We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Modern Sultan Hotel
Ranked #95 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If only....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Modern Sultan Hotel for 2 nights for a weekend getaway.
We've stayed in Sultanahmet many times with varying degrees of satisfaction. Price does not always equal quality and as this was just a quick trip we chose the Modern Sultan due to it's location and cheap room rate.
The room was very small which in itself is not a problem but this is the first hotel I've stayed in ever where there was no television in the room or soap provided in the bathroom. There are a couple of small bottles of nondescript liquid but that's it.
Our room was unfortunately situated at the top of the stairs and above the entrance to the hotel which allowed us to hear all the comings and goings inside and out.
Unfortunately there was also no hot water on our first morning. Which I could have braced myself for had we been told, but we weren't until standing there waiting for it to heat up for several minutes clothed only in my towel I decided to ask reception to be told that it had stopped working the night before and should be fixed today - which indeed it was, fortunately!
The breakfast was nice. Not a huge variety but typically Turkish with lots of vegetables, cheese etc...
The staff are also very friendly (I believe it's family run).
So on summing up...If only our room had hot water, a tv and soap. Basic things that make all the difference when you've got so much competition at your doorstep. Indeed there is a hostel right next door which is cheaper and has bigger private rooms - next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thai_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    61
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
99
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This should be a very nice hotel, but we had two major problems. Our room was almost but not quite finished with a renovation, so the paint smelled, the radiators needed fixing, the curtains were missing and the floors were barely covered by the rugs. They probably should not have given us the room due to the unfinished work. They staff were, however, very nice about trying to address these issues. The much bigger problem was the noise. Next door is a hostel which had a lounge on the top floor. Our room was one floor below, and faced this lounge. There were very loud parties every night until 1 am. You could hear the conversations distinctly and sing along to the loud music. I could hear the music in the hallway of the hotel down to the third floor, so if you stay here, I would ask for a low floor that does not face the back of the hotel.

It's a shame because the other facets of the hotel were nice. Our family room had two rooms, one with a full size bed, another with two twin beds. The two bathrooms each had toilets, sinks and showers, although one had a very cramped shower. Soap and shampoo is provided. The room also had a chair, a dresser and a rack for towels. The room was a little cramped. It has a great view of the Ayasofya. The location is great since all of the Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Cistern and tons of shops and restaurants are within a five minute walk.

Other items included were free wifi and breakfast. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and meat, and toast with veggies and cheese on top.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The hotel was lovely, the staff ever so friendly and helpful. We stayed in an amazing, newly renovated room at the top and had excellent views of the Hagia Sophia on one side and over the roof-tops all the way to the Bosphorus on the other side!
We have had excellent 3 days in Istanbul and the location allowed us to either walk everywhere or take a tram from a nearby tram-stop.
As the room was just recently decorated there were minor problems in the bathroom which were very quickly and efficiently sorted out - thank you. The helpful staff knew not only of great places to eat but also where to watch rugby!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor room - it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great location for visiting the major sites of the old town, very convenient to the tram line as well to get to modern Istanbul and to the trips on the Bosphorus. Walk-up, no elevator. The place just changed owners, we were there during the transition.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

First of all this hotel is in an excellent location in Sultanahmet area, close to all the main attractions yet tucked away in a quite alley that provides it with a relaxing and quite atmosphere. However, you will probably find many other hotels with similar location advantages in Sultanahmet.

The difference for me was the atmosphere inside the hotel itself. As some reviewers have mentioned, you get the feeling you are very welcome and at home.

We stayed in a double room which just had a bed with no other furniture, but the bed was very comfortable and the decor was very nice. The owner and staff are friendly and always helpful. They always gave us tips where to go or what to eat, and even lent us utensils to cut the fruit we had bought. The bathroom was tiny and the fan a bit loud, but we didn't mind.

We have only two negatives to say about the place.
1) Rooms are not sound proof at all. You can hear footsteps outside and when someone is walking up/down the stairs, if you stay in the first level you can even hear the chatter from the reception which can be a bit annoying.
2) They had some maintance work done in the hotel during our stay, we didn't' hear any noise but one day I stepped out and a tool fell from the construction staff just outside the entrance. It wasn't a close to hitting me but it could well have did.

Overall, I highly recommend Modern Sultan hotel! We even returned here for the last leg of our trip in Turkey to spend few more days because we had such a nice time.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the first level as you can hear chatter from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I am still in the middle of my stay and I felt compelled to write. I love this place! Why? well, the owners are Rhonda and Jeannie and when I checked in, they were so relaxed and welcoming, it felt like I was checking into a friends house. I needed to change currency that the airport changers wouldn't accept. Rhonda not only told me where to go, but she gave me tips on what area i would get the best rates and she informed me of the common scams. Even the bell boy pulled out a card and gave it to me in case I got confused as to where my hotel was. Weird, huh! NO, I LOVED IT!

I could be a bit of a Divo (male Diva) and I think this place is great. i like the decor. It's VERY clean. My room was small but I didn't FEEL cramped. The view of The Blue Mosque from my room should be on a postcard. You CANNOT get a better view! You literally walk out of the hotel (and I think it's more of a boutique guesthouse) and BAMB! Within 30 seconds you are right in the midst of hustle and bustle! I hope the rest of my stay is this good!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a room with a Mosque View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XXXTravelGuyXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a hotel in the Sultanahmet area, in a relatively quiet side street about five minutes' walk from the Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, etc. Also very close to restaurants, bars, tram stops, etc. The hotel is run by two Canadian friends -- Jeannie and Rhonda. Jeannie's little girl is also there to charm everyone. J. and R. are absolutely friendly and helpful and treat the guests as if they were family. They also have useful suggestions for what to do and see. (For example, they suggested sailing on the Bosphorus and hiking around Yoros Castle and the enchanting island of Heybeliada). The rooms are small but clean and tastefully decorated, though they have a thing for beads. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is basic (boiled eggs, toast, fruit, tea/coffee), but filling. Found it very relaxing, and even got to know some of the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#138 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#43 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#56 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#201 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#141 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Sultan Hotel

Property: Modern Sultan Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Cami Sokak, No:13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Sultan Hotel located in the heart of Historical Peninsula, within walking distance of many attractions including Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc…Our hotel since put into service , aim to serve you to feel yourself at home with its hospitality, qualified personnel and maintains its high quality service concept on the higher level with continuous development. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Modern Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing