We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
13
23
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
13
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 60 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Having spent a lot of time in hostels this is by far my favourite and this is where I've stayed for the longest period of time. It's also the only place to where I've gone back more than two times.

The vibe of the hostel is normally fantastic but of course it depends of the other guests. There is more people staying here during the summer months and if you're lucky to be there anytime between may-september you have to make sure to spend at least one night on the teracce. Here people will get to know each other and share travel stories over a shisha (water pipe) and a beer. For me the teracce is the best thing with the hostel; this is where you find the free coffee/tea, the amazing view and the kitchen where you can cook and store groceries.

The rooms are of good standard (although not luxurous- this is a hostel) and the breakfast which is included tastes great (especially when combined with the earlier mentioned view of the Galata tower and the Bosphorus).

It's about 10 minutes of walk to Istiklal; the amazing shopping/bar/restaurant street which leads to Taksim Square. Galata Tower is just a few streets up and the Sultanahmet area approximately 20 minutes away by walk (you can also catch the tram if you are feeling lazy).

Most staff are very friendly and will recommend you the best places in Istanbul. If you're lucky you can join them for "Zurna"; a 70cm long kebab roll.

All in all this hostel has a great vibe, is located in a great area and you get all of it for a great price. I'll definitely return next time I go to Istanbul; my favourite metropolitan in the world!

Room Tip: Spend as much time as possible on the teracce. The newly renovated double rooms with private bathroom are of high standard.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nereyegidelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2015

Having visited in January, the biggest problem was the heating which was just not sufficient. Also, there was often the shortage of hot water on the upper floors. Also, the showers could use some cleaning. The breakfast was good, also the was free coffee and tea all day long. The view from the terrace was really nice. All in all, don't visit during the winter, could be ok if you are traveling on a tight budget during the summer.

As far as the staff goes, my favorite was the cleaning lady, an old turkish lady who didn't speak a word of english, but was super friendly, helpful and always smiling.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2015

Location: ok, right in the heart of Istanbul, but hard to find, the street can be creepy at night
Building: old, noisy staircase
Staff: polite and helpful
Bedrooms: no curtains, no bedsheets, little heating
Rooftop: smaller IRL than in pictures
Bathrooms: yuck! and no hot water on the upper floors
Breakfast: basic

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2015

The bad:
There was one tiny heater in the entire room and it was cold all the time. We even asked for extra blankets for the nights but we were told we couldn't get any even though the hostel was not nearly full.
There is one bathroom on each floor which is not enough for that many people, but more importantly it wasn't very clean and there was hot water only if you got up early enough and it wasn't all used up yet.
The spiral staircase is narrow and it isn't easy to get your luggage up and down, but you only do that twice so you manage. Ask for the lower floors, but this shouldn't be a reason not to come here, the stairs are not that bad.

The good:
The breakfast is great, among the best I've had in a hostel.
The view from the top is really nice, especially if the weather is good.
The price is among the lowest in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Truffes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2015

We spent an hour to find it, asking people in the night for direction, and fighting on the way with each other, so but the time we reached it we were already tired and angry. Hostel is not bad, but screwlike stairs on the fifth floor killed me. Not a good place if you have heavy luggage. Bathrooms poor - with one bathroom on the floor (for 18 people I suppose). Window did not open and it for freaking hot and stuffy in the room.Breakfasts are good, with a nice rooftop view over Sultanahmet and Galata tower. Stuff is kind and helpful. Good value for its price.

Room Tip: ask for lower floors
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews