We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #865 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 14 November 2011

highly recommended
in the heart of old city, nice clean room, good friendly staff especially waiter "serkan", average breakfast but no doubt I'll go back very close for all the attractions (galata bidge & tower, bosphure docks, sultan ahmet area) and all walking distance i didn't use any transporation during my 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Its really old and the rooms are dated. Our bathroom was pretty bad - the shower door was cracked and came off the rails easily. Breakfast is ok. The hotel manager was very helpful and very nice and the location is excellent. The hotel isn't too bad, its just I didn't think it was very good value for money. Shop around and book early in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is close to the Tram, and major througfare. Major attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast that was provided was adequate, and staff was helpful.
The rooms are rather tiny but clean. Biggest complaint was the construction of the tunnel nearby that went on all night and the rock hard mattresses.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAA78660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here after a hiking holiday. It is cosy and welcoming. The main attractions and bazzars are all within walking distance, we did 4 major attractions in one day! Breakfast is basic but OK - juices are dreadful and coffee is weak. Most staff are helpful but a few .. well not everyone loves their job.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed 4 times during our 6week Turkey and Greece trip. We found the staff were willing to help, most spoke good english. Location to all major Istanbul attractions including: Grand Bazaar, Spice market, blue mosque, topaki palace, cistern & bosphorous, were all within walking distance. Plenty of places to eat. Rooms we had were all good size. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

For the cost you pay, you really get a good deal. The rooms are very clean, the service is 24 hours and it is better than best. You truly get the quality of a better Holiday Inn at a great price. The breakfast could have more variety, but it's continental - not much you can expect. Lots of restaurants around, all the monuments are a walking distance. If you don't want to walk, the tram is around the corner, and the taxi stand is around the other corner. Convenient location and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We're told that for five euros a night more we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel, however The Metropol was in an excellent location for exploring the old part of Istanbul. The Topoka Palace and Museum, Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are an easy ten to fifteen minute walk away. The staff spoke english and were very friendly.

At times we found the five or so street dining restaurants outside a little overwhelming at first, and the lack of safe drinking water was a bit of a downer, but we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,176 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#75 of 1,176 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,176 in Istanbul
666 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,176 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Ibni Kemal Caddesi, 38 | Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #865 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing