We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostel/guesthouse”
Review of Agora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agora Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have been in many many hostels and Agora is hard to beat for any backpacker.

First of all, something extremely hard to find : Metal bunk beds.

Now for those of us who backpack, we all know that usual wooden bunk beds make a lot of noise, especially when the drunk guy sleeping on top is coming back late, wasted from the local wine or beer. Also, any movement makes insane amount of noise and are very bad for those of us with light sleep. A fully metallic bunk bed, with integrated lockers, fixes all of this!

Bathrooms are spotless clean, the staff is just great, the breakfast is absolutely delicious, prices are right, good selection of trips and activities... And the very best of all, the fabulous terasse with jaw dropping fews.

It might be a bit noisy in the morning with people going up and down, but that's what you pay for... not paying much!

I had an amazing time in Istanbul and Agora made it even better. It's super easy to get to and in easy reach of many great spots in the city. I would go back without even thinking about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MTLMikeyB_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Location is ideal. At 70, I walked to all the sites. Staff really knowledgeable and friendly. I had a single room which was spotless, hip, and a GREAT place to come "home" to each night. Roof terrace inviting, overlooking the Bosphorus, breakfast just the right stuff. Cold beer, and free use of laptops. What more is there?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Agora Guesthouse is a fabulous hostel! Located in the heart of Sultanahmet, it's close to all the main attractions. There is a tram spot nearby, which makes going to Taksim or the Asian side via ferry quite easy. The facilities are great and there is A/C in the dorms. The rooftop terrace is wonderful. And the buffet breakfast they offer just might be the very best I have ever encountered in any hostels around the world. And I've been to 47 countries so far. . . Definitely the perfect hostel!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
10  Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My brother and I stayed at the Agora Guesthouse for the 4 nights we were in Istanbul. We loved this place and plan to stay there again next year when we travel. It was clean and up to date, not only was the staff friendly but genuine and made you feel right at home. The views from the terrace were beautiful and added to the delicious complimentary breakfast they serve every morning. You are walking distance to almost every major sight you want to see, you couldn't ask for more! I highly recommend staying here whenever you find yourself in Istanbul! : )

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The place is awesome! clean and peaceful! breakfast at the terrace are some of the highlights! the staff is highly co-operative and jovial specially ilkay and ohan!
i recommend the place to all the visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mani8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here again but this time with the family in a 4 person dorm. Once again Agora did not disappoint. The service, the atmosphere, facilities, tile floors, breakfast all top notch. The staff did remember me from my trip 7 months ago with friends. They gave out local hand made maps that they created. They recommended meatball restaurant which was great. The Room was great, it was sturdy and the bunk beds did not move when someone climbed up. They finally put stoppers on the locker doors so they wouldn't slam on the floor. Big lockers, bring your lock. Bring rooms and hallways with sensors. Bathroom was always clean, and hot water always there. They do provide paper towels in the bathrooms but some people use them as towels, bring your own towels folks. The girls to guy ration was most probably 4 to 1 which was nice ;) nice crowd of travelers. The breakfast was great with bread, eggs, jam, dried fruits, regular fruits, juice, tea, coffee, cereal, milk, cake. The rooftop has 2 levels which is real nice to hang out during the day and night. Don't stay anywhere else (ie Metropolis) but stay here. My 2nd stay here and def not my last if I go back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement floor next to the bathrooms. It's a high traffic area with everyone co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NiteSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

I have been in Turkey for 11 days, originally I was traveling with a friend and stayed in a hotel and I booked Agora for the final night before I flew out. Even though I wasn't originally staying at the hostel they helped me book my trip to Gallipoli. They are extremely helpful and obliging and it was never a trouble to get directions or information. The hostel is very clean, everytime I walk around I see someone moping the floors or wiping basins. Agora also had a lovely roof top terrace and comfortable common room. Breakfast is buffet style with a decent selection. Location is perfect, just a few minutes to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basillica Cistern etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmiH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,084 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,425 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,160 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Guesthouse

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $12 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Guesthouse & Hotel is a boutique hotel created for the savvy, modern traveler. An edgy feel, online and personal interaction, and a spectrum of available room types make the Agora experience unique to the individual. Depending on budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities. Private rooms with private baths, wide screen TV with DVD player, air-conditioner, complimentary wireless Internet, mini bars, and direct-dial telephones and hair dryers.You will get to enjoy Agora’s home-made breakfasts which are served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus and the Asiatic part of Istanbul. Agora is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. Our rooms are simple, stylish, and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spendthrift traveler. In-the-know 18-40 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. Agora Guesthouse and Hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul, only steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Underground Cistern, 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, 10 minutes drive to Taksim square. Agora Guesthouse and hotel is sure to be Turkey's best and when you stay you'll see that Agora has included all the small details to ensure a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing