We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$852
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$192
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$914
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$60
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basileus Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$2,014
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 60% below average rates

The price you found is 60% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
US$495
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$464
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,731
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$513
US$431
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
193
67
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
67
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscall to prayerblue mosquerecommend hotelhagia sophiaside streetmajor sitesbasilica cisterntramneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 269 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am writing this review as we are just leaving the hotel. The location is perfect for a 3-4 days visit of the city. Since the hotel only has a dozen rooms or so, the manager personally takes care of all the guests, with a piece of advice for everyone, restaurant recommendations and other useful information. The breakfast is very good, you can have the cook make you fresh omlette or fried eggs, there are plenty of fruits and delicious pastry, turkish coffee and tea. The hotel is furnished in traditional turkish style, very cosy and original.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we arrived late at night to reception we were ordered by a man working at the hotel to hand over our passports and to get back into the car. Once he had taken photocopies of our passports we were driven in the car to our hotel room which was a few streets away. This would have been fine except with the winding streets in Sultanahmet we could not easily find reception again. The man dropped us off, with the keys, and that is the last time anyone from the hotel ever spoke to us. We did not get any recommendations, any help booking tours or transfers, or even any tea as mentioned by other reviewers. In any other country this would be no problem but we had experienced such generous hospitality from other hotels during our trip in Turkey that we were a bit disappointed.
The positives however were that the room was large and clean, and in a great location for visting all the major sites. Someone came and cleaned our room daily. We even had a kitchen (however the lack of supermarkets around meant we wouldn't have cooked even if we wanted to).
Despite the nice room we still felt the quite significant room rate was not justified given how cheap accommodation is in Turkey. Furthermore I recommend you dont let the hotel book you an airport transfer as they charge far more than elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lotsoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I, together with our two young kids stayed at hotel Djem for 5 days in August. It was the best thing we found out about Istanbul! Very neat, comfortable and professionally managed. Yet, the best thing we found out about Djem was its historic neighborhood, and its proximity to the best spot in Istanbul, the historic blue mosque area (in addition, it was the month of Ramadan, so we enjoyed evening outdoor ceremonies and night festivals every day) It was just awesome! Farouq, the hotel manager, is extremely helpful and can guide you to anything you want to know or see Istanbul. He made this little hotel into a piece of art..

Room Tip: Room 9 was spacious and great. We stayed at room 10 too were you could see the mosque next to your window, but it was less spacious
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farhad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Hotel Djem's location in Sultanahmet makes it ideal for visiting the old city. Most sites are within walking distance and, if not, the staff will help you navigate either by tram, boat or taxi. Our room, with a view of the Blue Mosque, was comfortable and well furnished. The staff was extremely helpful; problems were solved quickly, and they always took that extra step to enhance your experience. For example, when we left at 5:30 in the morning for birdwatching there was coffee and fruit for us. Tea was offered after a long day of sightseeing. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My party of three stayed at Hotel Djem for three nights in early September. We were collected from Ataturk airport in a mini bus and taken to the hotel. My first impression of Istanbul was of a bright, sprawling modern metropolis. We then turned off the main carriageway into the Sultanahmet area where Hotel Djem is situated and were immediately transported into a different world.

Hotel Djem is situated in the old town and accessed via fairly narrow cobbled streets with a few shops and a restaurant in the immediate area. The area was clean and had modern amenities but it was echoes of the past that bid us welcome. The hotel looked just like it did online. On arrival we were greeted by Farouk who provided us with Turkish tea and pastries whilst he dealt with the paperwork. The seating was comfortable and everything was clean and tastefully decorated which made us feel relaxed and happy to be there.

The hotel is divided into two separate buildings and our room was in the second building about forty metres from the main building and reception. The foyer of this building again was beautiful with large sofas, beautiful rugs and other furnishings that caught the eye. We stayed in room nine which was on the first floor and it was lovely and again, just like the photos online. The room was large, beautifully decorated and had a storage table big enough for three suitcases which stopped them cluttering up the room. There was a large wardrobe and dressing table and a safe for added security. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with good quality toiletries and towels.Slippers were provided and the beds were comfortable and spacious (I had a large single bed) with good quality linens. There was also a television, a fridge and a good air con system. The 24 hour concierge was also a positive and the internet worked well. Farouk was also kind enough to print certain itineraries when we needed them.

The location of Hotel Djem was also a plus. The street was not overly busy during the day and was quiet at night. The old Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque were about a one minute walk away. The Hagia Sofia was about five minutes away and the Grand Bazaar was about ten minutes away. There is also a tramway stop about six minutes away so the location is well serviced in terms of transport and points of interest.

Service at Hotel Djem was first class. The breakfasts were lovely and there was a a wide variety from fruit to eggs to local pastries and cut meats and cheese. The butter and the preserves complimented the pastries and a tasty start to the day was rounded off with a nice cup of coffee. Farouk was always on hand to make suggestions as to where to go and how to get there. All our questions were answered in sufficient detail which made our sightseeing run smoothly. Shahin also helped us get front row seats to watch the whirling dervish and also arranged for a car to chauffeur us from the hotel (and back) to one of the delightful fish restaurants nearby-a very enjoyable experience well worth sampling. Shahin was also so helpful when one of my party felt unwell. On the morning of our departure, we were due to be collected early. An alarm call was offered and received and a special breakfast was laid on for us as we were departing before the scheduled one.

I really hope to return to Istanbul again and staying at Hotel Djem created the perfect first impression of not only of Istanbul but of Turkey too.TIP-a lot of the rooms can be viewed online and when booking it is possible to find out which room(s) you will be allocated. I would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Djem again. The whole experience was first class.

Room Tip: The room we had faced the street and was not noisy during the day and quiet at night.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sol-soprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews