We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #109 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My first business trip happened to be in Istanbul, booked Ottoman Hotel Imperial based on positive reviews on this site also it's close to all the major attractions I thought I would have a chance to visit before I returned back but unfortunately time ran out.

It's a wonderful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, stayed for two nights , all positive, rooms are well prepared, good size bed, comfortable, clean, good wifi in the room. Good selection for breakfast. Would stay here again one day when I return back for a proper visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marissaongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    383
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
260
945
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location - it is near the tram, behind the Hagia Sofia and a quick walk to Topkapi Palace gate and everything else. A couple days I would pretty much roll out of bed at the last minute to hit the sights since it was so convenient. The hotel has a pleasant covered patio restaurant and indoor breakfast area - great on sunny days. The breakfast buffet has pretty good offerings including little simits, cherry juice and other turkish specialties along with western food - I ate way too many potato croquettes. Staff is friendly. If you are a light sleeper - I would definitely recommend requesting a room on the more quiet side. My room faced the street - I was fine with it since noise ended around midnight and wasn't that loud - but various noises included the tram running and club noise across the street. The location is off a small street on the left side of the Hagia Sofia (when you face the entrance gate), the same road that the tram runs on. I found that not too many knew the location on my first day - but once I was settled it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aeropostale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My friend and I absolutely loved this place and its wonderful Turkish hospitality. The staff were just amazing - charming, helpful and friendly.

It is in a fab location in the centre of the old town. It is a very short walk to all the main sights and close to a plethora of restaurants and cafes. It is also close to a tram stop if you want to travel to other areas of the city.

The rooms are nicely decorated with an ethnic flare, very comfortable and clean and our bathroom was large and well equipped.

The breakfast buffet was lovely offering a wide range of options. We ate so much that it kept us going all day.

A really special hotel, we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lundelunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a great hotel for a few reasons:

1.Top location- stones throw from all tourist sites.
2.Amazing staff.
3.Comfortable clean and nicely decorated rooms.
4. Luxury bathroom.

There is also a fabulous terrace, too cold for us to eat there but would be beautiful in the spring/summer.

Strongly recomended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idrisquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A terrific hotel slap bang in the middle of the historic district. I was really happy that it is so close to all the things I wanted to see, Hagia Sofia is on the doorstep and I had a great view from my room.

Nicely decorated rooms and very warm, I slept wonderfully.

Good bathroom and very clean, nice robe and slippers provided.

Superb staff, friendly and attentive and they really made you feel at home.

A professionally run hotel, all in all a first rate experience, would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Spent a wonderful few days in this hotel. The service by all staff exceptional and it is clear that the place is well managed and all the staff are well trained.

The building itself is very characterful and attractive, located in a small road facing the Aya Sofia. Much nicer than so many of the modern hotels around and has an intimate and friendly atmosphere.Our room was gorgeous and beautifully decorated in Ottoman stlye and I really appreciated the attention to detail.

Breakfast is served in the winter in a pretty room with a nice view, I am not sure what the building is but I think it is a school. Good breakfast with wide range of Turkish options for those that want something different.

About 1 minute walk from the hotel there is a wonderful outdoors cafe tucked away in a quite street which has little "booths" built into the hill. It is really cute and would recommend having a cup of tea and some shisha on your way home at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viegigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Throughly enjoyed our stay - what really sets this place apart is the perfect location. It was amazing to see the Hagia Sofia from our room which was about 100 yards away and all the other top attractions are a very short walk away.

Everyone were very friendly, from the people that were working the front desk, Ozgur and Erhan to the restaurant service staff Eren, all were very helpful as well.

Great rooms, in good size, comfy bed and a lovely bathroom, good breakfast, all you can ask for.

Strongly recommended. Thank you for making our visit to Istanbul an experience we will always remember.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pokerface4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,908 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#38 of 1,148 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,148 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing