We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of Calm in a Bustling City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Oasis of Calm in a Bustling City”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Some people thrive on a city's noise, traffic and energy. For the budget traveller who visits Jerusalem but who doesn't want to endure the noise, this is the place. Located outside the city, at the edge of Jerusalem's up-and-coming trendy neighborhood of Bakah, it's a little oasis. The adjacent restaurant and patio are great for relaxing after pounding the pavement of Jerusalem. As a jogger I was thrilled with nearby "trails" (the bike path that splits Bakah with the German Colony; Yehuda St. simply going East turns into a path that borders the "Peace Forest" and offers extraordinary views. That jog will go past the UN headquarters, and UN staff stay at Little House frequently, adding to the Intl. feel. Thriving and vibrant streets Beith Lechem and Emek Refaim are in walking distance. You can walk to the old city if you're in good condition, or take a taxi or bus. My only issue with this place is that (and as per other posters) the building's plumbing is in serious need of an upgrade and consequently some rooms' bathrooms smell like mold. I eventually had to change rooms as a result.

Room Tip: Travel during non-peak season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightSweetCrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    135
    46
    21
    16
See reviews for
113
99
68
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It's a nice place to stay. Good service, clean and comfortable rooms, good location (though you'd better get a car, because is quite far away from the main Jerusalem attractions), but... they could serve a better breakfast. The food was not good, neither the service at dining room (which was not a real dining room, but a dirty and dark corner at the end of the neighbor bar)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Shalom Ladies,
What looked really bad was the bad paintwork. The painter had not used masking tape, and consequently there was lots of paint on the stone and windows. It looks awful, and it was the first thing that I noticed in the entrance.
The building has character and could look attractive, but the finish was very poor.
What a pity, as it looks very third world.
In the restaurant, the chrome, paper tissue containers on the tables were filthy, and had not been cleaned in years. We would have eaten there, but looking at the paper tissue containers was frightening.
Basically, the hotel needs to employ a professional, from abroad, who really knows how to run a hotel.


Byeeeeeeeee,
Ron

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

While we take our guests feedback and comments seriously, I find your comment a bit odd.
The two small things that bothered you were a few drops of paint on a window and a paper dispenser.

Our hotel is located in a beautiful Ottoman building which gives it a historical charm.
We paint the building very often, therefore sometimes there might be a few drops of paint on a stone.
It is only due to the high maintenance of the building.

Regarding the napkin dispenser at the restaurant, I agree that it should be clean daily.

I simply find it hard to believe that these two minor things made your stay unpleasant.
Our rooms at the hotel are clean, the restaurant servers great food and we have a helpful staff that I'm sure would've be glad to assist you.

Best Regards,
Oded Niv, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Located 35 minutes walk from the centre of Jerusalem, this little guesthouse is full of charm. The staff are excellent and the rooms are comfortable. The area around the hotel is refined - some fantastic restaurants around.

Room Tip: Grapes and Oranges are better than Plums - the way the rooms are named.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndodocLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed 3 nights at the economy room, located on the lower level. Its size is really small, as the room's name and price indicated, however, the room was very humid, which triggered a brething allergy for me.
Breaksfast wasn't good for me either. I didn't have a good experience with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
I agree with the guest that Economy rooms are less nice then our regular rooms, but Economy rooms are very clean, dry and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I've stayed at this Little House a dozen times, and each time it gets better. Rooms are modest and modestly priced, but clean. I particularly like not having carpet on the floor; It gives me a better feeling of cleanliness.

Polly, the attached restaurant, offers good breakfasts (included with the room) and very good lunch & dinner menus. Internet is now fast, free and reliable,

I love walking around the German Quarter, and the hotel is within a short walk of many nice restaurants. The walk (or short cab-ride) to Jerusalem's Old City is another part of the draw.

There is no parking lot at the hotel, but on-street parking is pretty easy to find nearby (park in a section with unpainted curbs).

This would not be an ideal choice for business travel, particularly if you need printers or other business center services. But for friends or family, it's a good value in a unique historical setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Org-farmer-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel is about 2-3 miles outside of the old city. It is in a reasonably quiet area with exception of the obvious traffic outside. The hotel has an up market bed and breakfast feel - which is not a criticism. It is clean and whilst basic (no frills) is perfectly suitable for people needing a base from where to tackle Jerusalem. The hotel has a restaurant attached to it where you can eat and also where your breakfast is served. Unfortunately our room was directly next to this restaurant and so we did suffer from some noise until after midnight. But, we did go for the cheapest of the rooms and it didn't really spoil our stay. Overall I would return to this hotel - maybe next time requesting a room away from the Restaurant. I would definitely recommend a meal at the Restaurant too! No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevWardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
454 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 98 in Jerusalem
295 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
1,267 reviews
Shamai Suites
#33 of 98 in Jerusalem
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing