We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lev Yerushalayim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lev Yerushalayim
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

After staying at Lev yerushalayim I liked it so much I bought an Apartment in the Complex. The staff are excellent the location superb and it is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin18Jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    77
    32
    22
    18
See reviews for
89
34
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Could not be better situated.
Rooms are dirty and poorly equipped. Staff are not friendly.
Do not disturb signs are ignored as the cleaning and maintenance staff try to hound you out of your room prior to check-out time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvivOrenstein, Manager at Lev Yerushalayim, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
it is very difficult to check such a respond without name of the guest or room number or gates of stay.
lev yerushalayim hotel staff do the best to give our guests the best value for their money
lev yerushalayim classified as 3+ stars apartement hotel and we are not pretend to be more than what we really are, but we do keep our apartements very dlean and maintend them in a good condition all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Baltimore, US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is located within a 25-minute walk from the Jaffa Gate of the Old City. The staff speak English and were helpful. The included breakfast was quite impressive.

We stayed in a suite, which was somewhat dated. The rooms could use a face lift and probably deserve a solid 3-star rating only. Wi-fi access is not free.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We just got back from our Israel trip yesterday. Stayed at LevYerushalayim for 8 nights- 6th floor "penthouse" which is basically a 2 room apt (with 2 bathrooms- one ensuite and the second bedroom has a sink/shower in it with the toilet off the living area. Our apt. faced King George Street. Almost no problem with noise-we slept with windows open because it was nicer than using the ac. Rooms were basically clean.Beds (2 twins pushed together) were very comfortable. They came in every day to make the beds/empty trash/change towels/supply toilet paper. Don't think they did any cleaning but we were 4 people in our 60s and didn't make any mess, so I can't tell.Since we booked privately, our unit was supposed to have 2 sets of dishes/utensils/pots. Weren't there when we got in but were brought up the next day. If you are more than 4 people, you would have a problem since there is 4 of everything. Would have loved an ice cube tray but there was none and I wasn't about to spend 17 shekels for one that made 6 ice cubes. Would have been nice to have a sponge to clean counters/table-tey use a squeegee.Main room had a plasma tv and our master suite had an older regular tv. There is a fairly good supermarket almost next door. Where it says City Cellar-you go down and you will find the market.Even better-go to the Mehane Yehuda market-unbelievable fresh food there.
Was very apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor.

Everyone at the Lev was very helpful and courteous. The location is the best since we could walk out to eat (found some lovely restaurants in walking distance). Then we could walk back on the Ben Yehuda pedestrian mall and people watch. We went through many different neighborhoods with our guide and I think Lev's location is excellent. There is a double flight of stairs to walk up from King George Street but we walked around to the back plaza and avoided all stairs-also told our car service drop off/pick up to use this way or there is no way to get all the luggage out. They have a Sabbath elevator and a regular one so it was no problem.

Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marjim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

After reading some positive reviews but also some very negative reviews, we were very apprehensive about staying at the Lev. We were very pleasantly surprised with our stay. As everyone has indicated, the location is spectacular, right across the street from the top of Ben Yehuda Street and next to a supermarket and a major department store. In general, the room was actually a small studio apartment with a refrigerator and a microwave. Our room was clean enough and had a safe. It faced a courtyard, so there was not a lot of noise from outside. The bathroom had a huge medicine cabinet. Most of the staff we dealt with was friendly and helpful.

More specifically, some positive and negative comments:

Hotel Room – As indicated above, our room was satisfactorily clean. It had a refrigerator and microwave, which came in very handy, since the hotel does not provide a complimentary breakfast, and the meals that are served at the hotel are a bit expensive. The bathroom had a good sized counter and a huge medicine cabinet.

Staff – When we first checked in, the young lady at the front desk was not unfriendly; she just didn’t know anything and didn’t seem to care to find anything out. The man who worked at the front desk later that evening and for a couple of days after that was very helpful and gave us information about parking and money exchange. He said the young lady was probably new, but he didn’t seem inclined to give her the information she could use to help hotel guests. Other front desk staff, as well as the cleaning staff, were friendly and helpful enough. We did not have the room cleaned each day, but only did towel exchange, and the staff was very accommodating.

Parking – The hotel’s website gives the impression that there is parking at the hotel. In fact, there is a garage next to the hotel that closes at 9:30pm and is totally closed from Thursday night through Sunday morning. Fortunately for us, we arrived on Thursday night after the garage had closed or we may not have known that they would not reopen until Sunday morning. This would have been disastrous since we needed to drive to a Bar Mitzvah on Friday night and Saturday morning. The parking lot close to the hotel costs about $23 per day. We were very fortunate when we stopped someone on the street to ask him to read the parking lot sign for us, and he told us about a free parking lot about a 12-minute walk away, which we used for the six days that we stayed at the Lev.

Hotel Room Security – We had read some reviews about money disappearing from the room, but we found that the rooms now have a free safe, which worked very well for us. The door does have only one lock that doesn’t seem too secure, but we had no problems with doors not locking, as some other reviewers have discussed. The hotel provides only one regular key for each room, which the guests are asked to leave with the front desk when we leave the hotel. We accidentally left our key in the room. When we got back to the hotel late on Friday night, the security man, who was working his first day on the job, was given a large ring of keys which was supposed to contain a master key, and told to try to open our door. Initially, neither he nor we could find a key to open the door, but he was so nice and apologetic, and he tried so hard to help us that we certainly couldn’t complain about him. We were starting to panic because it was Friday night and no cleaning staff were available with master keys. The security man made phone calls and got additional information and advice from his superiors, and eventually, after about ½ hour, we found the right key on the large key ring. Although this was a problem created by the hotel’s somewhat antiquated system of door locks, we could not fault the staff’s response and attempts to help us.

Noise – As we indicated above, our room faced a courtyard, not a busy street, so we had very little problem with outside noise. However, as other reviewers have discussed, the hotel does nothing to control the young people who stay there over Shabbat and yell back and forth to each other in the hallways and make a lot of noise. We have stayed at other hotels where a lot of young people (sports teams, etc.) stay, and the hotel posts signs requiring appropriate behavior and sends personnel to make sure that there is not a lot of noise in the hallways.

All in all, the Lev is probably the best value in the area, because it is more than just a hotel room. We were very happy with our stay and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard rather than the busy street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60PlusCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Discusting, filthy dirty. Bed sheets too small for bed. sheets came off every night (uugh).
Was afraid to touch anything it was so dirty. Had to wear shoes in the shower and on floors.
First day my son had chocolate pudding and dumped the rest in the sink. It was still there 3 days later even though they supposedly clean everyday. Very religious people stay there so if your not religious would advise against it. Also wasn't allowed to check in until after 10:00pm because it was shabbat. Had no where to go or nothing to do. Really sucked. Also very noisy at night windows are paper thin. Worst place I have ever stayed at. Needs to be torn down and rebuilt. Only good thing was location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
none
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Lev Yerushalayim hotel is, as its name implies, located in the heart of the city center of the City which is the spiritual epicenter of the world. An unusual variety of buses are located on one side of the street down from the hotel or the other, and transport passengers almost anywhere within the city, with a free transfer. The 38-Aleph bus takes one to the Western Wall; it is a smaller van-like bus capable of navigating the [Old] City's streets. Buses are moderately air-conditioned.

The city center provides ample opportunities for purchase of anything one might reasonably require, including cell phones, Internet access, word-processing, currency exchange, and an extraordinary variety of eateries, all of which appear to have valid Kashruth certificates, with the lone exception of the McDonald's. Almost all places of business are reasonably well air-conditioned. Prices are roughly 5-10% below New York prices which is attributable to the high demand for being at the epicenter of the world. Transportation between the hotel and the airport is available by taxi (expensive) or shared mini-van (affordable).

The hotel itself is composed of suites, with a bedroom with a door, a living room/kitchenette, and a full bath with a door. Suites are reasonably well air-conditioned, the plumbing is superior, and the bedroom closet includes a private safe. In other words, everything one might reasonably want.

Breakfast and Shabbat meals can be ordered (pre-ordering breakfast is highly advisable) and are reasonably priced, tasty, and ample.

There are also two computers (with Internet access) most advisably rented only in bulk or during late night hours, a filtered water dispenser (hot and cold) with plastic cups provided gratis, and two elevators in the entrance/lobby. The former items are covered on Shabbat and the elevators are set to Shabbat mode with the preferred option of staircases for those able to use them easily available. There are at least three synagogues within very easy walking distance.

I am told that there are two additional computers in the sixth floor, although I have not seen them.

The staff (kitchen, cleaning, front desk, and managerial) are, taken as a whole, quite helpful, and an armed security guard is on duty at all times. Problems and concerns are normally addressed both promptly and effectively.

Because the hotel lacks such frills and extravagances as concierge and room services, it remains affordable, as well.

Bottom line: I would love to return.

Room 305

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank P Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#20 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Shamai Suites
#23 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Hillel 11
#38 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#36 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
#65 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Hotel Prima Palace
#44 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lev Yerushalayim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lev Yerushalayim

Property: Lev Yerushalayim
Address: Rehov King George 18, Jerusalem 91079, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lev Yerushalayim 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the center of town. Within walking distance of shopping and business areas, historical sites and cultural centers of Jerusalem. All suites and penthouses have one or two bedrooms,a living room, kitchenette, dining area, air conditioning, cable TV, radio and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lev Yerushalayim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lev Yerushalayim Hotel Jerusalem
Lev Yerushalayim Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing