We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
77
83
70
48
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
83
70
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view from the roof old city armenian quarter common areas western wall volunteers david
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 317 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hostel is located in the middle of the Old City (in the Christian Quarter). As other reviewers have mentioned, it has a tight narrow staircase with a cave-like atmosphere. Ended up staying in a room with two other friends and had a great time.

The shower/bathrooms are very tight, but given that it is a hostel, it isn't too bad. We had a room at the top so the view was incredible, can't speak for any other rooms though.

Wifi was available but ONLY in the lounge area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astoriax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hostel inside seems like a cave, rooms and bathrooms are small and simple, and it all makes you feel like being in a fairytale. I liked the atmosphere, and the view from the roof (on which you can sleep on!) was amazing as the hostel is located in the centre of the Old City. I'd recommend this hostel to all young people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I booked into the hostel with a mate. Unfortunately they had no twin rooms so we ended up sharing a bed. As we were checking in we heard a couple complaining about bed bugs and sure enough the next morning we discovered some bites of our own. The views are great and there is something unique about hearing the mosque call to prayer with church bells ringing in the back round. However this did not make up for the hand held shower over the toilet and the general air of disrepair.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Located in the heart of the Old City. When entering first, feels like having arrived in a cave, dark lobby and rooms, but then up on the roof having a wonderful view over the old city.
Rooms are a bit overpriced, but hostel offers kitchen facilities, so what you spend more on the room is saved on dinner, which is pretty expensive in the Old City.
Got told on the phone I could pay with credit card, but once arrived they refused the card, apperently they do not accept cc, so have cash with you when arriving...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VieVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Our family went into this stay knowing full well that the Citadel was a youth hostel and thus had pretty low expectations. But if it wasn't for the amazing awe inspiring view from the roof top inside the gates of Jerusalem, where we slept on dirty 3in thick foam mattresses and sleeping bags, we would have been very disappointed.
The building is an old stone cave-like stucture which definitely adds to its appeal but it is not very clean. The bathrooms were full of filthy cleaning supplies and reaked of urine. Plus, to make matters worse, the showers (and I use this term lightly) were in the same stales as the toilets.
What upset us most of all is that they did not honor our reservation price! After traveling over 18 hours, we arrived at 1am in the morning with a pre-paid reservation in hand. BUT! the first thing we were told is that the internet prices are wrong and that our stay would be 25% higher than we had paid. Despite our extreme protest to being charged more than the reservation price, the manager would not listen to reason. Ans since we had no other choice, being is an unfamiliar foreign city in the middle of the night, we chose to stay. Furthermore, we were not allowed to pay with a credit card or US dollars but rather in Sheqals, (which we did not have, having just arrived) and held our pasports until we paid the remaining balance which we were unfairly charged, in FULL!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews