We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, staff not so great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taksim Gonen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Taksim Gonen
Ranked #525 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff not so great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Pro:
Hotel is set in excellent location, very near the Taksim Square. Rooms and facilities look nice, above standard for hotel of that type in Turkey. Our favorite parts were excellent indoor and outdoor pool. A word of warning: please note that you have to wear swimming cap for the indoor pool. If you don't have one - you have to buy it (although the stated price is 5 TL, they charged us 9 TL?!) in the spa area. Breakfast is pretty standard for Turkey, buffet without pork, but with some excellent dairy products.

Contra:
The staff was inadequate for a hotel of this standard. First when we came to check in, they gave us a stuffy and dark "smoking allowed" room, even though we specifically asked for a non smoking one. It took them 25 minutes to find us a substitute room and when they did - it was one class lower then the one that we paid for. At least it was a non-smoking, so we accepted it.
Later, we found a hotel's "pillow menu" (they pride in having this), but when we asked for a latex pillow from that same menu we haven't received anything for half an hour). Then after calling again, a man came - bearing the same (ordinary) pillow that we already had. So we called again and explicitly explained what we want. They said OK and there was a déjà vu - same guy came with another pillow of the same kind. We kept calling and trying to explain, but with the same result. Long story short - they kept bringing us ordinary pillows every time, so by the end of the evening we ended up with 8 pillows. Don't get me wrong - we're not snobs, and the point was not in the latex pillows, but in the facts that if you offer something very clearly, in printed menu, in every room - your employees should at least know something about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    109
    58
    25
    17
See reviews for
44
65
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Clean, good Located, Small Rooms, very Small Bathrooms, un-isolated rooms we could hear every thing on the next rooms even the small sounds, even the smoking smell was inside our room
Most of the staff are very nice and helpful but one of the recepcienist guy (night shift is really rude and not helpful at all, and this should be taken into the manager consideration) as it will affect on the hotel
Breakfast Menu was low class and shouldnt be rated as 4 stars delux hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to check in a big room; as they are so tiny rooms and the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zaina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

It was a trip for our honeymoon in Istanbul and we spent around a week in 3 different hotels and the Taksim Gonen was one of them. We checked in twice to the hotel and they were facing some difficulties in electrical power. However, they gave us the smallest room in the hotel. It had teh basic functions but the Tv was not working and teh service was very slow in general, We requested Bath Robes but we were not given any but in general the reception ladies were friendly and helped us a lot. Our room was changed when we returned to the hotel after leaving to Bursa and it was a much better one.
The food was not that good but it was satisfactory. the best thing about this hotel is the location of course and if it is compared to neighbouring hotels I dont think that the difference will be high but certainly there are 2 or 3 hotels in the same area with maybe 10$ difference in rate who can be better in terms of service

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much similar. However, there is a room at the end of each floor with two beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel had a much nicer interior than the website shows, but, unfortunately, when we went in late September the rooftop restaurant wasn't open. I'm not sure if that was a function of it no longer being high season or if the restaurant is just not open except for special occasions, but we were disappointed, as that was one of the reasons that we picked the hotel. Additionally, we had to wait for almost an hour for the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport, and call the hotel twice from the phone at the post office at Ataturk Airport. It was a pretty inconvenient and stressful process altogether - might be better to just get your own cab. The hotel was right off Taksim Square, easy walking distance from the bus and metro systems. Also very close to Istiklal caddesi - which is a pretty vibrant area at night. Hotel was quiet for sleeping, however. Additionally, the room was stocked with water and fruit, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chibucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

it was a good hotel BUT some of our goods were lost when we were out of our room and when we were at breakfast my 100 USD was lost from my purse at our room,I report it to the manager and they don't attantion if you are going to this hotel watch out of your goods and your cloth and your money, it made us very sad .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shabnam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

A good sized room. clean and rather nice. The breakfast buffet was good, however, the dining upstairs was not adequate for vegetarian diets. But the location was great, lots of shopping and restaurants near by. Overall a great location and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullerabent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Located in an interesting part of town with easy access to many of the city's sights. My room was quiet enough though small and the air conditioning worked, but the bed was not very comfortable. The tiny elevators are inadequate to cope with the number of guests and this is a problem if you are on a high floor. Buffet breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. The free wifi was unreliable. There are two pools, one on the roof which has great views over the city. Overall perfectly acceptable if you get a special rate. It's worth negotiating as there's lots of competition in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#530 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#250 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#396 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#353 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#335 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Beyoglu
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#273 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Gonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Gonen

Property: Taksim Gonen
Address: Aydede Cad. No: 15 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#332 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Gonen 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Taksim Gonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Gonen Istanbul
Hotel Taksim Gonen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing