We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for the first night in Istanbul”
Review of Agora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agora Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,258 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing.Private bedroom and ensuite were very clean and comfortable. Great location and close to main street, mosques, hippodrome and markets. Only stayed one night however would look to stay here again if we were to ever return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double private bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Five of us stayed in the 10-bed mixed dorms and had a blast. Met new, interesting people. Rooms and loos were clean, neat and hygienic. Helpful staff. Good location. 7mins walking distance from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. 10mins from Sultanahmet tram station. Great rooftop view of the sea and both these monuments. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My positive experiences with the staff started before we even checked in. I had several email communications with the staff before arrival and found them to be so accomodating and very funny! I had to change my airport pick up time and that was no problem. The hostel itself is bright and clean. The terrace is wonderful and the breakfast is terrific.
There is plenty of information available for restaurants, tours and other things to do. I was very pleased with everything they recommended!
I highly recommend this hostel! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Istanbul!!! Thanks guys!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Loved staying here! The staff were incredible, so enthusiastic and welcoming, gave us all high fives when we returned from Gallipoli! Breakfast was the best of any hostel I've been to, and getting to enjoy the views of Istanbul from the roof terrace was definitely a highlight! Rooms were clean and with good facilities, these guys really take pride in running this place! A stone's throw from the main sights and plenty of fabulous restaurants on the next street, I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I think Agora guesthouse is one of the best guesthouse in the world.

Now,I'm traveling around the world and I stayed a lot of guest house.My words are based on these experiences of travel.Certainly I'd like to recommend Agora guesthouse to you with confidence.
I had been Agora guesthouse for 2weeks then I was travering around Turkey,and I came back here for 1week because I really really love here and awesome staffs!!!

First,cleanliness is perfect.I stayed in standard dom,there are 10beds with big locker.it was kept clean always and quiet so I promise you can sleep very well.Shower rooms are also excellent.they have the small dressing room in the shower room one by one.

Second,breakfast is awesome.There are a lot of fruits,vegetables,breads,salamis,cheeses,yogult,cakes,tea,milk....You can eat them as much as you want.

Third,the staffs is excellent.They are very helpful and friendry,I really really love them!They always made me happy.They have so good sense of humor and very nice personality.when I asked about something,they always helped me perfectly.

Finally,I was so happy in Agora guesthouse.My trip in Turkey was wonderful,amazing,awesome time with Agora guesthouse.
When you come here,you must love here.
Here is my favorite place in the world!!
I must come back here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chum.3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

A lovely fanastic Hostel in what can only be decribed as a vibrant city. The hostel staff welcomed me and my friend so warmly that its true first impression always last! They day time reception always joking and smiling and very helpful, and the poor evening guy, always helping me no matter what time of night to deal with air con! The beds were spacious and good mattresses and a decent pillow! Lovely clean rooms, and good hot pressure showers! Great to see metal bunkbunks (less chance of bed bugs) and big lockage storage, making you feel very safe and secure there. My only complaint would be (and Im aware im probably a minority here) is that the the rooms were actually TOO cold at night with the air con. I appreciate without it, the hot summer nights would be unbearable, but if like me, you don't actually like sleeping in air con rooms (bad for the throat and wake up freezxing) at least get a bed far away from air con! Other then my issues with that, I found this hostel easy to meet new people, very welcoming, clean and good location. Would definitely recommend again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Missybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have been in many many hostels and Agora is hard to beat for any backpacker.

First of all, something extremely hard to find : Metal bunk beds.

Now for those of us who backpack, we all know that usual wooden bunk beds make a lot of noise, especially when the drunk guy sleeping on top is coming back late, wasted from the local wine or beer. Also, any movement makes insane amount of noise and are very bad for those of us with light sleep. A fully metallic bunk bed, with integrated lockers, fixes all of this!

Bathrooms are spotless clean, the staff is just great, the breakfast is absolutely delicious, prices are right, good selection of trips and activities... And the very best of all, the fabulous terasse with jaw dropping fews.

It might be a bit noisy in the morning with people going up and down, but that's what you pay for... not paying much!

I had an amazing time in Istanbul and Agora made it even better. It's super easy to get to and in easy reach of many great spots in the city. I would go back without even thinking about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MTLMikeyB_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,171 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,258 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,258 in Istanbul
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#13 of 1,258 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#16 of 1,258 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#9 of 1,258 in Istanbul
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Guesthouse

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,258 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $15 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Guesthouse & Hotel is a boutique hotel created for the savvy, modern traveler. An edgy feel, online and personal interaction, and a spectrum of available room types make the Agora experience unique to the individual. Depending on budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities. Private rooms with private baths, wide screen TV with DVD player, air-conditioner, complimentary wireless Internet, mini bars, and direct-dial telephones and hair dryers.You will get to enjoy Agora’s home-made breakfasts which are served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus and the Asiatic part of Istanbul. Agora is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. Our rooms are simple, stylish, and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spendthrift traveler. In-the-know 18-40 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. Agora Guesthouse and Hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul, only steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Underground Cistern, 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, 10 minutes drive to Taksim square. Agora Guesthouse and hotel is sure to be Turkey's best and when you stay you'll see that Agora has included all the small details to ensure a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing