We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, hospitality. Rooms a bit small.”
Review of Hotel Sebnem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sebnem
Ranked #287 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a great value for the money. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread is lovely. You are also given a free turkish coffee on your first night, and it's lovely to drink this from the roof-top dining area. The location can't be beat as you are within walking distance to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and all places within Sultanhamet. Our room was a bit on the small side, but this is the norm for Istanbul. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mtd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in this 14 room family run hotel located within walking distance of many of the historic attractions located in the Sultanahmet district.

Our room was clean, comfortable bed, room airconditioner, flat screen TV and ensuite bathroom. The top floor had a huge verandah with views over the Bosphorus, comfortable lounge chairs and several computers for use by guests. Breakfast is served on the verandah.

The metro train station is 5 minutes walk and the light rail is less than 10 minutes. The walk to transport is along streets with historic mosques, old buildings etc which have never made it to the Travel Guide Books.

We enjoyed our stay, staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel will arrange transfer from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lacepede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We went to Istanbul as part of our honeymoon in Summer 2011, and couldn't have been more pleased. We stayed there on the recommendation of a friend, and we were so glad we did. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the area of the city where all the major sights are located, within walking distance. The breakfast is INCREDIBLE! It's the most amazing spread of food to choose from - the best breakfast you could even imagine, served on a beautiful rooftop with a gorgeous view. And the staff was top-notch in every way! They were so helpful and supportive, and two of the front desk staff really became friends (a special thanks to the incredible Serkan). They even let us store a bag there for free, filled with all our souvenirs, as we traveled around Turkey for another week and a half, and we picked it up there on our last day back in Istanbul before flying out. I can't this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScottO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Visited Sebnem for 3 nights in February. We had the Garden Room 202.

Attentive friendly staff, good breakfast, ultra clean bathroom. Bed was a bit saggy but it's Turkey, I expect snags.

Location could not be beaten. It's literally 2 minutes walk to the historic district, about 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the tram stop is 2 minutes walk away where you can visit the rest of the city for 2 tl each way without restriction.

Hotel organised airport transfers for us. They were not a bother.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jazmincleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you are like me and care more about the city than the hotel, then Sebnem is perfect for you. Not to say the hotel wasn't great- it was fab - but the location and helpfulness of the staff were even better. The rooms were comfortable, quaint and you really felt like you were in Turkey (not like those sterile international chains). The breakfast was delicious and generous; the location was perfect and the staff were worth their weight in gold. I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bronwenfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I agree with so many of the other reviewers. I just finished 2 nights at the Sebnem. Great location, great staff, great lounge. In the Sultanahmet, it is a short walk up hill to the major sights. The street has many restaurants to choose from. Our room was the family room with a double bed and 2 single beds. Great sheets and duvet. Immaculate bathroom. The lounge on the top floor serves a good breakfast and you can have drinks as well. A lovely terrace overlooks the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moirnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here on 2 seperate occasions for about 4 nights each time in December 2011. Before we arrived the guys on reception were great - helpful and informative via email, and then when we arrived we even more helpful with recommending restaurants, tourist sites, out of the way great experiences and providing information like maps, booklets etc. There were umbrellas in the lobby for guest use (particularly helpful in winter as it rains a lot), free wifi and computer terminals.
The location is great, just off one of the larger streets in the areas, beautiful cobblestones lanes, lose to hagia Sofia, blue mosque and topkapi palace.
Breakfast is brilliant - full buffet with savory options as well as a huge variety of sweets, cakes, pastries with jams etc. Freshly squeezed juices were a real plus, as well as great Turkish coffee. Breakfast served in the covered rooftop terrace, which I can imagine would be great in the summertime, with a great view over the bosphoros.
We stayed both times in the garden room, very quiet, cleaned very well, comfy bed, a slight bit too warm in winter but we sorted this out pretty quickly, nice little touches in the room like fresh water jugs everyday and travel guides in the room, book exchange in the little lobby and for the money we paid, it was clearly the best hotel in a lot of Europe. Would definitely request this place again, and would recommend it o our friends and family.

Room Tip: Garden room very quiet, no steps to walk up, great 4 poster bed, flatscreen tv, great shower pressur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KimandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#25 of 1,163 in Istanbul
839 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#311 of 1,163 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#228 of 1,163 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#536 of 1,163 in Istanbul
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sebnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing