We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5Nights”
Review of Hali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hali Hotel
Ranked #565 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I didnt book in advance, but went with the flow, so decided on this hotel,

I did bargain for a good deal because I was staying 5 nights, the staff were not really helpful, but the location of the building is good, close to the near by attraction in sultan Ahmet.

rooms were clean and there is good wifi, there are better hotels in the area,

Room Tip: Dont take the room on the background, there are rooms overlooking at the square and the mosque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rebaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Hi i' m from Romania and i think i've been in Instanbul over 5 times , i love this city .
-> In one of my visits i stayed at Hotel Hali who is located in the Sultanahmet neighborhood in the centre of the city . The restaurant is on the roof and has a splendid sight!
->The stuff is very friendly and polite
->The food is variety and delicious especially the traditional turkish food
-> if you want to visit Istanbul i recommend this hotel .
Greetings from Romania ;)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Armin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

The Hali is in an excellent location just a few minutes more-or-less flat walk to the Blue Mosque and in the other direction to the Grand Bazaar - and around the corner from the tram. Our room at the front had a delightful view over Hagia Sophia.
The hotel has an air of faded almost-elegance and rooms could do with a facelift but they are very clean and relatively generous in size and well furnished.The beds were good and the bathroom large and very functional. Very comfortable.
The staff were helpful and very friendly, the service very good.
My only criticism of this hotel is the standard of the breakfast. The yoghurt was not up to usual Turkish standards, the coffee patchy, and the salads not very fresh.
Generally though, this hotel is really good value for the price range and I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view and as there is double glazing so they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

For more than 30 years now we have been staying regularly at the Hali for stopovers in Istanbul, and the reasons remain the same: best value imaginable for cleanliness, constant hot-water, and the view from the breakfast terrace that takes in both the Aghia Sophia and the Sultan Ahmed (‘Blue’) Mosque in one sweeping panorama across to Asia where the Bosphorus opens out into the Sea of Marmara. There is wif-fi too, in-room fridges and televisions and hairdryers that work, clean sheets and towels and air conditioning when you need it, and a good traditional hotel breakfast with yoghurt and boiled eggs and cheeses and tomatoes and often fresh fruit.
In recent years the roof over the underground water cisterns in front of the hotel (‘Binbirdirek’) have been paved and planted into a park where resident cats cavort with ease and you can read a book or write your diary. In recent years too, Istanbul has been drawing in vaster numbers of tourists and large tour groups all months of the year. One result is the large number of hotels in and around Sultanahmed and elsewhere in the city. We have stayed in some of these new hotels and found noisy rooms; insufficient towels; bathrooms that don’t work; breakfast rooms in basements that smell of drains; surly staff; and so on. You can pay more for a lot less, and you can’t do better for the price than the Hali, where we have always found a happy, friendly and multi-lingual staff.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Turktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We stayed two nights at the Hali Hotel and found it to be in the perfect location. We were walking distance from The Blue Mosque, Grand Bizarre and the Bosphorus. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and we enjoyed some quiet time on the roof top with an amazing view. Our room was comfortable and had a view, although my friend wasn't very happy with her room without a view, and it had some mold. I would return again for sure and make sure I had a room with a view again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JypsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I try to stay at this hotel anytime I'm in Istanbul. It's location near many of the major tourist attractions can't be beat. It's also somewhat removed from all the chaos and traffic of Sultanahmet. The front desk staff are great, very friendly and helpful. If flying in, definitely take advantage of their pick-up service at the airport. It's incredibly worthwhile, in all the confusion and hub-bub of Istanbul's airport.
The rooms are good - a bit dated. The mattresses could be a little newer perhaps. But in exchange for the incredible VIEW - if you get a balcony room - you will not even notice.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Hali hotel it’s a good choice for tourists. You can get to the Sultanahmet Square in 5 minutes by a shopping avenue, but the hotel is situated on a quiet little street. The main feature is the view on Hagia Sophia, Golden Horn and Asian part of the city from window and terrace. It’s breathtaking, especially at the evening! Staff on the reception was always very helpful, quick and extremely friendly. The breakfast was basic, it was enough for us. But it was a problem with opening the door to our room and WI-FI signal was not very strong. It can be noisy at the evening. Still we would like to return here for our next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#310 of 1,160 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#592 of 1,160 in Istanbul
224 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#216 of 1,160 in Istanbul
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fors Hotel
#589 of 1,160 in Istanbul
115 reviews
May Hotel Istanbul
#538 of 1,160 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Hotel

Address: Klodfarer Cad. No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hali Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing