We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive low budget accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Impressive low budget accommodation”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in August 2011. The rooms are basic but clean. Beds were comfortable and sleep quality good. Staff were helpful. Kitchen available if you want to cook your own meals. Free tea and coffee available throughout the day. Nice deck outside. Happy with the price.

To find it, walk down Khan Al Zeit towards Damascus Gate. Look for the sign for the Hashimi Hotel. 20-30 metres further down are steps leading up to the left. You need to look hard. The steps are wide but there are stall holders on them and they are easy to miss. Go up the steps and you'll see another set of steps leading up to the Inn.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place was an amazing location just above the souq in the old city just a bit inside the Damascus gate.

The staff weren't overly friendly, but the breakfasts were great.

We had a private room and bathroom, and it was quite pricey. But the room was really adorable. Very clean. They also had a nice sunny deck which was a great place to relax and have a meal.

Would recommend because the location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for six nights. Rooms are a little like cells with high ceilings and very basic ablution (toilet/shower/basin) facilities. A fan was essential and fortunately there was one. Breakfast was tasty and adequate with pita bread, jam, butter, hummus, coffee. I found staff friendly enough - bearing in mind they are devout Muslims, they are not likely to be looking for drunken teenyboppers as guests. Treat them with respect, they will treat you with respect. They desperately need to put up a prominent sign down in the souq, since the only way you will otherwise find this place in the chaos is by having to ask stallholders. Despite how it may appear on a map, you will have to walk here from one of the Old City gates, no possibility of taking a taxi.

I had no problems with noise, neighbours or anything of that kind. It was safe and the price was very economical. That said, I did think they could have emptied the bin in the room at the very least on a daily basis.

So, no frills, backpacker type place, perhaps for more mature visitors.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaricUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveller
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We actually stayed in March 2009.

The best thing about the Golden Gate Inn is the location. On a busy souq right in the old part of Jerusalem. Great to walk out the door and just be in the center of the action. Yet in the inn the walls are thick enough to keep out the market noise.

Besides the location though I don't have much else to say that is good. The rooms are caves. Clean yes, but very basic for the price. The breakfast was lacklustre. The staff was rude. And we arrived at 2 in the morning after a very long flight. We had prearranged through numerous emails and even skype calls that we would be arriving that late and were guarenteed someone would be there to let us in. They were not. We spent a very long time pounding on the door till we finally woke up guests that let us in. Then we had no room as they had booked us in for the next night. Very frustrating.

Unfortunately though this was the best we could find in the price range (which I thought was very high for a hostel). We had plans to return to Jerusalem so after our bad start at the Golden Gate, we spent our first day looking for some place else to stay. We checked out a whole bunch and honestly could not find anything as good - plus they all wanted even more money.

My take in the end, was this is the best of a bad lot. We stayed our original booking of three nights here, then changed our travel plans so we did not return to Jerusalem. So as much as I was not impressed I still have to recommend it as we could not find anything better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

There are several things I value when travelling and a quiet room is one of them. I thought that booking a private room would ensure me of this, and thought my choice was a good one considering the sign that asked for silence when in the accommodation part of the Inn.

However, there were many long term residents who resided here as well - and normally there is no problem with that. The problem was that some of the younger children and teenagers thought that chasing each other around the halls at night and shouting was an enjoyable pastime. During one such game, someone even tried to enter my room thinking it was empty - thank goodness the door was locked. Banging on the walls was another pastime for some people and this continued until late in the night. I don't mind people talking in corridors or even some external street noise, but using the inn as a place for games is totally unacceptable. It made sleep impossible until nearly midnight on two of the evenings during my six night stay.

The room itself was basic and small, with extremely high ceilings and an attached bathroom that was placed in as an afterthought - it was really just a series of solid partitions that reached just over head high jutting into one side of the room. It had a television which provided some entertainment when resting after a busy day of sightseeing.

The great benefit of this is the location and the price - very reasonable for Jerusalem. Even though the room was basic, I've stayed in far worse, so could bear that considering the cheap price I paid. However, the noise issue was intolerable, and it is for this reason I shall not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Golden Gate Inn was an excellent choice for our trip Jerusalem. They have a great location (just inside the Old CIty, by Damascus Gate). The rooms are clean and bright. The staff were very friendly and helpful - for example, we wanted some 'Western" style coffee and accidentally purchased Arabic coffee with cardamon. The manager bought us some fresh, western coffee and brewed it for us. They have a communal kitchen, which can use a bit of a face-lift. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay here. It's good value for money in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

For the price and location, you can't beat the value of this place! Tucked away behind the busy souq in the Muslim Quarter, you could not be in a better position to have an authentic Jerusalem experience.
The rooms and bathrooms are basic but clean and comfortable and there is a range of price choices depending on whether you want a private room, dorm etc.
There is a comfortable common area with TV where a free breakfast is provided every morning. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#5 of 59 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Property: Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing