We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The nicest hostel around Sultanahmet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mavi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavi Guesthouse
Ranked #115 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The nicest hostel around Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed in this hostel for 4 nights in the 25 beds dorm and I enjoyed it very much.
Of course this is not a place for people who seek luxury, it is basic and you receive what you pay for.
The location is very close to Ayasofia and the Blue Mosque, Actually it is just behind Ayasofia and I attached a picture for Ayasofia that was taken from the balcony of our dorm.
I made good friends while staying in this hostel thanks to the friendly atmosphere of the hostel.
There is only one issue, like i said i stayed at the 25 beds dorm, it is not a good room if you want to stay in the winter time, 1st: it is cold, 2nd: when it rains it is really loud. But for my experience, it was very good.

Room Tip: Stay in the 25 beds room if it is not winter. It has a great view of Ayasofia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    15
    17
    16
See reviews for
3
35
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This place isnt for any type of princesses thats for sure. Its one of the cheapest on the street thats one of its good points. If your traveling as a couple and your on quite a budget then its pretty ideal if you book into one of the double rooms (not the one on the ground floor its ridiculously loud morning and night). The managment are really friendly and willing to help with anything. Its a little cramped, breakfast is nice and youll recieve it promptly. I stayed there for 4 nights and the only thing I couldnt work out was why there were 3 men sleeping in the reception area at night? All in all a nice cosy place to stay whilst your exploring Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peppershaker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was our last stop after traveling through Europe all summer, and basically the only reason we didn't switch hostels was because we were too weary from traveling. The place is disgusting. The bathrooms are unbearable. We walked into our bedroom to find a stray cat asleep. I also brought bedbugs back to the States with me. A miserable experience, hundreds of dollars spent destroying my furniture. The owner is an amazing guy, but it just isn't worth it. Do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icecream5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Mavi Guesthouse is made by Ali, who welcomed us with tea and loads of amazingly useful information on Istanbul and the whole of Turkey. He put us in contact with all the right people to make make sure we had a fantastic seamless trip around the coast of Turkey. The gueshouse is clean and basic, exactly what we were looking for at a great price. Ali went out of his way to help us and show us a good time! We definitely recommend Mavi Guesthouse and Ali, who is guaranteed to make you giggle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Located in a top spot, great cheap rooms and the best service!! Ali helped us plan our Turkey trip and pre booked majority of it for us. We compared his prices to other travel places, and he comes in about 20/30% cheaper - for real!! A genuine guy who really helped us out and knows every detail of Turkey!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have stayed here a few times, in the top big dorm (super cheap), and in a private room (mmm...comfy bed). It is a good building, just a stone throw away from the center of everything here.. What is always the most important thing for me is hospitality, and it is to be found here. The owner goes out of his way to be there, and to give good advice, and proper warnings about the possible dangers in the area. The positive energy is infectious, and the other travelers here are always a bit more perky than the litany of other hostels I have been too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank han_Solo_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Ali, the owner at Mavi guesthouse, is one of the nicest people ive met.
He will advise you with his knowledge of Turkey, get you the best deals he can possibly can (sometime doesnt even take a commisson), or just simply talk about life!
Well situated in the heart of old Istanbul.
Julia

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jumarcily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Erenler
Hotel Erenler
#135 of 1,012 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Sultanahmet
Avrasya Hostel
Avrasya Hostel
#62 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Galata
Golden Galata
#146 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#15 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#39 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Beyoglu
Borancik Suites
Borancik Suites
#32 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavi Guesthouse

Property: Mavi Guesthouse
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mavi Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing