Great location!
The staff is very friendly and they are very helpful.

ブルーモスクから歩いて2-3分の絶好のロケーションです。
オーナーもスタッフも皆さんフレンドリーでおすすめのホテルです。

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 193London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Meddusa Hotel
Meddusa Hotel
#568 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#456 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#916 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#524 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Hotel

Property: Lamp Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad.No.66, Cankurtaran | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Hotel was established in 2010 has the task of providing the best service to our customers. The hotel was decorated with private wooden furniture accordance with Historical the tissue in 7 rooms. Our rooms have wi-fi, TV,save box,and minibar. Some of our rooms have a view of SultanAhmet mosque. Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Gulhane Park are 4 minutes’ walk away.We invite to you experience the privileges of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing