We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in fantastic location, try the Hamam!”
Review of Hotel Beyaz Saray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beyaz Saray
Ranked #271 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in fantastic location, try the Hamam!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Had a 3 night stay in Istanbul at the end of our European trip. What an amazing city, and the Barcelo is a good option for a place to stay.

The rooms are modern and comfortable, the only real downside is that there seems to be no soundproofing - our room was at the front and the noise of the traffic was quite bad - then just after 5am each morning the prayers sounded like they were being broadcast inside the room! Our friends had a room that faced the courtyard and said it was slightly better.

The location is perfect, almost directly across the road from the Grand Bazaar, which is an awesome maze of stalls and shops. The Blue Mosque and Taksmin Palace are about a 15 minute walk away (just follow the tram line!)

The staff were generally reasonably friendly, one or two were a but grumpy - at breakfast the service is almost non-existent, we stood around waiting for a table for 10 minutes+ before just deciding to seat ourselves and start eating!

The highlight of the hotel is the Hamam - while I expect there are better ones around, I have no complaints about this one. Just make sure you have the foam scrub - amazing!

Would highly recommend Istanbul, and this is a good option for a place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Would probably ask for a courtyard view room rather than a mosque view room, just to try and limit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    401
    108
    17
    13
See reviews for
213
403
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We (2) visited Barcelo Saray from March 12-15 and had an overall very pleasant stay. The staff service, the restaurant, and overall room condition and amenities were very good to excellent. The location is very close to Grand Bazar and across from Beyazit Mosque. We stayed in a room overlooking street scene and enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asjay999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location near many of the popular sights such as the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar.

The staff are very friendly and accomodating, and the prices are reasonable. Our room was a standard double, which was fairly compact, but did not feel like a compromise.

Entry to the hotel's own Hamam was free, but paying for a scrub/massage is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Mosque-view rooms have good views, but also some noise from the 5am prayers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swifty1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

No complaints with the hotel or the room. Staff very helpful, standard modern, clean rooms. Good Turkish breakfast and hamman/sauna etc is an added bonus at the end of a long day sight-seeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaf_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our room was upgraded to one with exceptional views over Beyazit Square and mosque. This was offered on check in for €20 but as we had a special deal with Tesco Clubcard Points Rewards Scheme already reserved the extra was not charged although the cost would be well worth it regardless of offers.
Room was modern, clean, with super comfortable bed and the bathroom and most importantly the shower were funky.
Hotel is in great location, just minutes from Grand Bazaar and steps from tram stop to Sultanahmet for Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia etc.
Should we go back we would definitely stay here again and upgrade for the views, they really are worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade for Beyazit mosque and square views although there is some traffic noise and the cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djdg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

January, 2012

Barcelo Saray
Yeniceriler Caddesi No. 77
Istanbul, Turkey

The Barcelo Saray is an outstanding moderately priced hotel. The hotel offers 96 rooms on 4 floors including 2 junior suites, 3 deluxe rooms and 2 handicapped rooms. It also offers a Turkish Spa (Haman). The rooms are well appointed and carefully maintained.

As to location, the Saray is a perfect tourist spot. It is close to the main tourist sites, Haga Sophia, the Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque. The hotel is a few short blocks from the Grand Bazaar and also right near the light rail station. The light rail is a tourist’s treat. It is easy to use, signage is in Turkish as well as English and the local population is very accommodating and helpful. In the Beyazit District in which the hotel is located, there are many shops and lots of pedestrian traffic.

The hotel’s Vista restaurant faces the striking Beyazit Mosque. The Vista offers an outstanding, and beautifully presented buffet breakfast. Lunch and Dinner are also excellent. We had come from Israel that prides itself on its Israeli Buffet Breakfast. But I must admit that the Vista’s breakfast buffet surpassed our recent experience.

The hotel’s staff is also excellent. They are accommodating, well trained and the level of English spoken is above average. They are helpful and friendly. We had a warm welcome from Didem Saldak, a delightful young woman, who is a Sales and Reservation Executive. She was extremely helpful. She arranged airport transportation for us and also assisted us by making sightseeing suggestions and helped us make the necessary arrangements.

In closing, to all my colleagues in the travel industry, I think that you can feel comfortable recommending the Barcelo Saray to any of your clients who are looking for a well priced, centrally located hotel, in Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Myself and a friend had a three night break in Istanbul staying at the Barcelo Saray. The hotel was in the old city which is really interesting and close to all the mosques and bazaars.
The hotel was modern, smart and clean. Breakfast was fantastic, there was an amazing choice all freshly prepared and the restaurant (the vista) had a stunning view to one of the mosques.
The staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful, they booked us into a theatre where we could see a whirling dervish ritual, which was amazing. On another evening they booked us into a restaurant that had live gypsy music and we also had a free taxi there and back. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and it was the best service we have had anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: We had room 111 this has a great view of one of the mosques but is next to a tram stop so wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Victory Hotel And Spa
Victory Hotel And Spa
#718 of 1,155 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Balin Boutique Hotel
#398 of 1,155 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#800 of 1,155 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darkhill Hotel
#379 of 1,155 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#638 of 1,155 in Istanbul
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beyaz Saray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beyaz Saray

Property: Hotel Beyaz Saray
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mah. Yeniceriler Cad. No:77 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#187 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#193 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beyaz Saray 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beyaz Saray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Saray Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Saray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing