We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Private and totally secure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosary Convent Guest House and Hostel
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here! Jerusalem is an amazingly vibrant, busy and fairly noisy city, it really was a joy to be able to come back to such a peaceful and sheltered dwelling at the end of every day to relax and sleep well before the next days adventure!

The guest house is part of a large convent complex, complete with arched high ceilings, period decor, museum style historical pieces in cabinets that show the life and history of the early convent from inception up to modern times, a beautiful church and even a pretty little formal garden with paths, gates and statues. All of this is enclosed behind high outer walls with a secure front gate that you buzz when you wish to come back in. The amazing this is that with all this, you are still only a few short blocks walk from the old city of Jerusalem and actually we were happier staying outside the old city.

We found the Guest House totally charming and the staff were very helpful too. Whether we needed advice about how to get somewhere, where to shop or eat, which tour might be good or to book a taxi, no matter what our query they were always there with the answer and assistance.

Breakfast was very typical of Israel as well, cereals, breads to toast or have as rolls, scrambled eggs or hard boiled, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, home made jams, yogurts, cheeses etc. Most places we stayed had similar offerings and it was good and fresh here too.

We stayed in winter and the ceilings are high, the walls thick stone, so the building can be a bit cold. However our room had a modern reverse cycle air conditioner / heater. So we really weren't bothered by the cold at all, we were able to keep the room well heated when needed or turn it down and use more blankets, depending on preference.

The rooms all have single beds that are simple, but nice sheets, towels and furnishings and everything is clean and pretty. The bathroom wasn't huge, but again it had all we needed and the hand held shower head was a bonus. It took a while for the hot water to arrive up to our room and I felt bad about wasting water meanwhile, but there was always plenty of hot water available and it made for a good shower experience.

I took my own laptop and there was free WIFI in the main sitting rooms of the Guest house, so that worked well. Lots of comfy sofas and period pieces made the atmosphere quaint and welcoming. There is also a small kitchen for quests to use were you can make free tea and coffee and also do a bit of simple cooking on a hot plate and in the microwave, so that was a bonus on a few occasions when we didn't feel like going out to eat.

The price was modest compared to other nearby hotels and we felt it was excellent value! I couldn't find any online booking, so ended up calling directly. The sister I spoke with was very helpful, answered all my questions and made the booking easily.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

There is no better location for viewing the Old City of Jerusalem and its surrounding communities. It is located in a substantial gated property that is beautifully maintained. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and basic: No phones or television. Since we use our accommodations for sleeping and are not interested in lounging around it served our purposes. The staff, laymen and religious are courteous and helpful. Breakfast comes with the rooms but is meager (hot drinks, hard boiled eggs, cold meats, etc.) compared to Israeli hotel breakfasts. I have stayed in many of Israel's five star hotels and while this guest house does not attempt to compete with their amenities it does stack up well in the basic comfort department and at 20% of the price. While we were there, for three days, several groups of young Catholics came through and everyone we spoke to gave it a big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Reserve as far in advance as you can, although we got desirable rooms at the last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Pros
Best parking in Jerusalem, close to the Old City and very secure
Wonderful value
Perfect for Christian pilgrims needing a peaceful and relatively cheap place to stay
The sisters are friendly and helpful
Breakfast is simple, but delicious

Things to consider
You must be respectful of the peace, because this guesthouse is also a convent.
There is a curfew of approximately 10:30pm

Room Tip: Go in when the weather is nice because I don't think AC is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jashanholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Excellently placed just outside to Old City (10 mins walk) - it was great to go back there from the hussle and bussle of the cily to peace and quiet. Sr Pascal and Dimitri on reception - were kindness itself during our stay of 8 days. They organised tours and booked a sherut to collect us and take us back to the airport. Rooms are simple and basic and there was seating and dining area in the corridor outside our rooms where we could relax. Breakfast was fine, would have liked real coffee rather than instant and it would have been nice if the menu was varied rather getting same choice day after day. Good value for money and would certainly stay there again if we returned to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank olovemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

we spent two nights at the Convent and maybe we were unluky because we were assigned a very stark room. Very spacious, but far from being cosy (furniture was old, there was only a neon light). Everything was clean, from the bedsheets to the toilet. I did not like the atmosphere of that place at all. I didn't feel comfortable at all.
Positive aspects were the extremely convenient location (you can reach the Old City and the other parts of the town by foot) , the presence of a wi-fi connection and the free parking space (but maybe it was given us because there were no visitors except us).
I also read that in the summer there is a swimming pool..
Negative aspects were the curfew at 10/10:30 pm and the breakfast:the most disgusting I had in the whole trip.
Note that on the third day we moved to a nearby hostel, where the breakfast was excellent but rooms were as dirty as never.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I arrived in Jerusalem alone and stayed at the convent for 1 week. The convent is quiet very spiritual and its architecture and surrounding grounds are absolutely magnificient.
Dimitry is a delighful host, warm, caring and a true gentleman whose manners belong to a bygone era. In addition, his knowledge of this spectacular ancient city is truly phenomenal and he is always there to help. Sister Pasquale who has a more background role is an equally delighful hostess, warm, helpful and extremely welcoming.
The convent could not be more centrally located: its neighbour is one of the American Consulates in Jerusalem, it is within walking distance to the Old City, Mamilla, and King George Street. Whilst quite basic in its decor, the rooms are spacious, airy and exceptionally clean. Last but not least, the breakfast which isncluded in the daily rate is also simple but ample, fresh and very healthy.
I have no hesitation to recommend the convent as the place to stay particularly with regard to its atmosphere and general safety

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Terry311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

It's a peaceful oasis after a hurried day. It was nice to have tea in the garden after busy day trips and exploring Jerusalem. The sisters are wonderful and very kind. Location is excellent, very close to the old city, shopping, transportation and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank reniae100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Notre Dame Guest House
#16 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 102 in Jerusalem
754 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosary Convent Guest House and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosary Convent Guest House and Hostel

Address: 14 Gershon Agron | King George Street & King David Street, Jerusalem 9419001, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $76 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Rosary Convent Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing