We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Modern Sultan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basileus Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$182
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$499
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
281
69
8
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
69
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquebasilica cisterngrand bazaarfeel homeshort walksmall hotelturkish breakfastrooms are cleanlocation is excellentbreakfast was excellentspice bazaarthe hotel staffaziztramsultanahmetheart
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 367 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This should be a very nice hotel, but we had two major problems. Our room was almost but not quite finished with a renovation, so the paint smelled, the radiators needed fixing, the curtains were missing and the floors were barely covered by the rugs. They probably should not have given us the room due to the unfinished work. They staff were, however, very nice about trying to address these issues. The much bigger problem was the noise. Next door is a hostel which had a lounge on the top floor. Our room was one floor below, and faced this lounge. There were very loud parties every night until 1 am. You could hear the conversations distinctly and sing along to the loud music. I could hear the music in the hallway of the hotel down to the third floor, so if you stay here, I would ask for a low floor that does not face the back of the hotel.

It's a shame because the other facets of the hotel were nice. Our family room had two rooms, one with a full size bed, another with two twin beds. The two bathrooms each had toilets, sinks and showers, although one had a very cramped shower. Soap and shampoo is provided. The room also had a chair, a dresser and a rack for towels. The room was a little cramped. It has a great view of the Ayasofya. The location is great since all of the Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Cistern and tons of shops and restaurants are within a five minute walk.

Other items included were free wifi and breakfast. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and meat, and toast with veggies and cheese on top.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel was lovely, the staff ever so friendly and helpful. We stayed in an amazing, newly renovated room at the top and had excellent views of the Hagia Sophia on one side and over the roof-tops all the way to the Bosphorus on the other side!
We have had excellent 3 days in Istanbul and the location allowed us to either walk everywhere or take a tram from a nearby tram-stop.
As the room was just recently decorated there were minor problems in the bathroom which were very quickly and efficiently sorted out - thank you. The helpful staff knew not only of great places to eat but also where to watch rugby!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor room - it's amazing!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great location for visiting the major sites of the old town, very convenient to the tram line as well to get to modern Istanbul and to the trips on the Bosphorus. Walk-up, no elevator. The place just changed owners, we were there during the transition.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

First of all this hotel is in an excellent location in Sultanahmet area, close to all the main attractions yet tucked away in a quite alley that provides it with a relaxing and quite atmosphere. However, you will probably find many other hotels with similar location advantages in Sultanahmet.

The difference for me was the atmosphere inside the hotel itself. As some reviewers have mentioned, you get the feeling you are very welcome and at home.

We stayed in a double room which just had a bed with no other furniture, but the bed was very comfortable and the decor was very nice. The owner and staff are friendly and always helpful. They always gave us tips where to go or what to eat, and even lent us utensils to cut the fruit we had bought. The bathroom was tiny and the fan a bit loud, but we didn't mind.

We have only two negatives to say about the place.
1) Rooms are not sound proof at all. You can hear footsteps outside and when someone is walking up/down the stairs, if you stay in the first level you can even hear the chatter from the reception which can be a bit annoying.
2) They had some maintance work done in the hotel during our stay, we didn't' hear any noise but one day I stepped out and a tool fell from the construction staff just outside the entrance. It wasn't a close to hitting me but it could well have did.

Overall, I highly recommend Modern Sultan hotel! We even returned here for the last leg of our trip in Turkey to spend few more days because we had such a nice time.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the first level as you can hear chatter from the reception
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I am still in the middle of my stay and I felt compelled to write. I love this place! Why? well, the owners are Rhonda and Jeannie and when I checked in, they were so relaxed and welcoming, it felt like I was checking into a friends house. I needed to change currency that the airport changers wouldn't accept. Rhonda not only told me where to go, but she gave me tips on what area i would get the best rates and she informed me of the common scams. Even the bell boy pulled out a card and gave it to me in case I got confused as to where my hotel was. Weird, huh! NO, I LOVED IT!

I could be a bit of a Divo (male Diva) and I think this place is great. i like the decor. It's VERY clean. My room was small but I didn't FEEL cramped. The view of The Blue Mosque from my room should be on a postcard. You CANNOT get a better view! You literally walk out of the hotel (and I think it's more of a boutique guesthouse) and BAMB! Within 30 seconds you are right in the midst of hustle and bustle! I hope the rest of my stay is this good!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a room with a Mosque View.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XXXTravelGuyXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews