We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad treatment to the guests on all levels and super bad services.”
Review of Abella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abella Hotel
Ranked #1,052 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 November 2017

They treat people in a very bad way without any respect.The color of the hot water is not transparant. The hot water sometimes not available. You may not have water at all in other times. The ceiling may have drops of water when there is rain. The fridge is not working. The food offered in the breakfast is rotten and damaged sometimes. They will not clean until you ask them and even when they clean, they will not clean very well. You could hear everything happnening in the next room very well. Very poor internet covarage. The room is very small unlike the pictures. There are insects in the room. They will not let you take your breakfast in the roof as they promised but rather in the underground floor. They mentioned that they will give you a basket of fruits if you stay more than 3 days with them which didn't happen at all.

Room Tip: Terrible treatment and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jessy889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was an absolute nightmare. The worst hotel I have ever been to. I would give them zero stars. The most shambolic customer service. Disrespectful staff. Dirty rooms. Terrible smells. nasty food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Apart from the excellent location this was a terrible hotel.
The rooms are way smaller than you would expect, the water was freezing cold, the wifi worked only in the lobby, the rooms were not clean at all.

We were so excited initially thinking that breakfast would be served on the terrace with a great view, instead it was served downstairs in the pub by an extremely grumpy woman who took care of the cleaning and the cooking in the hotel. The breakfast was standard and the same thing was served everyday. The woman got pissed at every little thing like taking 2 forks or asking her to bring milk for your tea, it was incredibly annoying.

The manager's mood changed the second you pay for your hotel and he doesn't even know you after that. He's also an extremely moody man who charges you with the simplest things so beware. Extremely unfriendly.

Oh god the rooms!!

The wifi doesn't work anywhere except the lobby.
The water is freezing cold.
The woman decides when to give you free towels, this may also include 2-3 days if she wishes.
Room service depends on her mood.
The language spoken there is only turkish by the staff so good luck.
I dropped my earring under my bed by mistake and when I pulled it out, along with it came kilos of dust and dirt.
The handle of the drawer broke the day we came.
The cupboards don't have doors.
The fridge doesn't even work, I thought it was a stool the whole time.
We had 2 rooms and the television in one of the rooms wasn't working.
Oh and laundry is paid for extra!!

It was the worst hotel experience I've ever had for me and family.

The only advantage to it was the location. It was very close to the blue mosque.

Room Tip: Don't even bother going please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aitch2196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Booked this hotel through booking.com but was a total different story when we arrived.
On arrival we were shocked at the dated and low standard of the hotel compared to the amazing, outstanding pictures on booking.com.
The owner was very unpleasant and not concerned that he had advertised his old tacky hotel with 5* pictures.
We were a group of 15 and we were not aware that the apartment was not part of the hotel but an annex building, which meant we were seperated as a group.
The rooms had a damp smell, there was no AC in the apartment and the rooms in the hotel had AC but didn't work, the windows were not safe for children in the apartment and the shower was dirty.
There was a boiler with loose wires which could have been a safety hazard.
The apartment felt like we entered a dungeon and was not welcoming at all.
We fell for this hotel with good pictures and good location, the location is brilliant but the stay was very uncomfortable.
The place has not been updated for years.
Breakfast was very standard. Orange juice was packet juice not fresh and there was a very small selection of options.
We asked for scrambled eggs and were told to pay extra by the grumpy old lady who seems to be doing everything from the cleaning, cooking and running around the hotel.
I can not understand how some people have given this hotel good reviews,its completely deceiving to what is actually advertised.
I would NOT recommend this hotel.
We were glad we only stayed the one night to sleep, had we had booked longer we would definitely not have stayed another night.
The spectacular city saved our dull stay and the excellent location was perfect...... Sultan Ahmet was literally a two minute walk.........

Room Tip: Do not book any rooms they're all dull and unwelcoming!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sumy701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

So beautiful hotel !!! Situated in a really centre of great historical place. It takes two minutes to the Blue Mosque from the hotel. Rooms are clean. Persons are responsible. I suggest you to go there !!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This hotel is easy accessible as it lies right in the centre of Istanbul! We hired a twin room – I was there with my friend for shopping.Most of all by selection of hotel we were interested in a comfortable location for leisure after lasting promenades – i.e. get there fast and have a good sleep. At the evening we were pleasantly surprised that supper in hotel was at the same cost as in a city cafe and really delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lajohnsonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

To start the bathroom cubicle was broken..next day breakfast was served at 8.15 (even though we were promised 7.30 by a grumpy lady.) It was cold and stale.it was the same for all 3 days of our stay...even after we had informed them twice.
When we returned the our room was left open and was not even cleaned. Thanks to the lovely city and the people..my holiday was saved...otherwise the hotel was staff was discourteous to say the least. No one offered to help us with the bags..even though they saw a lady struggling

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank singhdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#539 of 1,175 in Istanbul
106 reviews
Sultanahmet
All Day Istanbul Hotel
All Day Istanbul Hotel
#634 of 1,175 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#985 of 1,175 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#497 of 1,175 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Air Boss Hotel
#1,032 of 1,175 in Istanbul
82 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#440 of 1,175 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:35 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abella Hotel is located in the embrace of history, the Blue Mosque, Higha Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkap Place, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome etc. and Sea-View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abella Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing