We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would struggle to find a bad word to say about this boutique hotel. The location cannot be beaten for anyone wanting to stay in Sultanahmet, it being within a stone's throw of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the like, as well as being very near the tram. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their knowledge of the city is superb (as is their English)and they gave excellent recommendations for food, cruises and the like. The views from the roof-top terrace have to be seen to be believed, just AMAZING. The breakfast spread also deserves a special mention, an array of the most wonderful, locally-produced food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, the rooms may be a little small but they are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. A fantastic place and one I hope to return to very soon.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jess_Bcn_Blfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We are just back from a lovely trip to Istanbul with our two kids (ages 3 and 6 months). I think we were the only travellers with kids, but Ibrahim Pasha was the perfect place to stay - right near all the main sites in Sultanahmet and just a short walk to lots of good restaurants. Room 205 (overlooking street at front of hotel) was lovely - set up with a cot and with the sofa made up into a bed for our 3 year old. There is a teeny elevator - but enough to bring the stroller up and down. We had a view of the beautiful Blue Mosque from the room - and with the iPod dock, and kids movies on hand, even staying-in was pleasant and comfortable.
All the guys at the desk and at breakfast were helpful and friendly - and great with the kids.
I would say my only criticisms are:
-Breakfast - the freshly squeezed OJ at 5TL is DIVINE and a delight - but though lots of dried fruits/ yoghurt/ bread is available at breakfast, it just didn't seem enough/ appetising.
-There was a young woman at the desk when we checked out after 5 days (on 09/04/12) and it's a small thing, but after a wonderful break, she really left a bad taste in my mouth. She was rude and unfriendly and neither thanked us for payment nor our stay, nor did she bid us goodbye as we left. She was also quite rude to one of the other workers in our presence. It's a shame we had to deal with her as everyone else was lovely.

Just to note - there are outlets in the room which accept a variety of plugs and there is also a mini-fridge. No kettle and no iron - but sending out laundry was fast and affordable.
Living room area also very nice to hang out in and there is a laptop on hand if you need to use it.
Free wifi in the hotel too.

Room Tip: From what we could see, all the rooms were quite different. The one across from us had a balcony fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honestanddirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Being Londoners we thought we'd use public transport and took the metro and tram from Ataturk airport (4 Tl each) and found the hotel quite easily thanks to the map on the website. We had a deluxe room (405) up in the eaves at the front of the hotel, which was cosy and nicely decorated. Staff were very helpful in recommending local restaurants and giving tips on visiting the sights. Breakfast was plentiful and they even gave us a milk jug for milk in our tea. We were within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Cistern, Hagia Sophia and the park on Seraglio Point, which has a great tea garden. We had a great trip and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel,

Room Tip: Rooms at the front don't get school noise, but the Blue Mosque has a loud call to prayer, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aint_Momma_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you're looking for a boutique hotel a stone's throw from all of Sultanahmet's sights but aren't willing to compromise on quality, this is the place.

My wife and I first came here on our first trip to Istanbul - we wanted to be within easy walking distance from the classic sights and sites, partcularly near the Blue Mosque, but hadn't really anticipated just how close we'd be. Rooms aren't massive but are a decent size, individually decorated and matching the ambience of confident, professional quality but with a laid-back air.

Arriving at night-time via their uber-efficient airport pick-up, the (fluent English) staff settled us in and recommend we whisk straight up to the hotel roof terrace: what a view of the Blue Mosque and the Golden Horn! Truly amazing.

Moving over the river to Taksim/Pera is easy - we used the tram stop by the cisterns (which alongside the Archeological Museum is an essential place to visit after the massive big two) and found the immediate area safe and easy to get around. The immediate area isn't as brilliantly easy for prams and older/less mobile visitors, but the hotel is fully accessible via ramps and a small lift. The hotel also has a cool seating/chilling area downstairs with a great diverse library, plus (free) internet access open for guests downstairs.

Breakfast! An amazing array of buffet and made-to-order local goods, just thinking about makes me want to go back... no restaurant but the staff were clued-up and recommended brilliant locally-run places both nearby and over the other European side.

We've been back once already - it's hard to imagine this could be bettered for the money and quality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekend_for_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Almost too good to be true. A small, cosy, clean, and above all, authentic hotel just literally around the corner of the Hippodrome, home to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. We stayed here for two nights in February. And how wonderful were the fire places in Ibrahim Pasha reception and library on those crisp but clear days and nights... We very much liked our cosy decorated room and clean bathroom. The whole atmosphere of the hotel made us forget about the rather hard beds... :-) Staff is great. Very friendly and helpful with practical advice on how to go round in the city. Breakfast is simple but good enough for a good start of the day, except for the coffee. Nothing unusual, but if your taste buds are into espresso and the likes, go for a cup of tea and hit the nearby Starbucks later on. We will definitely return to this little gem with the next opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms 105 and 205 on street side seem more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiziger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in room 406. The location of this hotel is steps from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque, next door to the wonderful Islamic Arts Museum. The hotel itself is charming - two small lobby seating areas, each with fireplace, a large guest table and a laptop for guest use is adjacent to one. The breakfast was a large spread of breads, yogurt with many toppings, hard boiled egg, fresh veg, fruit, and olives, along with an array of cheeses. There were also a couple of cereal choices. Our room, 406, was a "deluxe" room, and we found it to be a nice size. The beds are quite low to the ground, and also very firm, but I think this suits most backs - it did mine! The bathroom was well-appointed, with a blow-dryer and large tub with a lovely rain shower head. There is a mildew issue around the bath, as the exhaust fan is located at the other end of a long narrow room. The fan was quite loud, and we appreciated this as it could provide white noise if left on. The noise from the school next door was definitely loud - I suppose happy schoolchildren at 7:15 a.m. would be a bother if you wanted to sleep in...perhaps the other side of the building is quieter. This room was on the top floor, and because it was snowy the terrace upstairs was not in use. On one occasion we quite clearly heard people above us, and I wonder how quiet this room would be at other times of the year. The layout of the room itself provided a small sitting nook with a loveseat and chair, adjacent to the tiny balcony, which overlooks the Bosphorous. A nice flat screen tv swivels so that it can be watched from the seating area or from the bed. There is a large closet - this was one of my favorite parts of the room! There was space for two large suitcases to remain open, plenty of shelves and hanging space as well as coat hooks on the wall. The safe was large enough to hold our laptop, ipad and SLR camera with a long lens on it. There was a small fridge set up as a mini-bar, with complimentary water each day, as well as beer, soda and chocolate for purchase. There was door space there where we stored our extra water bottles. Other thoughtful touches included two pairs of disposable slippers, wine glasses and corkscrew. The staff at the hotel were all really helpful and nice. Everyone spoke excellent English, and they provide very useful maps and information - even slips with directions back to the hotel in Turkish in case you need a taxi when you are out. The hotel had been recommended to us by a Turkish colleague, and the recommendation was spot-on. We will definitely stay here again when we are next in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Room 406 was lovely, but might be loud in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Delightful hotel for a long weekend break in Istanbul. A really warming welcome in an otherwise chilly city. Staff very friendly and welcoming and two log fires going all day in the reception and lounge areas keep this charming boutique hotel very cosy. Situated in the heart of the Sultanahmet district, just 50 metres from the Hippodrome and Blue mosque. No need for alarm clock as the call for early morning prayers starts at 6am. Delicious breakfast, and tea and coffee available all day to refresh you on your return from a hard day's sightseeing. Roof terrace an absolute joy to sit out on, weel wrapped up in the sunshine. All in all a real treat.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BEORMUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,160 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrahim Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrahim Pasha Hotel

Address: Terzihane Sok. No:7 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $92 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibrahim Pasha Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a 19th-century four-storey townhouse, the Hotel Ibrahim Pasha offers sophisticated and modern accommodation and is an ideal place to stay for the first time visitors wanting to explore Istanbul's historic monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibrahim Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibrahim Pasha
Ibrahim Pasha Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing