We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great design hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #121 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great design hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the water. Ideal if you need to take a vapur to cross the Bosphorus. Tram 1 is only 15 minutes walk away. This tramline brings you directly into the center of old Istanbul for less than 1 euro.

The hotel is very trendy (like all W hotels) with very cool rooms. The staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    427
    186
    55
    18
See reviews for
149
527
113
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spectacular, Chic & Eclectic... these 3 words aptly describe the W Istanbul. Its Edgy Decor is evident as soon as you enter the premise. The entire Hotel is laced with Dazzling Pinks & Purples, which might be loud for some but was refreshing for me. W provides a very different Hotel Experience. It has everything that your typical 5 Star would have but yet its extremely different.

The Rooms are excellent too, especially the ones with the Cabana or the Terrace. The only thing they lack is a Bath Tub, otherwise they are full of modern gadgets & excellent amenities. The Suites offer a small balcony with a gorgeous view of the by-lanes.

The W lounge is the best Night Club & defines the Night Life in Istanbul. Okka Restaurant serves awesome food but the service is a bit slow. They don't have a pool in the premise but offer free usage of the Pool at Suada Club (Imagine a Pool between 2 Continents in the Bosphorus). They have an excellent Business Center slightly away from the main building.

The Hotel is located in a very Chic neighborhood which has excellent cafes & restaurants in its vicinity. Its walking distance from the Besiktas Market. Its away from the Old City but very close to Takshim / Istiklal Street & the Kabatas Pier & Tram Station.

I truly enjoyed the W Experience & would definitely recommend it to Istanbul Travelers.

Room Tip: They have various Types of Room. Opt for the one with the Cabana or the Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel location was away from the historic sites of Istanbul. Taksim Square and Sultanahmet are a short taxi ride away. The hotel is in a neighborhood with a lot of character. The rooms are classy and unique. I have stayed in several different types of rooms and the suites are amazing! The decor is consistent with local history making the experience even more amazing. I will highly recommend the hotel for couples looking to get away from the crowds and spend sometime in a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clickonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
649 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

When I arrived at the W hotel it was definitely what I expected. At first glance it seemed like an upmarket guest house. The tiny lobby bothered me only because I prefer big busy lobbies and all the buzz that accompanies such places. It takes a while to absorb the design and then begin to appreciate some finer nuances.
The room is comfortable and has mood lighting which is generally ok excepting when you want to put on some make up. Room service was fast and efficient and executed orders with speacial requests correctly.
The overall service was good nothing that one could complain about, but certainly not "anything anytime". I requested for some information on airline baggage regulations and they could not help.
The lack of tea/coffee facility in the room for me was a big let down. For us travelling from Asia this is a facility taken for granted and lack of it was very inconvenient.
Another thing missing is a full length mirror.
On the positive side is the location of the hotel, the surroundings are plush and magnificent

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was in a nice neighborhood and was very flashy. The bar seemed very hip, and the decor is all very modern. If you're single and traveling on business (i.e. someone else is paying), this might be a good place. Otherwise, it's a joke.

The bottom line: the design of the hotel was its downfall. The service wasn't perfect, but it was not the reason we will never stay at a W hotel anywhere again.

Here's the list of bad stuff:
1. The elevator was at the back of the building and we had to follow a maze past doors for "Talent Only" to find it.

2. We had to call the front desk to figure out how to turn the lights on. Really?!

3. Light switches are in stupid places, like behind doors or next to the bed. I shouldn't have to cross the room to turn on overhead lights when I first come in the door.

4. The bathroom lights are horrible for doing makeup or shaving.

5. The shower also required a call to the front desk.

6. The cold water in the sink came out piping hot. After they came to fix it, it still came out hot and we were told to "let it run for 5 or 10 minutes until it comes out cold". Really?! This is in a country where water is in limited supply?!

7. The baby crib that was brought up for us was a cheap plastic folding thingie with no crib mattress. Our baby was miserable the whole trip until we finally figured out the problem and had her nap on the king bed the last day.

8. The restaurant features a breakfast buffet for 60 Turkish Lira per person, not included in room rate. Way too expensive.

9. We ordered off the (slightly) cheaper menu and found the food average at best, but with tiny, wannabe gourmet servings.

10. Service was slow, whether we were alone in the restaurant or among many other customers.

11. We asked for a high chair for our baby. While we waited, they took our drink orders. While my wife was standing around bouncing the baby, waiting for 10 minutes for the high chair, the staff wandered around the room and then brought us our drinks. And asked if we were ready to order. Still no baby seat! Really?!

12. Our final morning, we ordered the pancakes after overhearing another guest rave about them. One serving consists of two (2) coaster-size pancakes that tasted average at best, with two (2) sliced strawberries and half a banana, sliced. Plus a tablespoon of maple syrup. So chic, so modern, so gourmet. So average and overpriced, it was even more annoying that they didn't bring my wife her syrup and I didn't have enough for both of us. Then it took 15 minutes before I could flag a waiter down to bring her some. Really?!

13. I sipped coffee one morning in the downstairs lounge. The chairs are very modern, but totally uncomfortable, which pretty much encapsulates our whole experience with the hotel.

I'll be honest. We had a great time in Istanbul and I love Turkish people (partly because they were effusively affectionate toward my baby). The sights were great. The location of the hotel is a bit out the way for the major downtown historic sites, but it wasn't difficult getting around on public transportation. But the W Istanbul was a major downer. Every day we'd moan, "Oh no! Do we have to go back to the hotel again?!"

On a positive note, the concierge provided lots of helpful information on sites and options for first-time tourists like us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear W Guest,
We first of all want to sincerely apologize that your recent stay at the W Istanbul did not meet your expectations. We strive to create extraordinary experiences for our guests, and we obviously failed during your stay. You are right in the fact that we are a design hotel, and we understand that our blend of W and Ottoman design was not to your liking. The buildings were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace, and the W was built four years ago inside the original walls. This is why there are some unique design characteristics to the hotel. There are five light settings that you can choose from, sorry that you had trouble with this. In regards to the baby crib, we utilize a world-class, Starwood-approved crib which is chosen for its safety profile above all else. According to our safety protocol, we cannot pre-make the mattress and covers for you but are more than happy to assist if you have difficulties. In regards to the breakfast, the full buffet, which includes your choice of any made-to-order item, is 60 Lira per person including 18% VAT. There are also less-expensive options on our a la cart menu. We have already shared your breakfast experience feedback with the restaurant manager, as we take your feedback very seriously. We are delighted to hear that our concierge exceeded your expectations and that you liked the location of the hotel.
Warm regards,
The W Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I love Istanbul and all about this city, W hotel just adds to this experience. Innovative concept of hotels with unique design stories , loved it. Staff (talents as they are called) friendliness makes you feel more special.
Will go again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyskupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank You! We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you feel W Istanbul is the perfect place to stay in this incredible 24/7 city. Your comment about our W Talent (associates) means the most to us & we are so happy they were friendly to you throughout your stay. Our design is so special and unique and it is great that you appreciated it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please let us know when you are coming by sending an email to our W Insider, deniz.ozdol@whotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My experience here (overall) was pretty positive. The room was comfy, the people were friendly, the bath products were great... I loved the funky decor. We tried one of the restaurants (forgot the name but it had an elephant theme) and it was pretty good. Breakfast had a huge selection. My only complaint was that when we arrived, the cabana (we booked the marvelous room and these have private cabanas) was still covered in tarp, which I guess they keep so as to protect the furniture when it rains, etc. When we asked someone if they could get the tarps removed, the guy initially said that during the colder months they kept the cabanas covered. Maybe the guy just didn't know what he was talking about (he actually wasn't someone at the front desk) , but THE MAIN reason to book this room is for the private cabana, and it was only October. not balmy, but definitely not that cold out. Anyway he eventually called to find out and got someone to come and remove the tarp.
We enjoyed hanging out on the cabana.
I'd say this was a fun place to try out. I wouldn't say it's the best value for money, but it's unique and fun and worth a try. Also it was interesting to stay in this area and explore the different neighborhoods along the Bosphorus... though maybe it's not the ideal location for someone visiting for the first time with a limited amount of time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear NY, NY!
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the W Istanbul and for sharing your feedback on your stay. Glad you loved the decor, the location, found the room comfortable, liked the cuisine at Okka (where breakfast is served) and found our W Talent friendly. We are sorry that the Marvelous Room Cabanas were not set up during your October stay. The cabana rooms are sold during the warm weather months, which in Istanbul is almost half the year. We cover them when the weather is cold, but you can always request to have the covers removed if the weather is suitable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the W in the near future.
Best regards,
The W Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#80 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#72 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing