We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Would recommend 100%” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canberra Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Selcuk
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would recommend 100%”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

What a great choice of hotel.

I arrived in the evening to a warm, friendly greeting. My room was a very good size with great air con (much needed), a big and very clean bathroom with a nice powerful shower, and two balconies with really nice views from both. The bed was comfortable and I noticed there was also a TV in the room.

I spent some time in the lovely rooftop bar/restaurant, ideal place for the sunset and offering some fantastic views of Selcuk and the areas around it. I was having a steady evening, wanting to be up early the next day for sightseeing, so ate there and am glad I did! Meatballs with a massive mezze and some apple tea - gorgeous, really nice, and probably the cheapest restaurant meal I found in my time in Turkey!

Breakfast was good, mix of fruit, meats, bread etc and the owner sorted out my route (provided me with a guidebook too) around Ephesus and other places in the area for me. He also sorted out all my ongoing buses (I was heading down the coast from Selcuk) which was a massive help as I was struggling to find the best route. To top it, I was given a cup of tea and a lift to the bus station and pointed to the correct bus too (although the bus station is actually only a couple of minutes walk away anyway).

I was only there for one night but would happily go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank growlershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    58
    37
    16
    2
See reviews for
12
66
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was the first stop in a two week trip through Turkey and we were picked up from the train station (within 5 minutes of calling) by one of the brothers who run this centrally located Selcuk hotel. Savas and Mehmet take excellent care of their customers, ranging from working the kitchen with their friends to negotiating a rental car with/for us to driving us out to a great leather outlet. The hotel is older with smallish, simple rooms, but most have balconies and are well maintained. The rooftop restaurant was truly enjoyable, especially for dinners, where our first evening we enjoyed an amazingly prepared whole sea bream, somehow grilled and fried so it was crispy while moist (when we asked how it was prepared, the chef said he'd tell us, but he'd have to kill - an old joke that apparently translates across cultures - Savas then told us how it was prepared). This was probably the best seafood dish we had on the trip. We were also able to walk to the ruins from this hotel along a tree-lined path/sidewalk, which took about 30 to 40 minutes.. If you are looking for a high-end hotel, this is not the place for you but if you appreciate good customer service don't hesistate to stay at this place (and don't forget to order the sea bream).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cipindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We've been picked up from Selcuk bus station to hotel by the owner. The owner brothers were very friendly, and helpful. If you are going to take Onur air free shuttle bus to Izmir, this will be the perfect hotel. The free shuttle bus stops just across a tea garden from Hotel Canberra. I'd like to be back again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

CANBERRA HOTEL

After a long hot day explore the amazing ruins of Ephesus, it would be great coming back to a nice relaxing hotel but this wasn’t the case when returning to Canberra Hotel. Even though the location is great and the staff are pleasant the hotel itself was in poor shape especially the rooms.

The hotel is old and definitely on the very budget end. The rooms where poorly maintained and this was the case for most of the people of our group tour. The room size was standard and the bed ok with a dirty cover sheet. The room had a balcony however the door leading onto the balcony was broken, it did not lock al all, so security was an issue. The bathroom was worst off, it was terrible, it was dirty and had hair stuck in the drains in the shower and sink. The shower itself was in poor condition and the toilet, well using a squatter style could have been better. The front door of the room was an issue to it was very difficult to open and close, the doorknob needed definite replacing.

I must say my husband and I prefer not to relive this experience again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JazGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selcuk, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I vısıted the Epesos ın Selchuk yesterday(Jun 24), and ı stayed at thıs hotel. I was alone but thıs hotel was good to stay. It has good locatıon(nearby bus termınal), good command ın top terras cafe, free breakfast, and cheap prıce. It's not the best, but I am sure It can be a good choıce for famıly and backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yewswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The owner collected us from the bus station & took us back on the return journey even though it was in easy walking distance. The rooms are a lovely size, very clean & good value. The owner was very free with his advice on where we should go & the best time of day etc. It is impossible to find a negative thing to say about the Canberra.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Centrally located, close to the bus station, opposite the road from the museum, small walking distance from famous sight seeing places. Great friendly service, tastefully decorated spotless clean rooms, great views [had top floor corner room overlooking Selcuk], beds were clean with firm mattrass. The bathroom was spotless clean with good running hotwater and clean towels. Access to free internet. The beautiful views from the restaurant on the roof were an unexpected bonus of added joy to one's holiday. Watching the sunset while enjoying your meal and your friendly chef is preparing the next course for your dinner brings you in a holiday mode quickly- [his homemade Turkey's lentil soups are beautiful]. Staff were very friendly an went out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Services from Selcuk to other parts of Turkey are easy. I also loved watching the storks nesting on the old city walls. Your quality and friendly services speak for themselves to get good recommendations.

Room Tip: get a room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verstegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.6 km away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#9 of 30 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 km away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 30 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 km away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#13 of 30 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 30 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 km away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#21 of 94 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 30 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Property: Canberra Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing