We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Djem is a GEM!”
Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #349 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 25 September 2015

What a special place this hotel is! Tucked away on a quaint side street, but only a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Djem is exactly what I was looking for. Filled with art, tapestries and carved wood, the hotel staff is warm and welcoming. Before I arrived, I arranged for transport from the airport (very reasonable price) and, as a single woman traveler, I felt very safe. Ask them to take you to the family's shop with beautiful traditional and modern rugs, shoes, purses and other items - you will not be disappointed! Clean, charming rooms in a lovely "townhouse" with cozy beds, air conditioning and modern bathrooms.

Room Tip: The staff is so accommodating, just ask for what you would prefer and then will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DC-Ginnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2015

This really is an amazing little gem in a back street behind the Blue Mosque. We came off a cruise ship and caught the tram to Sultanahmet and it was a 5 min walk - beats taking a taxi in the rush hour! We were very early for our scheduled check in, but Omir at the reception desk was really helpful and offered us breakfast as our room was not ready. We were told that our room was in the annex, a few minutes walk down the street. Initially we were disappointed not to be in the main building, but once we opened the door to our room, on the second floor, with balconies facing the Blue Mosque, and front to the Bosporus, our reservations were soon alleviated. The views were absolutely fabulous - we could almost touch the Blue Mosque! The room was spacious and bright, although it would appear that some previous occupants had taken the phone, so no way to communicate with the main hotel!!! There was a safe, but again, someone had locked it whilst open, so we couldn't use it. Reception staff were excellent at dealing with our requests, like no clothes hangers in the wardrobe. Free WiFi was good. No English speaking TV at all, but then we weren't in Istanbul to watch TV, although we generally do like to watch the news. Everything was in slacking distance. Thoroughly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for room 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Rooms are good with air con. The hotel backs onto the Blue Mosque so early morning calls from the minaret ensure you will be awake. But you will be in the heart of historic and cultural Istanbul. A short walk will take you to the Topkapi Palace, the Hajia Sofia, and the Basillica Cistern. The managers,
Cafer, Ersin and Ömer were excellent and most helpful. Breakfasts were very good. Our stay was very good. Definitely will come back and will recommend.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Paleflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

You'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. At a very reasonable cost, the staff at Hotel Djem were extremely helpful and provided us everything we needed. Omer and Cafer always greeted us with a smile and provided us with great info on where to go and what to do. The hotel is located next to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, and Topkapi palace is a short walk. Free wi-fi in the rooms and a great breakfast spread each morning. I'm returning here on my next stay to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Hotel treated us like guests in their own home. Location is on a side street very close to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace.. so it is convenient and quiet. Beds are are a little had for my taste but that seems to be the norm in Turkey. Large tasty breakfast with lots of local fruits with excellent cofffee and Turkish tea. Front desk was very helpful with information and help with getting bus tickets for the next leg of our trip and local tours.We pickup from airport to Hotel too. We stayed in the annex a few doors down the street. FYI you will hear the call to prayer...

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catullusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Friendly service, good breakfast and cosy clean rooms. Sultanahmet is just a 2 min walk away. The ideal place if what you are planning is a couple of days sightseeing. We did not hear the nocturnal prayer call. But then again, maybe that's just because of those long days spent out sightseeing.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This small hotel is about 100 yds From the Blue Mosque.The rooms are OK and the breakfast is only OK. It was in a very quite neighborhood other than during the calls to prayer. The people who work the desk are GREAT !!!!!!!! Good value for the money in such a pRIME location.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#411 of 1,173 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#177 of 1,173 in Istanbul
86 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#124 of 1,173 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#289 of 1,173 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#231 of 1,173 in Istanbul
107 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#341 of 1,173 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing