We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally... a TERRIFIC meal in Istanbul!!”
Review of Guney Restaurant

Guney Restaurant
Ranked #204 of 15,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our first night in Istanbul... we had crap. So today, I was hoping for a better experience so I could again be excited about our visit to Turkey.
We stumbled upon this spot on our way down from the Galata Tower (that we didn't climb). THIS PLACE WAS AWESOME. When we sat, we weren't sure because the menu had pizza, pasta, and stuff like that. However, our server told us to get up and go pick things out from the kitchen area. Man, they had everything. And it all looked great.... like homemade food.
My friend and I chose a few different things, thinking they would put it all onto one nice little plate per person. Nope. Instead they brought out plates of each item. Needless to say, we had a boatload of food... and it was fantastic. I was smiling all the way through lunch.
I'm now in a better place about being in Turkey and I hope that the rest of our meals are this good. Great job, guys! Your food was delciious..... and inexpensive. We paid $25 (USD) for all the food we had.
PS... your rice was great. your okra was great. your fried meat/rice patties were great. your chick peas were great. your stuffed eggplant was great.... everything!
Just to be safe, I may just go back to your place tomorrow, too.

Enjoy!!

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexAzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 534 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

This traditional turkish restaurant has everything you can ask for: excellent food, nice ambience and amazing view to the Galata tower. But on top of all, it has the best fasil orchestra we happened to hear in Istanbul. It was a cold winter night, so we sat at the cosy interior of the first floor, where lit candelabra warmed up the atmoshere. But I guess in summertime the tables are laid outside, literally under the shadow of Galata tower. And, yes, "Guney" is a little bit touristy, but it really feels like "Istanbul".

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sojna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2012

View can't be beat...the food was great, presented well, and reasonably priced considering the coveted location. Definitely recommend spending money here opposed to climbing the tower.

Date of visit: November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victoriaharben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2011

not the best option for the healthy conscious... but overall ok. they have a terrace if its a nice day, just head to the stairs at the left when coming in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Navigaytion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2011

first dinner in Istanbul - and in front of Galata Tower
good turkish food and great falafel (even if not Turkysh!!!!)
Good food, position and service

Date of visit: August 2011
Thank Mariangela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guney Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing