We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrible and worst hotel I've ever been in my life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #212 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible and worst hotel I've ever been in my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Rooms extremely small, too much stairs; no elevator; not friendly for handicapped people. Morning breakfast below average and u get charged for omelette and juice!!!

Reception Manager does not understand proper English and end up checking visitors out on wrong dates at the end of the day without giving u notice early in the morning. We had to search for a hotel at 7pm on a new year eve!!!! All what this stupid manager cared for was to sell us very expensive tickets on cruises to make his commission!! He could speak English then!!!

Room Tip: Never ever go to this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    450
    169
    56
    53
See reviews for
173
483
64
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Is the second night for me and my wife staying at avicenna hotel and I think that everything is ok. The restorant have a exellent service and nice prices menu. All the turistik points are very clossed. Nice breakfast with fruits and all the other necesary things anx very friendly staff. We recomend Avicenna Hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agbejtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taner g, Front Office Manager at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
thanks for your comments..

have nıce day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We went to Istanbul for our mini-moon having flown in from our destination wedding in Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus.
The hotel staff were friendly enough - but it was a little bit of a come down from five star luxury in Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus.
The room at first glance looked tidy enough - I expected it to be a little more modern from the pictures, but the fixtures and fittings were a little work. We had a superior room and I had to check that it was because I was not convinced. What made it superior was the view. The pole that attached the pillows came away from the wall, and the pillows were frayed as well. Our bed was not made on our first night and there was an odd smell from the bathroom, until you ran the extractor for a while.
It was fine for a stop over - but if this was not part of our package, I certainly would have been very annoyed to have had to pay the 350 euro's per night for the room (yes - they were quoting in euros for some reason).

Room Tip: As for one with a view of the bosphorous river - but then you will have diner tables at the end of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABU DHABI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The lobby was too small. our suite (207) was very small as well with 2 single beds and no place to put our suitecases. it is hardly a suite. we had no hot water on the first day of our stay. the bathroom is very tiny and so is the shower. The bathroom did not have enough lights on top of the mirror which made it difficult for me to shave and for my wife to put on her make up.Our room was facing the sea with some buildings the are burnt and rundown.another annoying thing which we were not aware of is the passing train which runs early morning till midnight.The aircondition did not work well and the hotel lent us a fan for the whole week we stayed with them and they did nother to fix it eventhough we reminded them twice.We were not impressed with the breakfast at all.The price that we paid was too high for such a room eventhough the location of the hotel is very good.the staff were kind and helpful and i give them full mark.

Room Tip: if you are looking for an american king size bed in this hotel, then you won't find it.the doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABAKIAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had booked a sea view room through lastminute.com for a four night stay but on arrival were told none was available for that period. The "elegance" room was small but clean. But why charge extra for tea or coffee in the room to be made with tea bags or sachet. And there was no hot water for two days, unpleasant after being out all day in the heat. The staff were friendly and we felt sorry for them coping with the problems. Wouldn't recommend it.
J and J England

Room Tip: Apparently requests are ignored so don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonboulevard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Hotel has a very good website, which represents the rooms as somewhat bigger than they actually are.
The staff, were discrete so much so that you hardly noticed them, not sure if that is a good or bad thing. The Hotels location is charming, cobbled streets - picture postcard perfect old town. Cute boutiques, restaurants and hotels away from the hustle and bustle of the centre ideal for a romantic getaway. However room was very small, although beautifully decorated – I would recommend getting a room with a balcony to get a little more space!
Breakfast was included but mediocre and seriously let down by charging for freshly squeezed orange juice, surely this is a breakfast staple as is tea and Coffee of a morning!?
I think I would stay in the area again, but search out a similar hotel, with a bigger room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksonboulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for three days while en-route to Northern Cyprus. The hotel is situated in the old part of the city in a tourist area. There are many hotels, bars, restaurants and shops in the vicinity down the narrow streets in old traditional buildings, not too over commercialised and quite pleasant. The hotel looks to have been remodelled relatively recently and consists of a small reception with seating area, downstairs breakfast room including an outside dining area, rooms over three (I think) floors with a bar and restaurant on the upper floor with a small balcony, when we visited the bar it was empty. Rooms are average size and have the usual essentials including aircon and the rear rooms have balconies with views over the city to the river, lots of ramshackle buildings, alley cats, large ships out in the harbour and occasional call to prayers let you know you’re in Istanbul. Service was OK once we got over the slight mix up with the booking, reception staff are OK and there is a room to store cases on your departure day.

A couple of things to be aware of, free wireless throughout the hotel, there are some rear rooms in a separate building that face directly onto a railway – avoid these, the tea and coffee in the room is charged which I have never ever seen before.

Close to the hotel there are lots of things to see and do, a short walk up the hill to the Blue Mosque and St Sophia and surrounding areas with a large park and busy shopping streets. To be honest, on some occasions you could be in any European city with the trams trundling by. We took the open top bus (you have a choice of three companies) to get a grounding which gives a good coverage of many parts of the city and sights but has limited places to hop-on and hop-off.

We visited during Ramadan and during the evening the visitor areas were absolutely heaving with mainly families enjoying themselves late into the night in the bustling shops, markets and restaurants.

A few final points… we used Istanbul transfer tour for airport transfers who were reliable, good value and didn’t drive crazy, you get a better exchange rate if you change your money in the city rather than at home, restaurant/bar touts can be a little pushy but we felt absolutely safe in the city at all times, just observe the usual precautions when being a tourist.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#336 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#170 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#187 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#271 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#80 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#110 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#159 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#223 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing