We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and staff, great location”
Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #348 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed with my husband for several nights last May - had a huge, elegant room in the building down the street. We were welcomed with tea and cookies, and wandered off to stumble into all of the sights. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet, and staff were great. Navigated all over the city easily, by foot, tram, and ferry. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

I am writing this review as we are just leaving the hotel. The location is perfect for a 3-4 days visit of the city. Since the hotel only has a dozen rooms or so, the manager personally takes care of all the guests, with a piece of advice for everyone, restaurant recommendations and other useful information. The breakfast is very good, you can have the cook make you fresh omlette or fried eggs, there are plenty of fruits and delicious pastry, turkish coffee and tea. The hotel is furnished in traditional turkish style, very cosy and original.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

When we arrived late at night to reception we were ordered by a man working at the hotel to hand over our passports and to get back into the car. Once he had taken photocopies of our passports we were driven in the car to our hotel room which was a few streets away. This would have been fine except with the winding streets in Sultanahmet we could not easily find reception again. The man dropped us off, with the keys, and that is the last time anyone from the hotel ever spoke to us. We did not get any recommendations, any help booking tours or transfers, or even any tea as mentioned by other reviewers. In any other country this would be no problem but we had experienced such generous hospitality from other hotels during our trip in Turkey that we were a bit disappointed.
The positives however were that the room was large and clean, and in a great location for visting all the major sites. Someone came and cleaned our room daily. We even had a kitchen (however the lack of supermarkets around meant we wouldn't have cooked even if we wanted to).
Despite the nice room we still felt the quite significant room rate was not justified given how cheap accommodation is in Turkey. Furthermore I recommend you dont let the hotel book you an airport transfer as they charge far more than elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lotsoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I, together with our two young kids stayed at hotel Djem for 5 days in August. It was the best thing we found out about Istanbul! Very neat, comfortable and professionally managed. Yet, the best thing we found out about Djem was its historic neighborhood, and its proximity to the best spot in Istanbul, the historic blue mosque area (in addition, it was the month of Ramadan, so we enjoyed evening outdoor ceremonies and night festivals every day) It was just awesome! Farouq, the hotel manager, is extremely helpful and can guide you to anything you want to know or see Istanbul. He made this little hotel into a piece of art..

Room Tip: Room 9 was spacious and great. We stayed at room 10 too were you could see the mosque next to your w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farhad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Hotel Djem's location in Sultanahmet makes it ideal for visiting the old city. Most sites are within walking distance and, if not, the staff will help you navigate either by tram, boat or taxi. Our room, with a view of the Blue Mosque, was comfortable and well furnished. The staff was extremely helpful; problems were solved quickly, and they always took that extra step to enhance your experience. For example, when we left at 5:30 in the morning for birdwatching there was coffee and fruit for us. Tea was offered after a long day of sightseeing. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My party of three stayed at Hotel Djem for three nights in early September. We were collected from Ataturk airport in a mini bus and taken to the hotel. My first impression of Istanbul was of a bright, sprawling modern metropolis. We then turned off the main carriageway into the Sultanahmet area where Hotel Djem is situated and were immediately transported into a different world.

Hotel Djem is situated in the old town and accessed via fairly narrow cobbled streets with a few shops and a restaurant in the immediate area. The area was clean and had modern amenities but it was echoes of the past that bid us welcome. The hotel looked just like it did online. On arrival we were greeted by Farouk who provided us with Turkish tea and pastries whilst he dealt with the paperwork. The seating was comfortable and everything was clean and tastefully decorated which made us feel relaxed and happy to be there.

The hotel is divided into two separate buildings and our room was in the second building about forty metres from the main building and reception. The foyer of this building again was beautiful with large sofas, beautiful rugs and other furnishings that caught the eye. We stayed in room nine which was on the first floor and it was lovely and again, just like the photos online. The room was large, beautifully decorated and had a storage table big enough for three suitcases which stopped them cluttering up the room. There was a large wardrobe and dressing table and a safe for added security. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with good quality toiletries and towels.Slippers were provided and the beds were comfortable and spacious (I had a large single bed) with good quality linens. There was also a television, a fridge and a good air con system. The 24 hour concierge was also a positive and the internet worked well. Farouk was also kind enough to print certain itineraries when we needed them.

The location of Hotel Djem was also a plus. The street was not overly busy during the day and was quiet at night. The old Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque were about a one minute walk away. The Hagia Sofia was about five minutes away and the Grand Bazaar was about ten minutes away. There is also a tramway stop about six minutes away so the location is well serviced in terms of transport and points of interest.

Service at Hotel Djem was first class. The breakfasts were lovely and there was a a wide variety from fruit to eggs to local pastries and cut meats and cheese. The butter and the preserves complimented the pastries and a tasty start to the day was rounded off with a nice cup of coffee. Farouk was always on hand to make suggestions as to where to go and how to get there. All our questions were answered in sufficient detail which made our sightseeing run smoothly. Shahin also helped us get front row seats to watch the whirling dervish and also arranged for a car to chauffeur us from the hotel (and back) to one of the delightful fish restaurants nearby-a very enjoyable experience well worth sampling. Shahin was also so helpful when one of my party felt unwell. On the morning of our departure, we were due to be collected early. An alarm call was offered and received and a special breakfast was laid on for us as we were departing before the scheduled one.

I really hope to return to Istanbul again and staying at Hotel Djem created the perfect first impression of not only of Istanbul but of Turkey too.TIP-a lot of the rooms can be viewed online and when booking it is possible to find out which room(s) you will be allocated. I would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Djem again. The whole experience was first class.

Room Tip: The room we had faced the street and was not noisy during the day and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sol-soprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My group and I stayed at Hotel Djem from 8th September for 3 nights in a triple room.
We were picked up at the airport (complimentary, as we were paying cash) and as we turned off the main road into the heart of Sultanahmet, we couldn't help but feel excited. The cobbled streets, the groups of people conducting business or whiling away their time, the bazaars and guy selling freshly squeezed orange and pomegranate juice all indicated that we were in for a treat staying in this area. As we rounded a corner to Hotel Djem, we were heartened to discover that the hotel looked just as it did in the pictures on the internet. We were greeted warmly by the staff.

Whilst Farouk, the lovely owner filled out the relevant forms, we were given delicious cups of Turkish tea and some very tasty delicacies. We felt very welcome and could hardly wait to see our room. On entering, it was a thumbs up - very tastefully decorated with lovely finishings (again, just like the pictures on the web). The bathroom had plenty of toiletries and we were pleasantly surprised to find things like mini vanity kits provided for us.

We were given slippers, good quality towels and the beds were roomy and very comfortable.

The staff were amazing - we grew to love Farouk and Shahin who always had some advice about where to go, what to do and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty - boiled eggs (scrambled available on request), cut meats, a variety of breads and spreads and delicacies to go with your coffee - in a word, yum!

The location was amazing, literally a couple of minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and the other sights of Sultanahmet.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Djem and we really hope to return in the not so distant future. Book without hesitation, you will NOT regret it :o).

Room Tip: Have a look on the web, many of the rooms are displayed there. You can request which room you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayothamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#413 of 1,171 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#186 of 1,171 in Istanbul
84 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#123 of 1,171 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#284 of 1,171 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#234 of 1,171 in Istanbul
107 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#341 of 1,171 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $46 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing