We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #748 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I stayed here for three nights in September and it was just about OK, but no more than that. It's located in a pretty poor area and it looks like it could do with some renovation.

On my way back, I was booked in for one night, but they made a mistake and so shunted me off to their sister hotel, the Grand Milan, which was even further from Sultanahmet , even more in need of some deep cleaning and definitely not to be recommended..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
15
22
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We chose this hotel for its location - a good walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, the famous Mosques (Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque) and other must-see areas in Istanbul. The room was ok, pretty clean and decent though quite small. The bathroom needed some fixing here and there (water leaked through the shower stall bec of some sealing problems). Breakfast was the same standard Turkish breakfast everyday. The staff were friendly. Free internet. The price is very reasonable. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel because of its value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank independencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

It's situated away from the tourist area. It's about a 5 minute walk uphill to the Grand Bazaar and a 15 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Haga Sofya. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The room was basic. A double size bed, small t.v, hair dryer, and had air conditioning. It was also quite clean. We are non-smokers and we didn't find the room smelled like smoke (according to other reviews listed).

The bathroom was small. After taking a shower there would always be a puddle on the floor. We asked to change rooms the first day we arrived because we thought it was an isolated case with our room, but we had the same problem in the other hotel room they put us in. We would have to put a few towels on the floor to soak up the water. The bathroom would smell moldy the rest of the night before the cleaning staff would come in the next morning to clean the room.

After a full day out in Istanbul, it was a little bit of a chore to walk back to the hotel since it was a bit outside of the tourist area. And because the hotel is outside the tourist area, it might be a little unsafe for single women travelers to walk downhill past all the men on the side streets. You could take a cab back to the hotel but we always walked since it was only a downhill walk from the main road.

Breakfast was included in the rate. The Turkish breakfast was always fresh and pretty tasty. Everyday the hotel would have a spread of boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, olives, luncheon meat, an assortment of bread, corn flakes, tea, coffee, orange drink, and water.

I would recommend this hotel if want to stay in a No Frills hotel and you don't mind the walk to and from the main tourist areas, but if my husband and I decide to go back to Istanbul, we would stay somewhere closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel with a friend recently for a week...From the moment we arrived there was trouble, First of all we were shown to our rooms which were right next to wide open door down the fire exit onto the street..V.dodgy!
Then after being told the hotel was full to capacity, we were finally shown 4(!) other available rooms..Eventually we settled and the rooms in fairness were clean..the only good point.All amenities listed were made up..No 24 hr room service, broken window (had to eventually sellotape it shut myself!), No safe in friends room, Toilet leaking, No minibar, ironing facilities..Also this is very noisy hotel..Walls are paper thin..The location was also very run down and supposedly unsafe , although we didn see any hassle..Good location for sightseeing, close to everything although bit of an uphill struggle for elderly people...I think the worst thing about this hotel though for me was the attitude of the staff..They weren't in the least bit helpful about anything....Wouldn't recommend this hotel or area..Istanbul beautiful tho..had great hol otherwise...

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NewShoes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2009

stayed in this hotel for a week , hotel was in ok location with regards to sightseeing street itself very dirty and some locals told us dangerous at night. no safe in room no mini bar no 24 hour room service , no airport transfer hairdryer in bad state, window in friends room would not close when first arrived shown two very bad rooms told reception we would like to move, very unhelpful at first but eventually moved us. had a great holiday in istanbul but wished i booked another hotel so badically would not recommed hotel .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireland93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This place isn't ideally situated, as there's a bit of an uphill walk to the Grand Bazaar and it's a ten minute stroll into the heart of Sultanahmet. Having said that, you won't find a better bargain on this side of the Golden Horn, and if you're happy to be out of the tourist melee then you could do a lot worse. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the water is hot and the showers powerful, the breakfasts do the job and the staff can't do enough for you. Very friendly, very kind, and made me endless cups of tea.

A handy tip: the Kumkapi suburban railway station is just minutes away if you take a shortcut through the fish restaurants across the road. You can get a train to Sirkeci and change to the tram system there, or in the other direction I think it goes all the way to the airport. Very handy if you're carting luggage and don't want to traipse up the hill.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Tayhan Hotel
#997 of 1,150 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#566 of 1,150 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,036 of 1,150 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#370 of 1,150 in Istanbul
206 reviews
My Home Sultanahmet
#705 of 1,150 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Fors Hotel
#589 of 1,150 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Cifte Gelinler Caddesi No: 10, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #748 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing