We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights during Passover week just after Easter 2012. We had no trouble getting rooms beside each other: my wife and I in one, and my sister and 14 yr old daughter in another. The rooms were basic, e.g. no coffee maker, but clean and they have a safe and a little fridge which is very convenient. We falsely accused the staff of stealing my sister's Kindle, and the manager took us very seriously and got the head of security on the phone right away (it was the start of Passover II and he had gone home). He recommended we take a look in the safe and elsewhere: we found it under the bed. I was impressed with their professionalism. The old man mentioned in other reviews is occasionally in the lobby, but I can't imagine anyone being bothered by him. I got a free Jerusalem Post and International Herald Tribune in the lobby in the morning. Oddly, they need bigger sheets for the beds, but the beds were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful. We bought tickets for the Passover II meal because although not religious we don't eat bread on that holiday and we didn't want to find and deal with a non-kosher restaurant that night. The dinner was very well attended and the food was good and the staff found us another table when we didn't like our assigned seats. The breakfasts are also good. Parking is limited and tight, but we got a space and left the car for our stay. The location, beside the YMCA and across from the King David Hotel is the best: an easy walk to the Old City and downtown and about 25 minute walk to Emek Raphaim St. - i.e. the trendy German colony. We definately will come back.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the east side with a view of King David St. They are quiet and nice even though we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA_Kennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for five nights at the end of March 2012. The location is the big advantage - 15 minutes walk to the Jaffa Gate and the Old City but also only 10 minutes to the tram stop outside city hall and the Jaffa Road for the modern city. The bus stop for the "round the city" tourist bus is just round the corner and there is a 24 hour small supermarket near by.

Hotel does the basics ok but is expensive (as all central Jerusalem hotels seem to be). The restaurant does breakfast on the usual Israeli self service format but only seemed to be open for meals in the evening on Friday (which is quite an important advantage as most restaurants are closed in Jerusalem on a Friday evening so it could be useful to eat in the hotel on that evening - we walked into the Old City and found a Christian owned restaurant open). The reception seemed busy and our electronic room keys failed several times (but were reprogrammed by reception each time without undue hassle).

If you can't afford the King David hotel (which is very close by) this may be your option if you just want to see the sights and sleep somewhere decent. There is a very high quality restaurant close by - the 1868 restaurant - if you want to splash out for one evening.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Clean rooms and great location in the heart of Jerusalem near the Jaffa gate. Breakfast buffet was adequate - good selection, but the food in the heating trays had stayed there just a bit too long. The rooms were comfortable though not necessarily roomy. Polite service that were very helpful. All in all, a positive experience and a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We did not book a hotel as we were driving around country and did not know when we will get to Jerusalem. We called a lot of hotels after returning the car before we got to this one (Surprising given this is right opposite Hertz). Spoke with a girl (did not get her name - sorry) at front desk. She offered a choice that was not cheap but worked out really well for us as we also had 2 kids and we need early check in and late checkout.

Hotel is conveniently located near Jaffa Gate (Opposite the pricey for no reason King David hotel).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bratman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Wir verbrachten drei Nächte im Eldan, Flug nach Tel Aviv, dann Sherut direkt zum Hotel. Der Empfang war herzlich, wir bekamen ein schönes Zimmer (nach hinten) und viele gute Ratschläge - ein Super-Tipp war die Freilichtaufführung am Abend bei der Stadtmauer. Eine grosse Überraschung war das Frühstück - das Buffet war ausgesprochen vielfältig und geschmacklich top, mit frisch zubereiteten Gerichten, die täglich variierten. Ausserdem gab es noch eine supergünstigen Deall mit Rabatt für das Mietauto für unsere Fahr ans Tote Meer inkludierte.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryokoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed at the Eldan with a group from UK . Lobby , restaurant and rooms very dated . Had problem with electricity in our room but on informing reception it got sorted
with minimum fuss ( 2 key cards
In the electricity slot meant for one ) and it worked .
Breakfast at Eldan a bit boring compared to our hotel in Netanya , why do Israeli hotels provide a ghastly orange and lemon squash , not even a juice , let alone a fresh one !
Room clean , skinny bath , no decent toiletries . Bed fine , our room had nice view of fire escape !
Main reason to stay here is it's position , opposite the king David
hotel, 5 mins walk to Mamilla Mall , worth going to if only for the magnificent sculptures on sale .
Walk through the mall and you arrive at Jaffa gate , entrance to Old City .
Staff don't get red rosettes for friendliness but they were pleasant
enough ... Overall Eldan is place to sleep in , not to spend the day in ,
It's Ok , and that's it basically ..

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We saw this hotel in the upper end section of the Lonely Planet, and figured that it would be quite nice. However, upon arrival they had lost our booking, and the two girls behind the desk were beyond rude about it, as if it was our fault. We then returned back there hours later to the room they claimed was 'one of their biggest' as it was for 3 adults, and saw the room in which we could not even lay out suitcases out in. It was also dark, dirty and extremely depressing to be in. We ended up paying for the first night but leaving and finding other accommodation - I would not recommend to anyone who appreciates good service and a nice atmosphere

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_bug0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
649 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#17 of 100 in Jerusalem
613 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $173 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing