We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money, great location!”
Review of Ayasultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayasultan Hotel
Ranked #334 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Pros:- Approximately 8 mins walking distance to Hagia Sophia & Blue Mosque. Room 201, clean room, complimentary welcome drinks and friendly staff. Breakfast served at the hotel was of a huge variety but taste wise mediocre at best. Hotel construction left less than pleasing image near the dining room (tape, exposed plaster and ceiling). Very cool views of the seating area of the open dining room.
Cons- they tried to charge me a different amount that what I had, the front desk personnel at night tried to push the issue for me to pay. when i produced my copy of receipt from Priceline he said he would not charge and we could speak to the front desk person in the morning. In the morning the person produced a copy exactly like mine and the problem disappeared into thin air (BRING YOUR ONLINE RESERVATION PRINT OUT). I saw the exact same mix up happen to 2 other couples checking another day...(hmmmm... not one to negotiate my hotel prices what i saw at booking is the price i want to pay nothing extra non-refundable or other made up excuses )

Room Tip: ask for a room a little higher up to escape the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabi8625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

A well located establisment, that looks like it's had a recent refurb.
Allocated room on check in was an internal one with NO WINDOWS felt like a prison cell albeit a comfortable prison cell. Large and well appointed bathroom but NO WINDOWS.
I asked and got a move to another room in the annex around the corner.This had lovely big picture windows, BUT within a few hours all the electricity went off. Moved to a similar room in the annex on next floor. Next morning going through reception was told I would have to move back into main hotel as the annex was not officially yet open. As that would have been the 4th move in just over 12 hours I declined the offer. It's interesting to note that despite them telling me that the annex is not yet in use, later that day further guests were being bought into the annex. !!
Apart from that initial set back it was a comfortable stay, this final room was comfortable, except for a rather small bathroom given the overall size of the bedroom.
The breakfasts are not the best, cold meats, various cheeses, boiled eggs, various plates of vegetables in sauces, and a hot plate with chips and chopped sausages. The usual watery fruit juice and tea coffee with some sort of cake.
Ms. Rabi on reception is most charming and does all she can to help, but the young male receptionist needs some training in customer service, and how to be polite to guests.
Overall, for the price not a bad establishment, it just need a tweek or two to bring it up to scratch, and to make guets aware that some rooms may have no windows, so that choices can be made by the guest as to whether or not they take up the accomodation.
The hotel can arrange to collect and return to the airport for a fee of 35 euros each way that works very well.
With regards to location it's perfect, just a block away from the main road through the sity that has the tram line, and just across the road to the Blue Mosque, and with umpteen pavments restaurants and othe shops in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Just request a room with windows if you don't like to be in a cell. Also rooms on front have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyncookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This hotel is just minutes walk from all of the Major old town attractions. Our room was basic, but comfortable. Staff were very friendly an helpful. In fact the only real problem was the Wifi which, in our room at least, was more or less unusable.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel's location is at the center of Sultanahmet. The staff are all cooperative and nice. The rooms are neat but very small as with all hotels in this area. And the lighting is dim Nd not suffecient

The breakfast offerings are modest. Wifi quality is very poor.

Overall its good but the price is a bit high.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Bassel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Free WiFi. Perfect location.
No license for alcohol.
I recommend.
If you've got a room you don't like - just ask for another one :)
A lot of restaurants all around.
Very very friendly stuff.
It was our first time in Istanbul, but one advise: for best shisha in a city go to La Viola. Next to Taksim. Really great!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

hi,

we took a chance on the Ayasultan Hotel and were very happy!

It was centrally located, the staff was amazingly helpful and it was very reasonably priced!

one thing i would note however is that the cheaper rooms are very small by North American standards, but this is a problem with our expectations rather than the accomodations provided :)

I would not hesitate to stay there again if i am ever in the old section of Istanbul.

Room Tip: try and get a room that faces the front of the hotel, they are bigger and the view is much nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Thanks so much to all the team at this hotel. Without doubt the best service I have ever received in 48 years of visiting hotels.

Great location, two minutes to the Blue Mosque and nothing too much trouble

Thanks so much

Room Tip: Front rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank david222566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#271 of 1,163 in Istanbul
720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#141 of 1,163 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Edibe Sultan Hotel
Edibe Sultan Hotel
#167 of 1,163 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,067 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayasultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayasultan Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Catalcesme Sok. No:26 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayasultan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayasultan Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel which was renovated in 2015 and located on the historical peninsula of Istanbul, Turkey. With a mix of classical and modern architecture, the Ayasultan Hotel has 36 attractive comfortable rooms offering a B&B service. Situated just a short walk from the major attractions of Sultanahmet Square, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica, Grand Bazaar, guests will appreciate the great location and easy access to the city delights. Book into the Ayasultan Hotel and relax in style and comfort in this delightful Istanbul boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayasultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing