We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #844 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

highly recommended
in the heart of old city, nice clean room, good friendly staff especially waiter "serkan", average breakfast but no doubt I'll go back very close for all the attractions (galata bidge & tower, bosphure docks, sultan ahmet area) and all walking distance i didn't use any transporation during my 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Its really old and the rooms are dated. Our bathroom was pretty bad - the shower door was cracked and came off the rails easily. Breakfast is ok. The hotel manager was very helpful and very nice and the location is excellent. The hotel isn't too bad, its just I didn't think it was very good value for money. Shop around and book early in Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is close to the Tram, and major througfare. Major attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast that was provided was adequate, and staff was helpful.
The rooms are rather tiny but clean. Biggest complaint was the construction of the tunnel nearby that went on all night and the rock hard mattresses.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAA78660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here after a hiking holiday. It is cosy and welcoming. The main attractions and bazzars are all within walking distance, we did 4 major attractions in one day! Breakfast is basic but OK - juices are dreadful and coffee is weak. Most staff are helpful but a few .. well not everyone loves their job.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed 4 times during our 6week Turkey and Greece trip. We found the staff were willing to help, most spoke good english. Location to all major Istanbul attractions including: Grand Bazaar, Spice market, blue mosque, topaki palace, cistern & bosphorous, were all within walking distance. Plenty of places to eat. Rooms we had were all good size. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

For the cost you pay, you really get a good deal. The rooms are very clean, the service is 24 hours and it is better than best. You truly get the quality of a better Holiday Inn at a great price. The breakfast could have more variety, but it's continental - not much you can expect. Lots of restaurants around, all the monuments are a walking distance. If you don't want to walk, the tram is around the corner, and the taxi stand is around the other corner. Convenient location and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We're told that for five euros a night more we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel, however The Metropol was in an excellent location for exploring the old part of Istanbul. The Topoka Palace and Museum, Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are an easy ten to fifteen minute walk away. The staff spoke english and were very friendly.

At times we found the five or so street dining restaurants outside a little overwhelming at first, and the lack of safe drinking water was a bit of a downer, but we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Metropolitan Hotels Taksim
Metropolitan Hotels Taksim
#518 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Ibni Kemal Caddesi, 38 | Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #844 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing