We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #347 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 March 2016

 The hotel was amazing. The staff was extremely helpful, the breakfast was good and plentiful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a best location ever, close to the tram station, several large mosques, restaurants, and the fame bazar. The street is quiet and just a few steps away from a nice public square, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and other attractions. 

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexanderVido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Located in the very center of Istanbul, nice hotel with friendly and attentive hosts. The room was colorfully decorated in national style and nicely aromatized. Our windows were directly facing minarets of Sultan Ahmet mosque. Breakfast with Turkish dishes was excellent. Proper choice if you like to get in touch with Turkish culture.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Evgeny_G_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldjem, Manager at Hotel Djem, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

We were delighted to have you in our hotel. It is precious to know you were satisfied with your stay.

All the best
Can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I really enjoyed Hotel Djem and would return again. It's a great location -- quiet, at the end of a small street, but also -- close to the primary tourist sites I was there to see. The manager was tremendously helpful, too. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Do not drink the tap water in Istanbul. It may look and feel like other major cities of Europe, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldjem, Manager at Hotel Djem, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Every minute of your existence was a gift to our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel and granting us the opportunity to know you.

Best Regards
Can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The hotel is well located, right next to the Blue Mosque and a few minutes away from all the major attractions as well as the tram. The rooms are beautifully decorated and large. The communal areas are decorated with beautiful carpets and art work.
There were plenty restaurants close by for dinner.
We found the staff very helpful in advising us on how to get around the city.
Breakfast was also very good with a big selection.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper perhaps the main hotel which is a bit away from the Blue Mosque would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

All I can say is that Hotel Djem lives up to its high rating.
If it is a 5 star hotel you are looking for this is not the place for you, but if you want a lovely clean and comfortable room, very friendly and accomodating owners, good choice at breakfast (cold buffet), and probably the no.1 location in Istanbul then this is the place to stay

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kirkbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

What a special place this hotel is! Tucked away on a quaint side street, but only a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Djem is exactly what I was looking for. Filled with art, tapestries and carved wood, the hotel staff is warm and welcoming. Before I arrived, I arranged for transport from the airport (very reasonable price) and, as a single woman traveler, I felt very safe. Ask them to take you to the family's shop with beautiful traditional and modern rugs, shoes, purses and other items - you will not be disappointed! Clean, charming rooms in a lovely "townhouse" with cozy beds, air conditioning and modern bathrooms.

Room Tip: The staff is so accommodating, just ask for what you would prefer and then will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DC-Ginnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This really is an amazing little gem in a back street behind the Blue Mosque. We came off a cruise ship and caught the tram to Sultanahmet and it was a 5 min walk - beats taking a taxi in the rush hour! We were very early for our scheduled check in, but Omir at the reception desk was really helpful and offered us breakfast as our room was not ready. We were told that our room was in the annex, a few minutes walk down the street. Initially we were disappointed not to be in the main building, but once we opened the door to our room, on the second floor, with balconies facing the Blue Mosque, and front to the Bosporus, our reservations were soon alleviated. The views were absolutely fabulous - we could almost touch the Blue Mosque! The room was spacious and bright, although it would appear that some previous occupants had taken the phone, so no way to communicate with the main hotel!!! There was a safe, but again, someone had locked it whilst open, so we couldn't use it. Reception staff were excellent at dealing with our requests, like no clothes hangers in the wardrobe. Free WiFi was good. No English speaking TV at all, but then we weren't in Istanbul to watch TV, although we generally do like to watch the news. Everything was in slacking distance. Thoroughly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for room 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#414 of 1,175 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#138 of 1,175 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#576 of 1,175 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#276 of 1,175 in Istanbul
91 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#280 of 1,175 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#298 of 1,175 in Istanbul
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: C$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing