We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people and so interesting”
Review of Kibbutz Lotan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kibbutz Lotan
Ranked #2 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Kibbutz Lotan is what they call a ecological Kibbutz. It is a cooperative Kibbutz situated in the Arava desert, about 30 minutes from Eilat resort city. I think it was started by some long haired hippies who wanted to get back to nature. They were very concerned about the environment, and recycling. This is actually the place where the environmental movement in Israel started.

So you can come down and take a tour of the place, and the nice people will show you around, and show you all the projects they are working on. The also have a school you can go to, I think it 4 or 6 wks long, where they teach you different ways to plant flowers, trees, herbs, etc. They raise chicken, and have perfected the building home with brick house. They have a compost toilet and demonstrate how it works. They play classical music in the bathroom!

For the people who come to study, they have little dome cabins they call home. It is such a cool little place. They have a place they call the tea room, where they cook and serve meals. We didn't eat with them, but whatever they were cooking smelt great.

If you are interested in getting back to nature, of interested in the environment, these is the place for you. Even if you are not interested in that stuff, it is still a neat place to check out.

We really enjoyed our visit because everybody was super nice and helpful. Check it out

Room Tip: NOTE: we didn't stay at the kibbutz lodging, we only visited the ecology center
Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank HelenS247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Kibbutz Lotan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2015

HI!
Lotan is a special place- worth visiting! Learn about the environment and how to protect it...very educational and lots of fun for adults and kids. Beautiful and charming atmosphere....artsy tea room where breakfast is served...had a very informative and incredibly interesting tour with Ariel - offered free with your overnight stay.
See the wonders that a small number of people have created with their own hands- you won't believe it! Ask to meet Mike- the man behind it all...
If you care about people, nature and a building a better future- this is the place to go!
The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable- with everything you need to relax and get a good night's rest... not luxurious- but that's besides the point anyway...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sratner2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I arrived just after the heaviest storms they've had in years - over a year's usual (desert) rainfall in a day. Another indication of changing climate, perhaps? But here on Lotan, an 'Eco-kibbutz', they are trying to do something about it. So you'll be comfortable, but don't expect excessive luxury. I stayed in one of their adobe rooms, which was cool, in both senses, with zero energy use! Friendly, welcoming and happy to assist and show you round the eco-facilities. The adobe teahouse is atmospheric and we had delicious vegetarian meals - I had the chard and cheese quiche with a delicious crisp dressed salad. I had dinner and breakfast (which were quite similar) in the kibbutz dining room, open to guests, and another way to meet the locals and experience their daily life.
The views, in the middle of the desert, were amazing. At sunset I climbed up the lookout tower and watched the colours change as the sun set. Incredibly peaceful, as we looked across to the red mountains of Jordan on the other side of the rift valley. And Lotan has amazing birdwatching and other nature opportunities, so it's worth making time for them. Just a 55km drive or 40 minute bus ride north of Eilat, it makes quite a contrast. The pool is fabulous but I didn't get a chance this time. Fluent English and various other languages - you'll never have a problem making yourself understood. I've been before and now know several of the kibbutzniks. I look forward to my next visit. Thanks everyone at Lotan!

Room Tip: One minute's walk and you're surrounded by views, but ask for a room with a view, if they ha...
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

This is a nice place to stay at! I've been here twice with my family. Rooms are nice, comfortable & clean. Breakfast at the tea house is great! The eco-tour at the kibbutz is interesting - both grow ups & kids enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

So I stayed for almost two months in the Bustan, self sustainable neighborhood on the Kibbutz as part of a Green Apprenticeship program. Learning and living so many life changing sustainable living principles and concepts. From making your own bio gas for cooking, to maintaining and using the compost toilets. Not to mention the kick of putting beans, a cake or lasagne in the passive solar oven to bake at 170 deg C.

All and all I had an absolute lovely time at Kibbutz Lotan. Very friendly staff and community members. Highly recommended to do the GA program or just a stop over for a few days on your way to Eilat.

The birdwatching and nature are also stunning around the Kibbutz. Arava desert hikes. Sand dunes. Walks to the date plantations and the donkeys. Stunning.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Sharne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

this is kind of an odd place to rate. it certainly isnt a hotel or motel by the typical definition. it also inst a kibbutz guest house. there is a clutch of small one story building in the middle of the kibbutz.

rooms: the rooms are very spartan. because of the local water supply there is a constant smell of sulfur everywhere. the kitchenette is very simple and really only has a kettle and coffee service, microwave and some plates and silverware. No milk. no fruit, nothing.

the pool: we liked the pool, it was fun. but it is no where like the pristine one on the website. it is in pretty bad shape and everything was covered with a small layer of dust and sand.

the food: wow, if you ever wondered what kibbutz food tasted in the 1940s go here. it was bland, bad and boring. i would have gladly forgone breakfast and brought my own instead.

the whole eco thing: well there is a bit of comedy there. i am all for trying to live better, but some of the stuff they do is actually making it worse. the bicycle powered washing machine which takes 45 minutes was particularly silly. they also have a bioreactor that collects methane that is certainly a major fire and explosion hazard.

the upside: well it is pretty close to timna and eilat. a lot less expensive that the places in eilat. it is empty enough good for me to stay with friends and enjoy hanging out.

bottom line: we will probably go again during the winter when it is less hot. we can use it as a jump off place for trips in the area. if you are a former and not used to old school kibbutz thinking then you really need to stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We have been in Kibbutz Lotan for one week and felt very comfortable in the aesthetic equipped room. The Kibbutz reflects the fantasy and the innovation of the members. There are many possibilities to keep yourself busy or to calm down off the heat in the swimming pool. Our son has worked there as a volunteer for half a year and we can imagine very well that he will return again and again to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eilat
49.5 km away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#37 of 61 in Eilat
142 reviews
50.0 km away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,215 reviews
49.6 km away
Sunset inn
Sunset inn
#3 of 54 in Eilat
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.8 km away
Kibbutz Eilot
Kibbutz Eilot
#15 of 54 in Eilat
43 reviews
11.4 km away
Ma'ayan B'midbar
Ma'ayan B'midbar
#1 of 1 in Yahel
9 reviews
49.5 km away
Motel Tsabar
Motel Tsabar
#35 of 61 in Eilat
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Lotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Lotan

Address: DN Hevel Eilot, Eilat 88855, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Eilat
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing