We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service on the phone”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service on the phone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Two days ago, I called on the King David Hotel, which is one of the oldest hotels in Jerusalem
I expected to find welcome
On the phone inquired about the health club
But the receptionist that answered the phone said only p hello!
Without any welcome
Boring voice!!
Asked her the question of the health club and were not have the answer!!!
And took me to someone else and asked him the question of the health club and also did not have the answer
And then took me to the person I spoke to him and parties.
I felt that he make fun of me
I was talking with him and was laughing constantly provocative manner!

I do not know if this is the King David Hotel, one of the oldest hotels in Jerusalem have this type of workers who do not have the skills to talk customers

After all that has happened to me I will tell my friends and my relatives not to come to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at The King David, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
We have read your disconcerting commentary with much attention, whereupon a thorough investigation has been held vis-à-vis the operator and the Health club which is managed by an external supplier on commercial basis.
We assume that the incident took place on February, 23rd (on February 25th you wrote that you called the hotel operator 2 days ago).
It is important to mention that the operators working on the date mentioned are senior and highly professional, which makes the impolite behavior described by you quite doubtful. This is even more so as far as Health Club is concerned. In fact, it is of their prime interest, as an external supplier, to provide the best service to the Hotel guests, since there is no access to this facility for outside visitors.
Having said that, it is of utmost importance for us to investigate the issue in depth, in order to learn from occasional mistakes and eventually improve our service.
Therefore, we will be most grateful if you could kindly identify yourself by contacting the hotel directly and help us target the assumed faults in a constructive manner.
Respectfully,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    200
    80
    35
    18
See reviews for
419
479
79
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The stories about this hotel history, interesting stories, fascinating stories and breathtaking!
Important people who were staying in, the events that happened there....
I do not know if there are special hotel like this!!!
The reception staff, food and beverages and great simple household One league above the rest!!!
Thank you so much!!!
xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Best hotel that I have stayed at in Jerusalem, great service, great rooms, great views, great hotel! Not sure I am going to to the greatest job at selling this place but it is by far my most favorite place to stay when in Jerusalem hands down. Its close to everything, heck if you never leave the hotel its great! The view of the old city is incredible, I think presidents have stayed here. (seriously)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdkk_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Another fantastic stay at The King David Hotel. Best place to stay in Jerusalem - amazing restaurants, fantastic service (from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave), staff who remember you if you've been before, beautiful rooms and view of the Old City. Great location, amazing breakfast! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible for an Old City view, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LECH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in Jerusalem, I come often because my son is a student at the Hebrew-U, any way no other hotel can even get close to their service, rooms standards and all other facilities. The King David is just, From now on only the King David for me.

Room Tip: worth the extra $$$ for the old city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davlinLech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A unique hotel, conveniently situated with outstanding service and excellent facilities. I enjoyed every moment of my stay at the King David and only regret I did not spend more time within the hotel grounds and complex. The spacious room was matchless and the vast bathroom provided every facility imagineable - and more. The beds were so comfortable and the air conditioning quiet and thoughtfully situated that a wonderful night's sleep was guaranteed. It's the only place where I have stayed that when an iron and ironing board is requested the staff member insists on doing the ironing for you! I was there during a state visit and the President and his entourage were resident in the hotel. Despite my concerns this did not affect the standard of services I received nor were guests denied access at the times when the President was expected to enter or leave the hotel. For many years this was the only 5 star hotel in the Middle East and it deserves every one of them.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel for views of the pool and grounds plus the old city walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here and both times it was excellent.

If you want a hotel with some class, style, great service and history stay here. It is four blocks walking from the Jaffa Old City gate and close enough to the downtown Jerusalem shopping and dining district.

The staff are very friendly and the service excellent. Roni and his staff were extremely helpful to our delegation and made the weeks stay the best experience.

Request a room facing the Old City, it is worth a bit more but worth the experience of waking up to this historic place.

The stay offers a free buffet breakfast, which is second to none.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#10 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing