We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Karakoy Rooms(Istanbul)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$420
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$397
US$356
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$151
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$585
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$122
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
747
470
204
64
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
470
204
64
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspg platinumw insiderhip hotelfabulous roomlocal callsbesiktas areadolmabahce palacehotels around the worldroom upgradehotel is locatedpublic areasrain showerturkeylocation is greatold cityasian sidetaksim square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spectacular, Chic & Eclectic... these 3 words aptly describe the W Istanbul. Its Edgy Decor is evident as soon as you enter the premise. The entire Hotel is laced with Dazzling Pinks & Purples, which might be loud for some but was refreshing for me. W provides a very different Hotel Experience. It has everything that your typical 5 Star would have but yet its extremely different.

The Rooms are excellent too, especially the ones with the Cabana or the Terrace. The only thing they lack is a Bath Tub, otherwise they are full of modern gadgets & excellent amenities. The Suites offer a small balcony with a gorgeous view of the by-lanes.

The W lounge is the best Night Club & defines the Night Life in Istanbul. Okka Restaurant serves awesome food but the service is a bit slow. They don't have a pool in the premise but offer free usage of the Pool at Suada Club (Imagine a Pool between 2 Continents in the Bosphorus). They have an excellent Business Center slightly away from the main building.

The Hotel is located in a very Chic neighborhood which has excellent cafes & restaurants in its vicinity. Its walking distance from the Besiktas Market. Its away from the Old City but very close to Takshim / Istiklal Street & the Kabatas Pier & Tram Station.

I truly enjoyed the W Experience & would definitely recommend it to Istanbul Travelers.

Room Tip: They have various Types of Room. Opt for the one with the Cabana or the Terrace.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel location was away from the historic sites of Istanbul. Taksim Square and Sultanahmet are a short taxi ride away. The hotel is in a neighborhood with a lot of character. The rooms are classy and unique. I have stayed in several different types of rooms and the suites are amazing! The decor is consistent with local history making the experience even more amazing. I will highly recommend the hotel for couples looking to get away from the crowds and spend sometime in a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clickonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

When I arrived at the W hotel it was definitely what I expected. At first glance it seemed like an upmarket guest house. The tiny lobby bothered me only because I prefer big busy lobbies and all the buzz that accompanies such places. It takes a while to absorb the design and then begin to appreciate some finer nuances.
The room is comfortable and has mood lighting which is generally ok excepting when you want to put on some make up. Room service was fast and efficient and executed orders with speacial requests correctly.
The overall service was good nothing that one could complain about, but certainly not "anything anytime". I requested for some information on airline baggage regulations and they could not help.
The lack of tea/coffee facility in the room for me was a big let down. For us travelling from Asia this is a facility taken for granted and lack of it was very inconvenient.
Another thing missing is a full length mirror.
On the positive side is the location of the hotel, the surroundings are plush and magnificent

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was in a nice neighborhood and was very flashy. The bar seemed very hip, and the decor is all very modern. If you're single and traveling on business (i.e. someone else is paying), this might be a good place. Otherwise, it's a joke.

The bottom line: the design of the hotel was its downfall. The service wasn't perfect, but it was not the reason we will never stay at a W hotel anywhere again.

Here's the list of bad stuff:
1. The elevator was at the back of the building and we had to follow a maze past doors for "Talent Only" to find it.

2. We had to call the front desk to figure out how to turn the lights on. Really?!

3. Light switches are in stupid places, like behind doors or next to the bed. I shouldn't have to cross the room to turn on overhead lights when I first come in the door.

4. The bathroom lights are horrible for doing makeup or shaving.

5. The shower also required a call to the front desk.

6. The cold water in the sink came out piping hot. After they came to fix it, it still came out hot and we were told to "let it run for 5 or 10 minutes until it comes out cold". Really?! This is in a country where water is in limited supply?!

7. The baby crib that was brought up for us was a cheap plastic folding thingie with no crib mattress. Our baby was miserable the whole trip until we finally figured out the problem and had her nap on the king bed the last day.

8. The restaurant features a breakfast buffet for 60 Turkish Lira per person, not included in room rate. Way too expensive.

9. We ordered off the (slightly) cheaper menu and found the food average at best, but with tiny, wannabe gourmet servings.

10. Service was slow, whether we were alone in the restaurant or among many other customers.

11. We asked for a high chair for our baby. While we waited, they took our drink orders. While my wife was standing around bouncing the baby, waiting for 10 minutes for the high chair, the staff wandered around the room and then brought us our drinks. And asked if we were ready to order. Still no baby seat! Really?!

12. Our final morning, we ordered the pancakes after overhearing another guest rave about them. One serving consists of two (2) coaster-size pancakes that tasted average at best, with two (2) sliced strawberries and half a banana, sliced. Plus a tablespoon of maple syrup. So chic, so modern, so gourmet. So average and overpriced, it was even more annoying that they didn't bring my wife her syrup and I didn't have enough for both of us. Then it took 15 minutes before I could flag a waiter down to bring her some. Really?!

13. I sipped coffee one morning in the downstairs lounge. The chairs are very modern, but totally uncomfortable, which pretty much encapsulates our whole experience with the hotel.

I'll be honest. We had a great time in Istanbul and I love Turkish people (partly because they were effusively affectionate toward my baby). The sights were great. The location of the hotel is a bit out the way for the major downtown historic sites, but it wasn't difficult getting around on public transportation. But the W Istanbul was a major downer. Every day we'd moan, "Oh no! Do we have to go back to the hotel again?!"

On a positive note, the concierge provided lots of helpful information on sites and options for first-time tourists like us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear W Guest,
We first of all want to sincerely apologize that your recent stay at the W Istanbul did not meet your expectations. We strive to create extraordinary experiences for our guests, and we obviously failed during your stay. You are right in the fact that we are a design hotel, and we understand that our blend of W and Ottoman design was not to your liking. The buildings were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace, and the W was built four years ago inside the original walls. This is why there are some unique design characteristics to the hotel. There are five light settings that you can choose from, sorry that you had trouble with this. In regards to the baby crib, we utilize a world-class, Starwood-approved crib which is chosen for its safety profile above all else. According to our safety protocol, we cannot pre-make the mattress and covers for you but are more than happy to assist if you have difficulties. In regards to the breakfast, the full buffet, which includes your choice of any made-to-order item, is 60 Lira per person including 18% VAT. There are also less-expensive options on our a la cart menu. We have already shared your breakfast experience feedback with the restaurant manager, as we take your feedback very seriously. We are delighted to hear that our concierge exceeded your expectations and that you liked the location of the hotel.
Warm regards,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I love Istanbul and all about this city, W hotel just adds to this experience. Innovative concept of hotels with unique design stories , loved it. Staff (talents as they are called) friendliness makes you feel more special.
Will go again...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lyskupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank You! We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you feel W Istanbul is the perfect place to stay in this incredible 24/7 city. Your comment about our W Talent (associates) means the most to us & we are so happy they were friendly to you throughout your stay. Our design is so special and unique and it is great that you appreciated it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please let us know when you are coming by sending an email to our W Insider, deniz.ozdol@whotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews