We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfying in all ways”
Review of Barbecue House

Barbecue House
Ranked #133 of 13,539 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very satisfying in all ways”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After having had a couple of disappointing meals in Istanbul by using random selection, we found some wifi and fired up the Tripadvisor iPad app and used the "near me now" feature. This lead us to The Barbecue House and, thanks to our fellow Tripadvisor reviewers, we were pointed in the right direction for a great night's dining.

It was a cold wet windy evening so we really appreciated the warmth of a barbecue restaurant, which was interestingly decorated. The service was both friendly and efficient. As well as the regular menu, we were offered a barbecue platter to share (120 TL for 4 people) which we chose and had a very filling feast brought flaming to the table. All the food was good but the chicken was particularly tender and succulent. When studying the wine list (not being familiar with Turkish wines), we picked one only to have the waiter suggest that he thought a slightly cheaper wine was actually nicer (no up-selling here!).

So thanks Barbecue House for a great meal and thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers for taking us there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    203
    75
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must be the best restaurant in old Istanbul !!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were persuaded to dine at the restaurant by the host who was parading in the street. He said if we ate there once we would eat there again. He was absolutely right. We ate there on consecutive nights.

The warmth of the welcome from all the staff was fantastic and only surpassed by the quatlity of the food. Traditional Turkish of exceptional quality. I suggest you eat a sharing plate and watch chef prepare it. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stands out from the crowd.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Set in the heart of the city the Barbeque House we had two nights of excellent food and service. We, like everyone else were made to feel special. We were able to watch our food being prepared over the charcoal barbeque and saw the chef making his "special" but we are keeping the secret to ourselves! Part of our meal came in a clay pot which was theatrically opened over flames at our table. The staff were, like all of the Turkish people, exceptionally friendly and helpful. We didn't have meals, we had "experiences" that we're wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetbriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I am from Baku. In March, I together with my 2 friends traveled to Istanbul. On our first night we visited this restaurant. We experienced great hospitality. Food was very tasty and service was excellent! Even they treated us with two cups of tea and one cup of beautiful cappuccino:) I advise all Istanbul travelers to visit this sweet place. My best regards from Baku to Barbecue House Staff!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aygün A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Having stayed in Istanbul for 4 nights March 2nd-6th my Husband and i ate our evening meal here 3 times..the 4th night the rain was so heavy we stayed hungry!!
The food was freshly prepared on the barbeque station in view of all to see,the aroma itself was enough to get your taste buds going....... Wonderfully friendly staff,a lovely interior full of all sorts of interesting objects and pictures,Would highly recommend to anyone,a special"thank you"to all the staff...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbecue House also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Barbecue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing