We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed one night only.

Had to change room as asked for non smoking but room allocated stunk of smoke. Nothing too much trouble and we had been changed in ten minutes.

Room ok but windows filthy and poor view. Quite small but fine for our use but air con took ages to work.

Pool area lovely and great service. Had Mexican meal that night which was average and awful singing which nearly prompted us to leave. Luckily the singer stopped before we got deafened. Had a dress code of no shorts which considering the standard of singing I thought was quite funny.

Location is pretty awful. Miles to ATM and nothing much at hotel. Taxi service in Bahrain seems a bit of a free for all. Although metered you still have to negiotate and invariably get ripped off. If you are a couple beware of you being a King and Queen to the taxi drivers. Translated means he is going to try to rip you off by asking you to say how much u think the taxi fare ought to be!

Wandered down to some restaurants about 10 minute walk from hotel but to be frank wouldn't go there again as not a particularly nice area. Anyway hotel itself has every type of food you would want so no real need to go out.

For a weekend break staying in the hotel, yes it would be lovely. But that's about it really.

Pool area nice, customer service excellent, location poor, breakfast very good, rooms very average from what we saw.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickejmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Gulf Hotel in Bahrain has the best combination of comfort and dining opportunities. They offer many restaurants on site with a wide variety of cuisines. Our favorites are the Margarita Mexicana (love the fresh guacamole prepared at your table) and the Pergola Italian restaurants. The breakfast buffet is very good. The best hidden treasure is the Vintage Wine Bar. They offer a wide selection of wines from all over the world and a very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are very comfortable, particularly in the recently remodeled front Tower section, and the grounds and pool area are beautifully landscaped.

Room Tip: The rooms in their front tower cost a little more, but are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Enjoyed staying at this hotel -- excellent service, food, and rooms. Really liked the Iranian restaurant in the hotel. Only tip I have is that there isn't an ATM machine in the hotel. Fortunately the walk to the ATM was quite safe and traffic was very orderly (not at all like Cairo or Lima, if you've been there).

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank gasngoArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My month-long stay at this hotel was very pleasant. Their breakfast buffet is excellent and I participated every morning. There is also a great variety of restaurants right on the property so there's never a boring evening without food at the hotel. The staff always greeted you with a smile and eager to ask if you need any help. And I never had to wait too long for a taxi.

This area is a bit away from the Navy base which has a lot of Americans. We had to travel to get around to having American food such as KFC and the like. It's not usually my first chioce but I missed home a bit and was looking for a fix.

I was a little annoyed with their wifi service. I ended up logging in everyday to gain access to the internet.

Room Tip: The front desk is very busy in the morning, the evenings are better.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvVacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

There are 14 international restaurants at this hotel. Yes, 14! Ranging from Thai to Mexican. We managed about 6 of them during a stay here for a conference being hosted at the same venue. Whilst the Chinese and Italian were pretty average to indifferent, the Thai was absolutely superb. The Mexican was also surprisingly excellent. As well as these gastronomic treats there is also a very lively pub in the basement. With dartboards and a pool table, we had plenty to keep us occupied after hours. In fact I have to confess to an embarrassing fact: I didn't leave the perimeter of the hotel in the 5 days I was resident in Bahrain, such was the range and comfort of the facilities. The room was also top notch with a good bed and great bath. The gym had good equipment and whilst also busy with locals, never got over crowded. My only comment on the health club would be to move the tennis courts away from the perimeter with the very busy adjacent highway. I could barely here my co-player speak during our games and I also felt distinctly wheezy after a few sets of pollution sucking activity.

Overall a highly recommended hotel, with a special thanks to the lady in the coffee shop, who was super friendly and brewed me a superb Americano every morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windmills4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Friends,
I stayed in this Hotel for a couple of days for business.

This Hotel gives you everything you need. Perfect service, very friendly and a lot
of Restaurants.

The Service was very friendly. I needed to complain two times in one night because of
my neighbour. They solve the problem immediately.

Breakfast is perfect. When I had the time I went outside too pool area. It tooks a few moments
and the service asked if they can do something for you. They bring you everything you
need.

If you have the chance stay there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Gulf Hotel has been a Bahrain landmark for over 40 years (when it was actually a beachfront property before land reclamation!) Today it's a popular nightspot for locals and choice hotel for visitors. It is 10 minutes walking distance to Adliya, Bahrain's main nightlife restaurant district. A little further you can walk to "Shwarma Alley" and "Carpet Alley", as well as the Westernized neighborhood of Juffair. But you don't even have to leave your hotel as there are some 10 restaurants and bars. I love Sherlock Holmes, though my wife prefers Typhoon located in the back garden (the service there is horribly slow; get your drinks and pay at the bar, or you'll be waiting 30 minutes for a waitress to show up). If you live in Bahrain, I highly recommend the Prestige Club loyalty program. It's pricey at 70 BD per year, but it pays for itself after 3 or 4 visits because all meals are 50% off per couple, and drinks are 20% off. The hotel also has some of the best restaurants in Bahrain including Margarita Mexicana, Takshamsheed (Iranian) and Royal Thai to name a few. There is also a Lebanese restaurant with belly dancers but have not yet had a chance to visit that one. The hotel itself is equivalent of a U.S. 4 star hotel, good for business travel and families alike. The pool and garden are lush and tropical oasis in the city. Note this place is very busy on Wednesday and Thursday nights, when Saudis tourists visit. All in all, it's a good choice in a safe and welcoming neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoCrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
2.9 km away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
6.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
0.9 km away
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
#41 of 133 in Manama
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
3.2 km away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
0.9 km away
The Palace Boutique Hotel
The Palace Boutique Hotel
#11 of 133 in Manama
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa

Address: Al Fateh Avenue | Bldg 11, Road 3801, Block 337 Al Fateh Highway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#10 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range: $182 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious five star hotel offering resort facilities with a modern city location; Enjoy the panoramic views from your newly renovated bedrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, or stay on our exclusive, discreet Platinum Floor offering some of the best vistas and services on the island. Discover the world and its delights in one of our 16 restaurants and bars, boasting a selection of diverse cuisines such as Iranian, Thai, Lebanese, Chinese, Western-Asian fusion, Japanese and continental. As a Platinum guest, you will enjoy a numerous of complimentary VIP treatments, including: •Private VIP check-in •Chilled towel and refreshing drink on arrival •Shoe-shine and one pressing on arrival •Daily newspaper and a selection of magazines •Luxurious Bvlgari White-tea amenities •Access to the dedicated Platinum Lounge and all its benefits •Buffet breakfast in the intimacy of the Platinum lounge The Platinum Lounge Our exclusive Platinum floor lounge affords our clients with the most discerning taste for excellence our signature customer service and spectacular panoramic views over Manama. Opened from 06.30 To midnight every day, the Platinum lounge not only offers all-day delightful buffets from breakfast till dinner accompanied with a wide selection of beverages, but also all business facilities like private meeting rooms, computer and other IT services access. Platinum Lounge Operating Hours (0630 am to 12 midnight) •A designated elevator and Guest Relations to welcome the guest upon arrival and will escort them from main entrance desk to the 13th floor. •Sit-in check - in while welcome drinks is being served of the guest's choice and to be escorted by a Guest Relations Officer to their room. •Full Breakfast buffet served from 0630 am. Till 1030 am. With live egg cooking. •All day self-service snacks and refreshments with fresh Danish pastries, selected sandwiches and breads. •Special Red/White wine, and selected beers are available for all day self-service consumptions. •Happy hour from 6 pm. Till 9 pm. With free selected beverages and choice of hot and cold canapes to unwind for the long day work. •Newspapers and Magazines available in the Platinum Lounge •A designated area for All day free Internet access in the Platinum Lounge. •Special Guest's Room Amenities in the Platinum Floor Rooms •Butler Services available upon requests. •Secretarial Services available in the Platinum Lounge upon requests. •Private meeting room with complimentary refreshments that can accommodate up to 8 persons. •Kids are allowed until 18:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Hotel Manama
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention And Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing