We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in an absolutely perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #166 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an absolutely perfect location”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Quaint, nice ambiance, authentic Turkish decor. Very nice breakfast included. A block away from the 5 premiere attractions of Istanbul. A couple blocks from several wonderful restaurants. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    133
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
151
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Location is excellent for the historic old town; Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia,Topkapi Palace and the old city full of authentic seafood restaurants. Don't forget to have an afternoon meal at the terrace where the view is really amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Excellent location to see the sights. Rooms are a bit smallish, but everything is in perfect working order and comfortable. The front desk and restaurant staff are very helpful. The front terrace is relaxing and there are so many great restaurants just down the street. The grand bazaar is only a short walk away.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Blue Mosque. Worth asking at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This small hotel is perfectly situated between the blue mosque and hagia sofia, it has a lovely terrace on the rooftop where you can have a meal, check your bill carefully though as they did double charge our drinks, the staff in the hotel were helpful and pleasant and the rooms well decked out, the air conditioner was a bit sketchy though so we did have the windows open and ear plugs in as you will be woken by the call to prayer at 5 am.Excellent powerful and hot showers and comfortable beds and pillows. There are some very nice restaurants in the streets behind the hotel 2 minutes walk. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieoakley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter weekend and were very happy with the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and we got a complimentary bottle of wine at check in. We loved enjoying the wine and appetizers and watching the sun set on the Blue Mosque from the terrace -- we made sure to go up on the roof every evening. The terrace views are magnificent! I am a very light sleeper and the call to prayer in the morning never woke me up. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a normal size as far as European bathrooms go. I thought the hotel was a little pricey (but it was probably because it was a holiday weekend). I would definitely recommend this hotel especially during the warmer months when the terrace is open. If I was in Istanbul over the winter I might choose a less expensive hotel since the best part of the hotel is the terrace and it's not open during the winter; however, maybe the prices go down a bit in the winter... The Blue House is a wonderful place to stay! We loved our trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDSgadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a week-end here with my husband on holiday who is actually Turkish, I don't think you could get a better location!
The hotel is right near Sultanhamet and opposite the Blue Mosque.
Worth getting the lift to the top floor and having a coffee/drink on the terrace as you plan your sightseeing and take some photographs as we did, the views overlook the Blue Mosque and Bosphorus and are wonderful both in the day and at night.
Walking distance to the bazar across the street where there are lovely shops selling hand made arts and crafts, carpets etc and lively bars where you can sit and watch the whirling dervishes in the evening.
The breakfast in the hotel has a huge choice, there is a free computer for your internet needs at reception and all the hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming!
We would like to return again one day, perfect hotel which made our stay even lovelier, we never had to ask for anything, it has everything you need and has a boutique feel to it.
Room was on the small side but quiet and as there is so much to see, we hardly spent anytime in it at all and the location, staff and breakfast etc made up for it!
Thank you again, I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Nice hotel, wonderful location, helpful staff, good food, outstanding view from roof top!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#135 of 1,129 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#189 of 1,129 in Istanbul
242 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#183 of 1,129 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,129 in Istanbul
592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Property: Blue House Hotel
Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing