We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic but not totally finished yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 346 Hotels in Mecca
Jeddah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic but not totally finished yet”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Fairmont Makkah is the optimum stay you can find in Makkah holly city
Its unique Ka’abh view makes you have a strange spiritual feeling and gives you impression that you are already in AL-Haram.
Staff there are really professional & friendly comparing with similar 5 stars hotels around, most of them from North of Africa, Egypt and Sri Lanka… their service is excellent and fast response
Reception Staff are the best ever I’ve seen
Luxury Room, modern, neat, comfortable and good A/C
The free internet and Cisco Phones helped me to stay connected to my business
One more thing I recommend it is the restaurant … my stay with B&B but I got the lunch at the hotel restaurant it was little bet expensive but I didn’t blame myself after getting one of best meals if you are going there don’t miss their Sushi , really fantastic
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-* B U T *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
Still hotel is under constructions,
- Parking is not ready so I had to leave my car in Raffle hotel really it’s free but too far, and even parking there is still under constructions not lighter, no ventilation and not good by any mean
- No baby sitter although the service is supposed to be available
- healthy club not opened yet
- you take 2 or 3 elevators till reach your room with is very terrible specially if you are with family and kids
- no enough soap or towels in WC, slippers are low quality, No basket fruit , few stuff of complementary items like tea and coffes, No newspaper was distributed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hshalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    427
    222
    135
    216
See reviews for
1,229
282
66
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and i am a fairmont president club member. the rooms were amazing with spectacular views of the harram, the room is well maintained and all amenities are there. however, the service here is really poor as they made me wait almost for 4 hours to get my room ready where they promised us to get it ready within an hour from check in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omani_madridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Again, another super Fairmont hotel... Great experiance :-)

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I am about to check out from what i consider to be the best hotel in Saudi Arabia, with a Kaaba view (in my heart the best view in the universe)
Service in general in Saudi is not great, but this one house keeping is amazing The rooms are very sapcious, the food is really great
And the staff despite the really heavy pressure are wonderfull and the coffeeshop WOW
In short i enjoyed every second of it
On negative comment the panorama windows needs a lot of outside cleaning

Room Tip: Ask for Kaaba view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank omara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at a Kaba view Suite of the Fairmount hotel in Makka during Umrah.
The hotel itself is beautiful, with incredible views with well decorated rooms.
HOWEVER, The service was appalling!! THE worst service I have ever received from any hotel.

Check in was a nightmare, we had to wait 2 hours to check in.
The Service was dreadful, we had to ask for prayer matts 6 times before it arrived, By this time we had finished our prayers.
We asked for cutlery and plates to be sent to our room, but this required 5 calls to reception and they finally arrived after we had actually finished our Dinner. REALLY quite dissappointing.
The Check out process was also very painful, the Service desk was severely understaffed, Infact I feel the whole hotel was Understaffed.

I'm certain that there is much more I was disappointment in, but I erased it out of my memory as I didnt want it to ruin my umrah experience.

The building in which the Fairmont is situated is excellent, however the effort required to exit the hotel was immense. You have to change lifts 2-3 times before we reached the ground floor.

We also stayed at raffles hotel in the same building, but the raffles was outstanding, easy access to Masjid Al Haram, The Service was fantastic, The view from the rooms were better! Its a little more expensive, but you get some much more for your money!!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here and I urge you not to, get a Kaaba view suite. The view was nice, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KamalAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

fantastic hotel and stay.
cant seem what the problem was with all the negative press!!
from start to finish the process was fine- thanks to khalid ( i think) at reception, greeted us warmly and sorted rooms out promptly.
rooms were fantastic- excellent service, comfy beds
huge breakfast variety- tip for those who complianed of the breakfast venue changing to upstairs- you can still order the omlettes and hot food!!
overall the first and vaulable experinece of Makkah, thanks fairmont- will stay here next time,
(in contrast to medina hilton and movenpick in makkah this hotel was far far better)

location like movenpick/rotana/raffles- all exit to same shopping center that leads to King abdul azeez gate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 km away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 346 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 km away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 346 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.1 km away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 346 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 346 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 km away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#4 of 346 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 km away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing